is "photography" becoming a fad?

I would engage in "reverse snobbery".

Not only do I have a CRT TV, I still got VHS machine leh! What? You have a 1Ds MKIII? Lucky you! I have to get by with a pinhole camera! But at least I don't have to worry about uploading all those photos onto my Pentium II PC...

Whatever you have, mine is ten times cheaper than yours... :sweatsm:

I would engage in "reverse snobbery".

Not only do I have a CRT TV, I still got VHS machine leh! What? You have a 1Ds MKIII? Lucky you! I have to get by with a pinhole camera! But at least I don't have to worry about uploading all those photos onto my Pentium II PC...

Whatever you have, mine is ten times cheaper than yours... :sweatsm:

Wait till you see someone using broomstick tripods. :bsmilie:

If the teens / children are brandishing 1DsIIIs and D3s and Leica RFs, guess who's rich? Their parents.

it took me like 3 years to actually get my first slr :cry:

took me almost 3 years before i could get my very own DSLR. i got it only when i first started work... and kids nowadays juz ask their parents for one, and tada! they have it. :(

Better they snap away than start loitering around or starting fights in arcades no?

they are still 2 different groups of people leh. the DSLR totting gang used to be those "attas" groups that flaunt their PSPs and who knows whatever electronic in thing at that pt in time. nw its DSLRs for them. i wonder what it is gonna be next...

the ones that loitering in arcades and fight are still the ones loitering in arcades and fighting. haha.

There is no such age IMHO.I have been carrying a D200 since 12 and recently, have learnt to deal with the weight of my 70-200 on my D200...

i totally agree. i have seen teenagers like 15-18 capturing really amazing photos. young minds are actually the more creative ones instead. age dulls our brains quickly.

but a D200 at age 12?! now i am jealous of that financial capability...

I'm 17, supposedly one of those liable to be labelled as one of those "fad followers".
But i like analog things. They're much more hands-on, cheaper in some ways too.

I have a turntable to spin vinyls when i really want to listen to some higher end audio, even the static is pleasing at times.
I do my eq-ing on a manual mixer too.

I have used DSLRs before, but they didn't give me much of an experience. Apart from the zooming, everything is being done so easily for the person taking the photograph. I like to take my time on things, so i walk about, squat here and there, trying to frame soemthing before i take my camera out of my bag. I don't like to drape the camera over my neck like an over-enthu tourist unless i'm out on an absolute photo-snapping spree, i.e. - on holiday or at the botanic gardens trying out new film or lens where i will be snapping a shot every other minute.

I'm often criticized for choosing film over digital, but i guess it's preference isn't it.
Would you want to draw with a pencil on paper or draw on a tablet pc? Paintings are still being made for a reason too.
I msyelf personally do chinese paintings with abit of western/contemporary fusion (the purists will murder me). So taking photos is about the entire experience, from choosing your preferred gear, to the story behind how you got your shot and your composition of it.
I am extremely anal over composition because i do paintings as well and hope i can use my shots of landscapes, flowers, people, to create paintings.

As for gear - what this whole topic is about, i think that gear is something that you should be comfortable with. You don't have to scrounge for every penny you have or beg your parents for the latest and greatest. I run around with a MTL-50 with a CZJ Tessar 50mm and i think it generally does the job for most things. This setup is a mere 200$, but it is more than ENOUGH. A decent lens that you won't hear complaints about is all that is needed so that you can produce bad shots and not blame your lens. I'm a gearhead, but also someone who believes in sharp eyes and a good mind. Neither can live without the other to produce a good shot.

Like my pool coach used to say -
"You buy a better cue, ONLY when you find that you can no longer perform a certain shot with your current one. That is - if you are able to perform that shot at all."

Perhaps the IQ from P&S really cannot make it. I haven't touched a P&S for some time now but recently my friend showed me some photos from a $500 P&S and I was blown away at how BAD the quality was. It's like chunks here and there presumably to hide the insane grain.

an entry level D40 with kit lens is better out in the streets taking shots that a D3 with 24-70 sitting in e dry cabinet. photography is a healthy hobby...unless you shoot upskirt:nono:

i'm tempted to ask if people see a problem with other people toting large cameras around. oh wait, i just did ask. so is it?

With a bag, it's not usually a problem to lug camera gear around..

i agree, now this belongs in the kopitiam

how would it feel if u have ppl who constant show off to u? example, commenting that u r still using a 4:3 tv set while he is already using a 42 inch HD LCD TV, constantly commenting u this way?

There will always be gearbangers in any hobby. It's their choice to make, and yours to ignore their words.

is "photography" becoming a fad?

You can ask those who shoot XMMX whether it's a life-long passion or they are just answering the calls from Heaven to own a dslr.

Sometimes I just feel people who buy cameras buy it for the sake of buying it. I know people who buy them but have no intention of learning how to use it and use the preset modes. People just buy because others have it and they feel left out when they don't have one. In a non photographers eyes, one with a dslr may be real cool, but when you know how to use it and see people fiddling around and being unsure or just using those preset modes (the type of people who buy for the sake of buying because everyone has it) then you go "he's just another one of those faddists" and he's better off with the PnS cams. They don't BOTHER to find out about shutter speed, aperture, I don't think they have any intention of seriously learning how to use the gear. Well thats a portion of them at least. It can be annoying to me, but hey it's their money.

if they can bear the weight and size, what advantages does the auto mode of a DSLR compares with that of the PNS? perhaps that is the reason why they still prefer DSLR in terms of less shutter lag and less noise.

