Why don't I join the photoshoots?

Why don't I join the photoshoots? (You are allowed to make multiple choices!)

Originally posted by espn
Just scared I presume... I know nuts abt shooting... yet go out with the big fellas.. i see already also dunnoe how... approach and ask? or just shoot alone?

approach already scared disturb the cliches or the topic... I know some people don't like to repeat things again esp to newbies... i know many are friendly but then... somehow just felt weird esp when seeing all the 80-200/L lens/DSLRs/SLRs heavy duty.

Same sentiments.... :embrass:

Well, actually, I am very keen to join the photoshoots but just too shy! :embrass:

After all the assurance, I'd join the next outing!

Ming Huei

Howzabout trying for different topics.... like maybe go ;))
a. shoot stray cats (evening or nite shoot...)
b. wet market shoots (...Tiong Bahru Mkt, Changi Village)
c. shoot students on Sat CCAs (sec schs...)
d. life in older housing estates (Redhill, Telok Blangah, Changi Village, Queenstown)
e. Ubin roaming

Though the first 3 might be limited to small number. (d) and (e) will probably see the big group split into smaller groups... Then, there will probably be concerns of how/where/who to organise them.

Is there any interest, anybody? I don't mind taking the lead to start one.

For (a), it'll probably have to be an Sat evening 5-8pm kind of thing. Otherwise it'll be Sun morning 7-10am. Can make arrangements for groups of up to 6 pax at a time.
Samples :-
http://www.pbase.com/image/15135805
http://www.pbase.com/image/15148469

For (c), I think it'll only be fair to the school to request for a set of the pix that we take (so that they can use for their own mag or stuffs). I can speak with certain Sec school P's. Group sizes of up to 6-7 pax shld be okay.

Okay, anybody keen on items (a) or (c) PM me, can. Tentatively will target one sometime before school term closes.

I realised that many people are basically just shy. The simple way out is if you want to shoot certain location/subjects, why don't we just raise it up in the forum, fix a time, find out who is interested and then you have a small group already to go! I noticed that was how the folks who organise studio shoots do, and they happily go about it very smoothly.

Its not good to have too big a group, but groups ranging from 3-7 will be just comfortable. Anything too big and the conflict of interest and waiting time will make the shooting session more irritating than fun, and everybody will have ample space to find /wait for their favourite angle to shoot.

This is just my 2 cents worth after going for a few photo shoots with my friends. I'm still learning, so I enjoy going out with groups, cos we'll be having several pairs of eyes scouring for all sorts of angles. Surely my pals will find more interesting angles/subjects to shoot than if I were to be left to shoot by myself.

I went Cameron last yr with a fren... too bad he's not into photography... was complaining all the way as there's just so many stuff to shoot.. and I keep going "wait wait, lemme take a shot here","pai seh pai seh, this looks interesting"... end up.. he told me, "next time u wanna shoot so many photos, go with someone who have the same interest! I'm outta here!!" hehe...

But anyway, i still enjoyed the trip.. :p in spite of all the grumblings.. hahaha...

It's pretty cheap to go Cameron Highlands... we took a coach from JB to KL, where we bought another ticket to reach Tapah, then from Tapah, there's like a 1/2 hourly bus service up to Cameron. As we planned for a no-frills trip.. we stayed in those normal guest house, took up a room for only like R$25 a night... clean bedsheets, with bathroom, no cockcroaches... anyway din stay in the room too long.

Spent mornings and afternoon trekking on designated nature paths... many there, took those easy ones with nice paths and for me, shoot shoot here shoot shoot there.. many nice flowers, natural rock formations, landscapes(pity quite a lot of construction there, spoils some of the scenery), the tea plantations, open-air market(daytime), one heck of a pasar malam at night(during weekends), bee farms(hehe... challenging to shoot the bee hives close range.. haha), vegetable farms, rose garden, cactus plantation... students going to school, natives' settlements, saw monkeys close range too... by the road side... snap snap snap away too.... and the waterfall... aww... it's so cool... (sorli, for a kampung guy like me...small waterfall gian like dunno what... dun flame me with Niagara falls or whatever... anyway, find it nice..though it's a small little version). Nice and fresh vege for steamboat dinner... and everything's CHEAP... gosh...

So so many things to shoot... funny i only wack 3 rolls of film there.. only regret, I missed shooting the sunset from the town... there's this little hill with a colonial building on top, the sun sets just behind the building... at abt 7pm...when the sky suddenly turns pinkish... mesmerising sight... and I screw it up.. hahaha... try shooting in bulb mode.... with only one previous experience shooting Genting hotel (in Genting Highlands of course, hehe), where i exposed for like 30sec? and I figure why not half it at 15sec...and then did a 20, and 25sec... guess what, photos turn out highly over exposed.. no pinkish sky anymore, just a pale dull light brown photo...

heartbroken.... i need to go there again... if only to get this major disappointment behind me... hehe...

what say sometime in June? one of the weekends? suggest to go on thurs nite, reach by probably noon on friday(with all the transit and stuff) then spend 2 nites there, and return to SG early early Sunday morning, should reach home by evening....

I've already been planning to go even if it means solo... so... i guess might as well have more along.... hehe.. if it turns out frequency not in sync, hey, can always seperate from there.. keke.... kiddin...

Oops... sorry... sort of became a tour review... thousand apologies... hehe...

I shy!!! Somemore mostly all guys no gals around to accompany me! :embrass:

Actually we do have lady photographer that joined us for the recent photoshoot. ;)

all these soul/atry shots can shoot by yourself.

the only time worth shooting in wolfpack is when covering event: eg fashion show. this will then make full use of group-power to hog space and fight elbows, u can assign the main force, the scout team, reserve team, flanking force,...also then it will feel more like combat missions

ie if u have group shooting for some soul/arty theme; it will feel like a platoon wandering aimlessly without a unified mission, which dosent feel good. thats why such non-event shoots its beter to shoot alone where your vision provides u with the mission

I do notice that the guys presence in this forum is overwhelming, no wonder some of our ladies feel out of place. In fact, I always thought photography is more of a guy thing. Strange thing is, I notice there are at least as many ladies as guys, if not more ladies when I go for photo clinics and photo club courses, .

My guess is guys prefer to experiment for themselves while the ladies prefer to join a proper course to learn the hobby. This phenomenon is especially prominent in forums such as clubsnap since its usually the DIY photographers who find such forums so useful, hence we end up with more guys in this forum.

Anyway, this is just my guess.

Originally posted by yeocolin
I do notice that the guys presence in this forum is overwhelming, no wonder some of our ladies feel out of place. In fact, I always thought photography is more of a guy thing. Strange thing is, I notice there are at least as many ladies as guys, if not more ladies when I go for photo clinics and photo club courses, .

My guess is guys prefer to experiment for themselves while the ladies prefer to join a proper course to learn the hobby. This phenomenon is especially prominent in forums such as clubsnap since its usually the DIY photographers who find such forums so useful, hence we end up with more guys in this forum.

Anyway, this is just my guess.

Hmm.. IMHO photography is a hobby for both guys and gals. And i do agree with you that most ladies(pls correct me if i'm wrong) prefer a structured course to experimenting because if anything goes wrong with the camera or any particular aspect we are not sure about, we have our instructors to look for!

As for forums like clubsnap, I do not see it as a forum for DIY photographers but a place where information and knowledge can be shared among photography enthusiast. :)

1) shy
2) inferiority complex bah......me onli a lousy newbie
3) interested but feel that i'm a little too new to join the regulars(see my post count, cos i seldom post though i read often)....and too green(see above point)

Haha. I think the no. of post we make depend not just how much technical knowledge we have, but more importantly, how outspoken we are, at least virtually. (I know I'll freeze whenever I'm talking to strangers in the real world)

It is w/o intimidating when you imagine everybody carrying giant telephoto lens and pro SLR bodies to the field, and it is probably a true scenario when you do join such shoots. However, once you bother to talk to people, I'm sure you'll come to realise most people are only too happy to share their views. (Of course, I never ask you to pat their shoulders when they are concentrating so hard to shoot that bird high up in the tree ):p

Anyway, ultimately, don't let exterior of people be your 1st and only impression of them. Get to know them via outings and you'll come to enjoy the fact of going out with people who share the same interest as you. ;)

Originally posted by yeocolin
Haha. I think the no. of post we make depend not just how much technical knowledge we have, but more importantly, how outspoken we are, at least virtually. (I know I'll freeze whenever I'm talking to strangers in the real world)

It is w/o intimidating when you imagine everybody carrying giant telephoto lens and pro SLR bodies to the field, and it is probably a true scenario when you do join such shoots. However, once you bother to talk to people, I'm sure you'll come to realise most people are only too happy to share their views. (Of course, I never ask you to pat their shoulders when they are concentrating so hard to shoot that bird high up in the tree ):p

Anyway, ultimately, don't let exterior of people be your 1st and only impression of them. Get to know them via outings and you'll come to enjoy the fact of going out with people who share the same interest as you. ;)

:thumbsup: Agreed! Hee but still shy :(

:o
Hey c'mon then, guys/gals, lets us newbies get together lah. Okay, I'll take the initiative here...

1. I do not own any SLRs, just a dinky little swivel Coolpix4500.
2. I'm not a professional photog, nor dream of being one - I snap for fun!

So.... who's interested? If keen, I'll start an outing thread. Porbably target for 14/15 Jun timeframe.... And limit to 4 pax (not counting meself).

1. No SLRs too, just a discontinued, outdated and obsolete (to some) Canon A40. But I just love it

2. No professional too. Looking for interesting shots and scenes.

I'm fine if the timing is right for me
;p
Originally posted by Azure
:o
Hey c'mon then, guys/gals, lets us newbies get together lah. Okay, I'll take the initiative here...

1. I do not own any SLRs, just a dinky little swivel Coolpix4500.
2. I'm not a professional photog, nor dream of being one - I snap for fun!

So.... who's interested? If keen, I'll start an outing thread. Porbably target for 14/15 Jun timeframe.... And limit to 4 pax (not counting meself).

What timings are good for you?

actually not fixed, cos have other commitments as well. So normally, I'll just see if i can make it for any outings/gatherings/shooting etc.
Originally posted by Azure
What timings are good for you?