Points System to "self-govern"

At the end of the day, the "rating" becomes a popularity contest and an ego-booster and likely does not reflect the "contribution" of the member.

I believe the basic concept as proposed by the TS do have merits, but not in the form without modification.

I agree that a "free-for-all" rating system will result in pure mess, and will have no use for the purpose as a form of "self-regulation".

I think the suggestion by Pablo is really worth looking at, except that the logistics in such an implementation would make it impracticable. But his idea of a system where a "group" of sensible non-partisan "moderator-type" people giving ratings to individuals may be workable.

Personally I am not in favor of a "penalty" clause. But a rating to show where a member stands wrt the opinions of such "moderators" might have a modifying effect on behaviour.

From what I had seen thus far, the "true moderators" in this forum had tried to be impartial and I salute them for that. But I cannot say the same for the "superusers" (with a couple of exceptions). Choice of such people is crucial to such a scheme/system.

I believe the basic concept as proposed by the TS do have merits, but not in the form without modification.

I agree that a "free-for-all" rating system will result in pure mess, and will have no use for the purpose as a form of "self-regulation".

I think the suggestion by Pablo is really worth looking at, except that the logistics in such an implementation would make it impracticable. But his idea of a system where a "group" of sensible non-partisan "moderator-type" people giving ratings to individuals may be workable.

Personally I am not in favor of a "penalty" clause. But a rating to show where a member stands wrt the opinions of such "moderators" might have a modifying effect on behaviour.

From what I had seen thus far, the "true moderators" in this forum had tried to be impartial and I salute them for that. But I cannot say the same for the "superusers" (with a couple of exceptions). Choice of such people is crucial to such a scheme/system.

who do u suppose would be impartial?

Is there anyone name Bun Green Sky????

ah bob... think rub alot also got green head lor... :bsmilie:

anyway, just asking him a question... he dun wanna answer i also bo pian... but he wanna always tell ppl off indirectly with no concrete solution, then better zip up. If he thinks that superusers are useless... then might as well go start a thread to prove it... if he can do it so well, then prove it. Dun find fault with everybody, try to help ppl who need help instead of offering impractical ideas and viewpoint to prove opposite of the one he hate.

i'm not trying to be nasty to u, but u are the one being nasty. I'm stating my viewpoint, not as an arguement, and neither am i as indirect as you, sorry i do not know how to effectively rephrase. Apologize in advance.

anyway, just asking him a question... he dun wanna answer i also bo pian... but he wanna always tell ppl off indirectly with no concrete solution, then better zip up. If he thinks that superusers are useless... then might as well go start a thread to prove it... if he can do it so well, then prove it. Dun find fault with everybody, try to help ppl who need help instead of offering impractical ideas and viewpoint to prove opposite of the one he hate.

i'm not trying to be nasty to u, but u are the one being nasty. I'm stating my viewpoint, not as an arguement, and neither am i as indirect as you, sorry i do not know how to effectively rephrase. Apologize in advance.

rub alot will becomes red. :sweat:

All "systems" for such purposes will always be a compromise. One devil for another. Depends on which one we think we want to keep!

First of all, I was nicely asleep when you asked the question.

When did I say superusers are useless?

Again you show your lack of ability to read properly. I had said "with a couple of exceptions". In case you are too dense to understand this, it means that some superusers are good. Bu there are those who are, in my opinion, not up to the mark.

Can one who have such poor reading and comprehension ability be up to the mark to try to act like a moderator? You are the one who thinks that I think that superusers are useless.

And again, you showed a real lack of cognitive abilty when you say that when I offered a different opinion, I hate the others? How many times must I write that in essence I do not disagree with some opinions from some people? Again you gave intent when intent was not there!

That is why I think very, very, very, very little of you!

My reply in this thread was a considered opinion to the TS's suggestion. Did I disagree with Darren? Did I say the TS was absolutely right? If there was little merit in the TS's idea of self-policing, why did Darren said that this was considered before? Did I find fault with anyone in this thread?

Grow up, young man. Stop thinking too highly of yourself. You are still light years away from being one whose cognitive ability can be taken with any measure of seriousness.

I will give more credit to the amoeba.

another 299 of them?

You are either dense or you are trying to pick a fight with me.

I think the answer is this. You ARE very dense, and you are picking a fight with me.

You are far from a worthy opponent. Even DP had hide his tails between his butts.

Now let me come to you stupid statement. "Another 299 of them".

Let me just for a little moment, make the wild assumption that you have just a little more than the amoeba.

What did I say of Pablo's suggestion?

"Logistics...impractical"

"Idea of.. giving ratings...may be workable".

Well I will have to down grade your cognitive ability again, since I have to explain to your dense brain.

What I said was that Pablo's idea might work. But I did not think his "300" is practical. Modification would be necessary.

So your "another 299 of them" is again another prime example of your stupidity.

To the Admin and "real moderators". I apologise for this OT. But this was ignited by your "superuser".

He asked for it.

First of all, I was nicely asleep when you asked the question.

When did I say superusers are useless?

Again you show your lack of ability to read properly. I had said "with a couple of exceptions". In case you are too dense to understand this, it means that some superusers are good. Bu there are those who are, in my opinion, not up to the mark.

Can one who have such poor reading abd comprehension ability be up to the mark to try to act like a moderator? You are the one who thinks that I think that superusers are useless.

And again, you showed a real lack of cognitive abilty when you say that when I offered a different opinion, I hate the others? How many times must I write that in essence I do not disagree with some opinions from some people? Again you gave intent when intent was not there!

That is why I think very, very, very, very little of you!

My reply in this thread was a considered opinion to the TS's suggestion. Did I disagree with Darren? Did I say the TS was absolutely right? If there was little merit in the TS's idea of self-policing, why did Darren said that this was considered before? Did I find fault with anyone in this thread?

Grow up, young man. Stop thinking too highly of yourself. You are still light years away from being one whose cognitive ability can be taken with any measure of seriousness.

I will give more credit to the amoeba.

Student, u belittle ppl again, when can u stop being so proud? anyway, with your level of english, maybe u could spend time go give free tution to kids underpriviledged. Everytime u have to say ppl's ability to comprehend is weak, but everytime i find u beating around the bush to bash someone up.

Anyway old man, dun give yourself too much credits for bashing me, cos i thought with age, one can be forgiving, i dun see a bit of that in you. And with age you are stubborn, i did not in anyway wanna pin myself against you, yet overtime you have been trying to hit me, and u deny that fact. Whats up?

Student, u belittle ppl again, when can u stop being so proud? anyway, with your level of english, maybe u could spend time go give free tution to kids underpriviledged. Everytime u have to say ppl's ability to comprehend is weak, but everytime i find u beating around the bush to bash someone up.

Anyway old man, dun give yourself too much credits for bashing me, cos i thought with age, one can be forgiving, i dun see a bit of that in you. And with age you are stubborn, i did not in anyway wanna pin myself against you, yet overtime you have been trying to hit me, and u deny that fact. Whats up?

Again stupiduty prevailed.

I had insulted you very clearly!

When did I deny that I was insulting you!

Admin, I am flabbergasted at the stupidity of your superuser!

You are either dense or you are trying to pick a fight with me.

I think the answer is this. You ARE very dense, and you are picking a fight with me.

You are far from a worthy opponent. Even DP had hide his tails between his butts.

Now let me come to you stupid statement. "Another 299 of them".

Let me just for a little moment, make the wild assumption that you have just a little more than the amoeba.

What did I say of Pablo's suggestion?

"Logistics...impractical"

"Idea of.. giving ratings...may be workable".

Well I will have to down grade your cognitive ability again, since I have to explain to your dense brain.

What I said was that Pablo's idea might work. But I did not think his "300" is practical. Modification would be necessary.

So your "another 299 of them" is again another prime example of your stupidity.

To the Admin and "real moderators". I apologise for this OT. But this was ignited by your "superuser".

He asked for it.

Since when was i wanting to fight with u? U have been picking on me everytime.

Y dun u tell me who is the worthy superuser, and who isn't? I'm dense, i dun even know i weigh so much in your heart...

Again, u prove that u are hitting me cos of DP, for god's sake, can u just stop labelling me with him? Who ever u hate, y drag me in? The way he critique & i critique is totally different, i dun even know him...

Anyway, i'm just questioning based on the issues u bring up. If u think i'm being personal, so be it. But i can say, u are a person who is very personal and you only want things to go your way. Whoever is not on your side, is your enemy, and u label all of them together.

Maybe u could start a new thread to mock those superusers and moderators u think are not on par with u. Maybe u might wanna start a forum yourself & be an admin.

Somebody say, "See I told you so!"

There will always be differences in opinions, and its OK. We should allow it and encourage it. It doesn't hurt you, at least not physically anyway. Emotionally, I say, "Sorry, you have your feelings hurt.. now find someone to kiss and make it better. Then come right back. That's the spirit!."

Least that we all become "Yesmen" like those in garments..

I like it here.

To student,

We are very cognizant of the fact that you use cunning linguistics to confound or twist your arguments, but we have to take note of the fact that you did start off this round of arguments with your comment - "From what I had seen thus far, the "true moderators" in this forum had tried to be impartial and I salute them for that. But I cannot say the same for the "superusers" (with a couple of exceptions). Choice of such people is crucial to such a scheme/system." - which implies that the majority of our superusers are "useless" and "not impartial", and to which DelCtrlnoAlt requested a clarification. I did not see this response from you otherwise I would also have posted asking you for a clarification.

Thats a very bold statement to make, and when a clarification is requested, you go instead into a tirade against DelCtrlnoAlt, and posted insulting remarks.

If there is indeed issue with the SuperUsers (or Moderators and Admins for that matter) we would definitely appreciate if it could be brought to our attention in private instead of blowing it out of proportion in public.

Firstly, I like to thank you for allowing me to post my response to you in public. I will be direct and to the point. You had made a number of accusations which are totally unfounded.

We are very cognizant of the fact that you use cunning linguistics to confound or twist your arguments,

What you called "cunning linguistics" are simple rendering of words and their meaning. When I dissect someone's words, and showed what the words meant, even if the writer might not be aware of what they had actually written or intended, that makes me cunning? If someone cannot understand what I wrote and got confused, it becomes my problem? And therefore I am cunning? But I do realise that not many here are capable of taking words at their core meaning.

On a OT. Did you realise that I have legal grounds to sue a certain person for libel? And nobody even know that!

What you called cunning is the simple application of interpretating words as they should be interpreted. I will start with your comments below.

darren said:
but we have to take note of the fact that you did start off this round of arguments with your comment - "From what I had seen thus far, the "true moderators" in this forum had tried to be impartial and I salute them for that. But I cannot say the same for the "superusers" (with a couple of exceptions). Choice of such people is crucial to such a scheme/system." - which implies that the majority of our superusers are "useless" and "not impartial", and to which DelCtrlnoAlt requested a clarification. I did not see this response from you otherwise I would also have posted asking you for a clarification.

Please read carefully again and see if your interpretation of my comments was warranted..

What did I say? Firstly that the moderators are impartial and I salute them. I am sure you have no problem with that.

Now I come to the next sentence."But I cannot say the same for the superusers (with a couple of exceptions)"

What does this mean? Does this sentence imply that I say that the majority of the superusers are useless? (Your words) What is the straight interpretation? This sentence means that, (taking the comments on the moderators just before this) with exceptions, I do not accord to the majority of the superusers, the same respect I accord to the moderators, as far as impartiality is concerned. I have not seen much of the "intervention" in disputes by the superusers. How am I to know if they are partial or not? Why did I single out zaren? Because I had seen how he wrote. His writings make sense. And although I had not seen zaren in action as a "moderator", his past records convinced me that he is one fit for the job. How about others? Glennyong? I do not know. My impression of him is a organiser of photoshoots. I have nothing against him. But I have absolutely no idea how he would function as a "moderator". I believe there are also nice people (sorry, cannot remember all of them) amongst the rest of the superusers, such a Francis247. But again, not tested. They might perform exceedingly well. But as of now, untested.

Respect is earn. Not given. I salute the current group of moderators because in my opinion, they earned it. I might have disagreements with some moderators, but those are disagreements and do not impact on their role as moderators.

So, how to give the same salute to the superusers when they are not tested? How can I give the same respect to the superusers? I can respect Francis247 as a person. But I do not know his role as a "moderator". Therefore, "I cannot say the same for the superusers" as I did for the moderators.

But it is my opinion that DCA is not up to the mark. Just take a honest look at DCA's posts and you can see the innumerable flippant nonsense he wrote. I have never seen any moderator write in such manner, even in their personal capacity.

Then I wrote that for such a scheme as suggested by Pablo to work, choice of such people (meaning moderator-like members) will be crucial. I hope you have no problem with this.

In other words, for a scheme as proposed by Pablo to work, the chosen moderators-like members should be impartial and respected.

I am afraid that you had given an intent to my comments when that intent did not exist.

darren said:
I did not see the response from you

I did. Post #27. Your post was #35, seven posts down.

darren said:
Thats a very bold statement to make, and when a clarification is requested, you go instead into a tirade against DelCtrlnoAlt, and posted insulting remarks.

That was not a bold statement. That was a statement of opinion that at the time of writing, the superusers (most of them) had not yet earned my respects in what they were assigned to do. And the simple reason is that they were not yet tested.

darren said:
when a clarification is requested, you go instead to a tirade...

What was this clarification that DCA sought?

What was his response when I said I respect zaren?

"another 299 of them"

How would you interpret that response from DCA?

Please note the context. I had earlier commented on Pablo's idea. I had clearly mentioned that it was, with regards to logistics, impractical. But I felt that the "idea" has merit.

Obviously having 299 of zaren is making a joke out of this!

How should I response? With civility? To such a mindless comment?

Student, i wonder y should we earn your respect when u dun even respect anyone?

U mean all of us are earning money from you and that we should all be under your feet and listen to you pointing insults over & over again? Please note, u have always been saying that you have your legal rights, and u can sue this and that, but come back to the point, this is a forum. We have our views, and when u can't get it your way, you wanna sue us? What is this?

If u wanna say that my 299 is a joke? i was meaning that how about the another 299? U mean just 1 mod will do? You need a team, and 1 man can't make decision, you have to at least have a few, by democracy etc...

Anyway, should i reserve my rights to sue you as well for your continuous insults? No, cos i still believe in that we should all sit down, have a cup of tea and settle this.

But i guess it will never work out. Sorry Zaren.

Student, i wonder y should we earn your respect when u dun even respect anyone?

U mean all of us are earning money from you and that we should all be under your feet and listen to you pointing insults over & over again? Please note, u have always been saying that you have your legal rights, and u can sue this and that, but come back to the point, this is a forum. We have our views, and when u can't get it your way, you wanna sue us? What is this?

If u wanna say that my 299 is a joke? i was meaning that how about the another 299? U mean just 1 mod will do? You need a team, and 1 man can't make decision, you have to at least have a few, by democracy etc...

Anyway, should i reserve my rights to sue you as well for your continuous insults? No, cos i still believe in that we should all sit down, have a cup of tea and settle this.

But i guess it will never work out. Sorry Zaren.

OK, Darren,

How shall I respond to this?

Just read the nonsense he wrote. Shall I be direct? Or would I incur any infractions if I do?

Just to highlight one nonsense.

He wrote "when u dun even respect anyone?" (what kind of spelling is that anyway?)

Now how many moderators are there? How about zaren? I understand his is a figurative speech. But this things go on all the time.

How should I respond to this?

OK, Darren,

How shall I respond to this?

Just read the nonsense he wrote. Shall I be direct? Or would I incur any infractions if I do?

Just to highlight one nonsense.

He wrote "when u dun even respect anyone?" (what kind of spelling is that anyway?)

Now how many moderators are there? How about zaren? I understand his is a figurative speech. But this things go on all the time.

How should I respond to this?

Eh doc, i tired of this... since u like to be so precise over things, maybe let anyone be, ppl u just cursed... DP, Me, those superusers, those non impartial mods, etc etc...

and i wonder why is it all of a sudden you need to do spell check for everything. why are u finding fault with just anything (dun find fault with this).

Doc, can we just move on, shake hands... its tiring to play this type of game with u when i have to read a long accusation u have for me. and btw, i din force an infarction on you, you did insult me. i did not seek apology as i know u won't.

student, we're having kopi on thursday night 9.30pm onwards in punggol, it's probably quite a distance from where you work, but always welcomed to join in. if need pm for the location :cheers: