who are divers on CS?

waisj said:
:bigeyes: :bigeyes: wow that is a good deal.... :cry: i couldn't go at that time.... could you make it any other time??? ;p

i only have this window....

anyone dived Krabi before? how's that place?

I can only make it after the 2nd week of Dec....

Waisj: Which week are you looking at?

Quite Angry ..... Receive an Email from Olympus ..... the underwater casing and other accessories for C5060 will only be Manufactured 3 - 4 months later, after the launch of C5060 ..... Kind of Stupid ...... Creating something that will only be useful after 4 months ......

Which idiot in the right frame of mind will purchase the camera only to be useful 4 months later? Stupid Marketing technique.....

Dear Sir/ Mdm

Thank you for your email to Olympus.

As we have launched C5060 only a few weeks ago, the accessories is not
available in Singapoire yet.
Normally, accessories will only be available about 3-4 months after the
product launch.

Should you have any enquiries please contact our Olympus Studio at 1800 659

Thank you and have a nice day.

H Teo
Consumer Product Division
Olympus Singapore Pte Ltd

I supposed to be going for Dayang dive over the weekend, but as I do not have underwater camera, I decided not to go. However, the dive center actually booked the resort so I guess I still have to pay for the trip ...... but I still don't feel like going ..... so anyone want to go on my behalf???? I will still pay for the trip ......

beivied should be the person with most time on her hands .... so wanna go? Test out my Dive comp for me too ;)

PM me if you are interested......

Laixi said:

too bad then

Laixi said:

i am free on december.. actually, just tell the where and the price...
where do you intedn to go?

kthan said:
anyone dived Krabi before? how's that place?
The immediate dive sites around krabi are really crap (excuse the language). A lot of the krabi dive sites are the same ones which are dived from phuket. Krabi can be a jumping off point for diving at hin daeng and hin muang. There are day trips that do these 2 sites by super fast speedboat (2 hrs 1 way - v far) but cos of the distance, rather pricey. Prob best to do those by LOB. Phuket is prob the best location to base yourself cos they have the most dive operators and many LOB choices.

Hope your dec trip takes off! :)

frisky said:
I remember you are using the A70 for diving right? How do you find it?
I just got one, but haven't got the housing yet.
A70 takes wonderful pictures for the price - good colour balance, lower noise level than oly 5050, at less than half the price. Photos are the typical canon "soft" look - some pple may prefer a 'sharper' look in which case need to apply USM in photoshop.

I also like the vga video mode - my recent clips were really detailed and clear. Its very irritating that canon disabled this function for the A80.

"Downside" of A70 is the slower lens (f2.8), as well as average macro performance :( (oly is truly superb :thumbsup: for macro), and no support for microdrive.

For me, the 3.2 megapixel resolution is enough. What i really want, which no consumer digicam can give is sharp noiseless dslr quality images - but cannot afford that!! :cry:

blurblock said:
I was at diversonline, the owner there explained to me the Seaquest Lady's BCD to me ..... (cute, do I look like a girl ... if I do, I gotta be the uglist girl dead or alive)..... sounds interesting :)

(Actually, he just very sian, I also got nothing to do, so he start to tell me all the equipment information lor, ranging from divers knife to U/W casing (Ikelite), to Regulator, to BCD, difference btw a backplate and a jacket style, what is the price range, if some dive shop quote you above what price, think twice before buying type of thing .... how to choose, what to look out for .... etc etc .... quite a friendly guy ..... I tried on a wetsuit, which I felt it is too tight, he straight away tell me not to buy, instead he recommend me some brands he do not carry and some new suits coming in ..... and he even hornestly tell me to buy now, from other shop if can find my size, or go to a shop in Bukit Batok to custom make one dive suit if I want, I can specify the design too :eek:, as Euro is going up, Singapore Dollar pretty weak, all new stock around 10 - 15% more expensive :bigeyes: )
Hahaha... dun worry, you definitely dun look like girl!! I need to get my reg serviced at divemaster pratama - what's the name of this friendly chap? He offer you discounts huh?

Suggest you go around and try diff brands of wetsuits. Diff brands have diff cutting - some have longer body, some have smaller waist, some are straighter cut etc. You just need to find the brand that works for you.

eh my wet suit is too long for me leh

anywhere i can get them altered?

those normal tailor shop can or not?

ahsiang said:
that boat - MV White Manta belong Vincent Dive.

www.vincentdive.com

got more info.

oh, no idea hehe
got the mail from one of my friend :)

anyway not going.. just informed to save for manado live on board next year.

lovells19 said:
oh, no idea hehe
got the mail from one of my friend :)

anyway not going.. just informed to save for manado live on board next year.

you should. you will love Manado. a lot of marco stuffs for photos. been there in 2002 CNY. spent a week there. GREAT place to dive. look like no chance to go back.

Venue: Botanic Garden
Date: 16/11/03 (Sunday)
Time: 1000 hrs
Meeting Point: Main reception corner

1. ahsiang
2. monty_shark???
3. lovells19???

What you need?
You digi-cam. Your digi-cam manual. Close up filters (4X). Tripod. Of course yourself. Maybe, you can bring along some of your U/W photos for sharing.

Look like no one interested. If no one interested, I'll switch the venue to Pulau Ubin and go by myself. Leave me a sms if anyone interested for Pulau Ubin. Meet at 10am, should leave the jetty by 10.15am.

my no. 96429149.

Cheers.

ahsiang said:
you should. you will love Manado. a lot of marco stuffs for photos. been there in 2002 CNY. spent a week there. GREAT place to dive. look like no chance to go back.

last time i went manado.. i didn't want to come back...
feel like staying there..

btw this sunday i cannot go liao.
thanks to blurblock i'll be goin to dayang. :)

will try to go the next one :)

ok. dayang??? kind of sian of that place & tioman liao. clocked most my dives there.

another place to explore is Pulau Weh - Most Western Tip of Indonesia. However can't go back there due to Aceh. A lot of logistic works have to be done to get to P. Weh. The place is nice & not spoilt by divers yet. Most of the divers who went there are mainly backpackers. at most 3-4 dive shops on the island.