Then there are people who are jealous that they had to work hard to buy their equipment while others can just ask daddy for it. If you look through this thread, you can see quite a few.

if that is targeted at my post, i can only reassure you there is no jealousy involved. you can re-read the post. but an issue not yet raised, youths not used to thinking about how money is being spent may not treasure the equipment they have got through easy hands.

and for the other matter i've remarked, reckless young drivers who kills is a personal experience, and every now and then i become more alert to the reckless behaviours on the road from then onwards, it is apparent of their age group and their ability to afford that car at that age. if there is any concern about young people getting things easily from their parents, this would probably be the only one, becos innocent lives at stake, not for cameras though.

cameras are good things most of the time, some masters of the old time shot early from childhood or youth.

i totally agree. i have seen teenagers like 15-18 capturing really amazing photos. young minds are actually the more creative ones instead. age dulls our brains quickly.

but a D200 at age 12?! now i am jealous of that financial capability...

search zemotion in cs or jing/zhang jingna in google. just 19 (or even if you minus off 2 years off earlier when she starts). those pictures i can never take in my lifetime. ok, i do know those fashion pics are still teamwork credit, but that dun matter, she's good.... and so talent has no age limit.

i just watched a movie called "beautiful minds" and the guy featured called john nash who's got schizophrenia later in life, won his nobel economics awards credited to the work when he was just a grad student....

and so, pictures matter. the meaning in the pictures matter. how nice the photographer is matter. how much the photographer benefits the photographic circle matters. age dun matter. his financial background dun matter. the tools.... matter to him, not to me...

hi,

im 20 this year.. not sure if im still considered as teen :confused:.

my 20 cent worth opinion

teenagers nowadays just do not understand the true use of DSLR. i once saw a malay female asking a sony salesperson at the comex, 'How many mega pixel this cam has? have smile shutter?'

'er.. no smile shutter, and it's 14MP'

'no smile shutter? nvm... i'll get one'....... sales: 'er..do you want the body only or with the 18-70mm kit'

'what's 18-70, and what body only? nevermind, just get me one ' (moral of the story, she don't even understand lens let alone shutter and aperture. so why does she still wants it??? the A350 kit costs 1.3k...)

i shutted my ear after that sentence cause sony salesperson still drilling my heads. and when i went to the counter, saw her paying for it.

In another case, I saw teenagers strolling in groups, boys and girls (boys carrying the dslr), and they were shooting all the way, towards the sun and away from the sun w/o adjusting shutter or f-number, and they were using live view all the way!!! (obviously using the DSLR as a PS camera).

Conclusion, there are teens out there using DSLRs as PS cameras, not using it to the fullest extend of creating quality image. instead of capturing time and moment, teens are using more of show off to friends, etc.

Teenagers are making use of the steorotype that DSLRs users are pros, to show off to their friends that they are pros while not knowing even the simpliest Rule of Thirds.

Therefore my conclusion is, DSLRs are being abused by teenagers, much like drugs, to show off instead of shooting quality images.

Mate, i am tipping teenagers use DSLRs to take pictures, not for them to be abused.
Not everyone needs to know the Rule of thirds to take a fantastic image. Every image i take i don't think of the rule of thirds when i compose it.

Your comment will upset alot of people reading this forum, including me.
Be careful what you say. Last i heard one of your family members left a DSLR in a boot of a car, in a car park. Without consent. I would not let my camera out of my sight, and i am a inconsiderate teenager at the age of 16. According to you.

have any one of you ever wondered that you bought a fridge without knowing all about it? but you still got to get one?

it is good to know more. but forgiveable if they dun.

photography has gotten more popular since the digital age, & now that prices for gears have come down so much its all good more youngsters are owning 1. how some of them are percieved is up to individuals. photography is not an exclusive club where the technically superior or only for those extremely dedicated individuals' turf.

many months back there was a thread about this photography trend gaining popularity, some bemoan the fact its going mainstream, no longer an exclusive pursuit of the past.

i guess its the ugly side of our competitive nature to one-up the next chap. :thumbsd:

live & let live.

Mate, i am tipping teenagers use DSLRs to take pictures, not for them to be abused.
Not everyone needs to know the Rule of thirds to take a fantastic image. Every image i take i don't think of the rule of thirds when i compose it.

Your comment will upset alot of people reading this forum, including me.
Be careful what you say. Last i heard one of your family members left a DSLR in a boot of a car, in a car park. Without consent. I would not let my camera out of my sight, and i am a inconsiderate teenager at the age of 16. According to you.

I agree with the your point of not every image needs RoT to take fantastic image. Not every image needs to use RoT

But it's the basic in photography. There are teenagers out there misusing the true spirit of DSLR photography and using as PS cameras. i've seen them and know some of them. i personally looked at their photos and advised them to sell their D3s and get some PS cameras.

and with regards to losing sight of my DSLR, that's anybody's personal matter and reasons to do so. I bought my A350 for 1300 SGD and i know how big a hole it has burnt in my pocket.:cry: