SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

another master piece of your IR shot
不敢当不敢当,献丑了!

Woah. limwhow and vngks has really good shot of the everest with stars.

Please allow me to post my humble shot of a starry morning up the cold mountain in namche.

Everest on the starry night
5568969020_933eab09d3_b.jpg

Mevlin, this is really serene. I miss this scene so much that at this very moment in time I wish that I was back there staring at the stars and mountains instead of staring at my computer screen thinking about it. Haha...
Anyway it's so darn confusing, trying to figure out which SgTrekker is Melvin and which SgTrekker is Adrian. Need a lot of telepathy to do so nowadays... hahaha... I am sure every body is just as confused... right? Hehehe...

Yah, Melvin.... with the steps flowing downwards the background town has the stage set for it.
Lovely!

Wow, You guys and gals really had a fantastic adventure. It must be great feeling, looking back to see that you have overcome all the obstacles and reach the objective (with star trail and milky way photos to prove even)! Dorothy and myself were telling each other that we would not have survived if we had taken the trip. Tinge of envy..

Your Honour, I am quite sure you and your wife are able to make it to the top for the climb up to Namche Bazaar. You both were ahead of SereneXMM and myself both in JZG as well as Myanmar, remember? You are modest.

I am no specialist in intellectual property law but my non-specialist understanding would be as follows :-

1. Each CS poster is the copyright owner of all things that he/she posted (photos and words) but he/she may impliedly be taken to have consented their use in certain ways e.g. reproduced for the purpose of supporting/illustrating a subsequent post or stored on CS servers.

2. CS also has rights in the compilation, format and presentation of the thread.

3. So the agreement of every poster as well as CS need to be obtained.

4. As far as model release is concerned, it is more of a prudent step to get the model release. Certain countries have laws relating to invasion of privacy (in which case a model release is a must) but not Singapore as far as I am aware. However that does not stop a person who has been used in the photograph to try and establish some sort of right, by an action in Court. The purpose may just be to harass the photographer into some sort of settlement. The model release would enable such attempts to be stopped at an earlier stage.

This is just sharing of my thots on a personal basis and not professional advice.

Thank you for your input, reservoir88!

Interesting interpretations limwhow, we always thought IR photos only came out in black and white. Did not realise you could get colour out of it too.
Well, I was naughty. I like IR photos with colours, so my IR filter I used to modify my Canon 20D is one that specifically had more colours, the 535nm filter.. Naughty right, me?

Sorry to backtrack guys, i'll keep posting in snail's speed :D

59. Normal small street scene in Kathmandu city

207645_10150159601183158_540263157_6642038_1194188_n.jpg

60. Pottery Lady

205116_10150159601308158_540263157_6642040_3058808_n.jpg

61. When I saw this baby, my first response is "wow...she has very strong eyes", and thanks to the tips from Adrian and Acrux I manage to take the catchlight in her eyes..what a lively eyes :)

217226_10150159601423158_540263157_6642042_3112554_n.jpg

62. Street Barber

208486_10150159601513158_540263157_6642044_6571923_n.jpg

63. Electricity is really a luxury item in Nepal, even our 4-stars hotel always have daily blackout routine.
When I first enter the hotel room, I was wondering why they put candle and matches inside the room, it took only 1 night for me to know the reason :D

216743_10150159601598158_540263157_6642046_5471090_n.jpg

64. One of the public transport in Nepal...any takers :)

216788_10150159601683158_540263157_6642048_6227891_n.jpg

65. Pork Chop....literally

206529_10150159601768158_540263157_6642050_2863149_n.jpg

66. We are at the end of day 2, before getting into our transports I manage to take the last shots...and too my surprise, I quite like with the lomo effect produced due to the post gloomy sunset mood

207501_10150159601083158_540263157_6642036_6911618_n.jpg

66. We are at the end of day 2, before getting into our transports I manage to take the last shots...and too my surprise, I quite like with the lomo effect produced due to the post gloomy sunset mood

207501_10150159601083158_540263157_6642036_6911618_n.jpg

Wow, mood shot, Campoes! Mood shot! :thumbsup:!

T R A V E L O G U E

Walking back to The Nest from The Everest View Point

Here is my record shot of Wind, Hawk, Mahesh and Adrian walking down from the top... back to The Nest for our breakfast.
"One last shot," Our ever-ready Wind was so ever-ready...​
Keeping one eye on Ah Wind and one eye on Ah Hawk, Mahesh took a glance at his watch to make sure that we weren't back into the dining hall of the Lodge earlier than the mandatory 2 hours necessary for the wait to have breakfast prepared...

5597845939_c494c80914_b.jpg

Dkoron & Amelia's Syangboche Trek

Before we move further, I think what deserved mentioning was the fact that Dkoron and Amelia, the two young and super-fit members of our team actually did an extra 2 hour trek from Namche Bazaar to Syangboche, a higher ground to an even better Everest View Point, AFTER we finished our Namche Bazaar Everest View Point.
Their photos have been displayed in the previous posts and I must say they have our admiration for accomplishing that feat!

Day 7: Cutting our Distance by trekking from Namche Bazaar to Monjo...

Rewinding back to the night before...
As we had been delayed so many days prior to finally making the flight up to Lukla, we had to, painfully, abandon our original plan of trekking to Tengboche at 3800m to view the famous Tengboche Monastery and stay a night there.
Adrian and Melvins' plan was initially to stay one more night at Namche Bazaar, then trek down all the way to Lukla on Day 8.
But I think it was a very good decision they have made on the ground, to cut short that distance by doing a 3 hour trek from Namche Bazaar to Monjo on Day 7.

So here it was, our GPS data for the 3 hour trek to Monjo.
Please take note that the 9.02km distance included that morning walk from The Nest to the Everest View Point. The 12:51 hour was also not right. I have yet to learn to accurately indicate the timing. But our trek for this day was only a short 3 hours. Wow... I could not believe myself saying this... after the long 8.5 hour trek, a 3-hour trek now had become a 'short' trek! Hahaha...!

5579025783_7a1e3a7d07_b.jpg

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 7: A Relatively Relaxed Trek to Monjo.

We all had breakfast after Everest sunrise. And very soon after that, at 11:30am we had lunch. Unbelievable. Two meals within a short span of time. But then again, high up here, whenever you had the opportunity to replenish your energy, you'd better do so, because you'd never know when you were going to go hungry again. But in our case, it was a pure pampering by SgTrekker.

And at 12:30pm, we were all gathered outside The Nest for that nice, post-lunch stroll downhill. What was Dinosour talking about so animatedly, that had Hawk, Adrian, Stevewhy, vngks, Cnleong, and Campoes so amused?

5597848707_9de985a134_b.jpg

Soon, we all strapped on our back-packs, ThinkTank SBO's, tightened the grips on our Trekking poles and we were all raring to cheong.

5597847335_f64411e296_b.jpg

Yupe. A nice, cool noon for a lovely trek. At 12:40pm, we looked back, said a silent Good Bye to Namche Bazaar, and started our downhill walk.

5597850609_e5c98ac9ca_b.jpg

Braveheart

On this trek, we had seen many occasions of courage, bravery and pure grit and determination. And very well-demonstrated was the perseverance of Papin in pushing himself further despite a sprained ankle. :thumbsup:

Here, wkcheah, vngks and Adrian giving our good Papin their hands in a friendly help. While Ah Wind sounded out the alarm to the rest of the team:
"Wei, Saim ah! Got mules coming! Siam ah, siam ah...!" Wind was forever like the scout of the team. Always on the look out for danger for us. Always on his 70-200mm to make sure he had enough reach on his lens to detect any dangerous situations.​

5597852505_82f4a7f7a8_b.jpg

Braveheart 2

And when the back men (namely, me and SereneXMM lor... who else..?) made our way to this part of the track, Adrian, Mahesh and a couple of our Nepali guides and Sherpa porters were already deep in the steep sloping side of the mountain searching for a camera that had jumped ship earlier. Unfortunately, the only remains found was the battery pack of the ill-fated Canon...

5597905431_2a34709f7b_b.jpg

Well, just in case years later another expedition team decides to take the same route to somewhere further along the same trek, here was the GPS coordinates for New Kid In Town's Canon camera... in the event they decide to conduct another search party...

5598035063_b260393f99_b.jpg

... but the last I heard (as of 9th April 2011), our good New Kid In Town has acquired himself another brand new love... Can't confirm this news... it was from the web site Canon Rumors... so you guys will have to go and ask New Kid himself... hahaha..

Again, along the same trek we walked. Where we suffered walking uphill on our way to Namche the day before, we now breezed through walking downhill on our way back. The last part before we hit Monjo and the Guard House to Sagarmatha National Park was that steep steep downhill fall, depending how we looked at it, now at this moment it became the steep steep uphill struggle.
Finally, at the top of the flight of steps, we came to the entrance.

5598654444_9679ccf686_b.jpg

Right from the word Go, I was personally hoping to keep pace with vngks, Stevewhy, Dinosour, Francis chia , Hawk and wkcheah. But alas, it was not meant to be. These magnificent specimens of the homo sapien species were way too good for me. Cnleong, Wind, Papin, Campoes, Ivypin were all very nice in that they took their own sweet time walking so that those couple of us way behind wouldn't feel too demoralised.

5598074837_0d7597ca98_b.jpg

And we finally came right to the Mount Kailash Lodge right by the side of the main track, where we would spend the night. It was only about 3:40pm and we had loads of time for the rest of the day to rest and relax.

5598657138_3f3d9740e6_b.jpg

... to be continued tomorrow.

Divinemoment, thank you so much for your praises.
I did stack the photos together for the star trail.
They all teach me one leh... they say must stack one leh... so I stack lor..
:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

But sincerely, sincerely, Ladies and Gentlemen... my Star Trail shot is really really any how shot one. I am totally inexperienced in this. And that is why, from the bottom of my heart, I await eagerly all of your shots, to see how my fellow members shoot the stars and the mountains in the dark of the night.
So come, come... every one, do share your shots for that morning - both the 3am group and the 5:30am group! Thank you all in advance!

limwhow, limwhow, so modest. Stack or no stack. Your star trail photo is beautifully done. Nice job. :thumbsup:

Woah. limwhow and vngks has really good shot of the everest with stars.

Please allow me to post my humble shot of a starry morning up the cold mountain in namche.

Everest on the starry night
5568969020_933eab09d3_b.jpg

The shy mountain gently wakes up from the starry night
5568972356_233b93ffa8_b.jpg

MEH!! I HATE U!! LOL sooooo beautiful shot of the starry night with moonlit mountains!

Braveheart

On this trek, we had seen many occasions of courage, bravery and pure grit and determination. And very well-demonstrated was the perseverance of Papin in pushing himself further despite a sprained ankle. :thumbsup:

Here, wkcheah, vngks and Adrian giving our good Papin their hands in a friendly help. While Ah Wind sounded out the alarm to the rest of the team:
"Wei, Saim ah! Got mules coming! Siam ah, siam ah...!" Wind was forever like the scout of the team. Always on the look out for danger for us. Always on his 70-200mm to make sure he had enough reach on his lens to detect any dangerous situations.​

5597852505_82f4a7f7a8_b.jpg

Braveheart 2

And when the back men (namely, me and SereneXMM lor... who else..?) made our way to this part of the track, Adrian, Mahesh and a couple of our Nepali guides and Sherpa porters were already deep in the steep sloping side of the mountain searching for a camera that had jumped ship earlier. Unfortunately, the only remains found was the battery pack of the ill-fated Canon...

5597905431_2a34709f7b_b.jpg

Well, just in case years later another expedition team decides to take the same route to somewhere further along the same trek, here was the GPS coordinates for New Kid In Town's Canon camera... in the event they decide to conduct another search party...

5598035063_b260393f99_b.jpg

... but the last I heard (as of 9th April 2011), our good New Kid In Town has acquired himself another brand new love... Can't confirm this news... it was from the web site Canon Rumors... so you guys will have to go and ask New Kid himself... hahaha..

LOL man! thanks for the GPS coodinate!!! i'll stare hard at google satellite image all day long hopefully to find a little black piece at the riverbank! and for the new camera. hea.. we'll see when we go on the Base camp trek soon ?

New Kid In Town - sorry to read about your gear... I have looked at your pics (in the signature) and I'm quite sure you would have many wonderful shots in that camera.. As you said.. BASE CAMP TREK.. Part II... will be waiting for you to sign up..

ClemC said:
New Kid In Town - sorry to read about your gear... I have looked at your pics (in the signature) and I'm quite sure you would have many wonderful shots in that camera.. As you said.. BASE CAMP TREK.. Part II... will be waiting for you to sign up..

Adrian said we can also do a star shoot at the White Desert of Egypt trek. Come join Egypt trek ;)

limwhow, limwhow, so modest. Stack or no stack. Your star trail photo is beautifully done. Nice job. :thumbsup:
Aiyoh... thank you so much for your encouragement, AlexK 大哥!

Ok, I will remember the GPS coordinates and remind you when we come across that spot the next round.!

Adrian said we can also do a star shoot at the White Desert of Egypt trek. Come join Egypt trek ;)

Huh??!! Can shoot star trail and milky way?? Wah like that means no sleep leh... wei, Brother vngks! Mo-Gao-Ngo leh... Hehehe...

Hi! i would really love to! it was my orginal plan to go egypt this year with the trekkers. but because i'll be posted to work in korea for 2 yrs in july so i'll have to put that on pending. will need to see how i settle down from there.

thanks. hmm regarding the EBC. lol most likely 2 years later? have other locations on the list to clear before going back to the sad sad place! LOL

Day 7: Dinner at Mount Kailash Lodge, Monjo

This day 7 was actually quite a relaxed day, apart from the fact that those insane fellows tortured themselves silly waking up at 2:30am. But it was for a wonderful cause and I was very sure not a single one in the 3am party would forget that morning.
Arriving at Monjo's Mount Kailash Lodge at around 3pm was also kind of a bonus to us, for this downhill walk certainly was a nice stroll as compared with the tougher climb the day before. Those of us who had thigh and shin pain, back pain and what-nots would definitely welcome this restful day to recuperate.
This was another day that I decided not to shower but to powder bath. Hey, this was Adrian and Melvin's specific advice and I was a guai trekker who followed their instructions to the dot. Adrian and Melvin said powder bath, then I powder bath lor... hehehe...
By the time I finished my powder bathing and walked down to the dining hall, boy was I not surprised to find almost all these fellows sitting relaxly around the dining table. In fact, they were all so relaxed that they literally sat there TCSS and TCSS and TCSS for a long time! My, what a way to spend an evening. And you ask yourself - when would you EVER have the luxury of time and the cohesiveness of the company to while away an evening in such a fashion?
For me, hardly ever.
So there we have it - 101% relaxed members of the team.

5599860285_7c92b2565e_b.jpg

... eating what for dinner? Well, you guessed it... the usual lor. But just for record purpose, I had a shot of my Chow Mein here.

5599513683_5315ae188a_z.jpg

Aiyoh... thank you so much for your encouragement, AlexK 大哥!

Ok, I will remember the GPS coordinates and remind you when we come across that spot the next round.!

Huh??!! Can shoot star trail and milky way?? Wah like that means no sleep leh... wei, Brother vngks! Mo-Gao-Ngo leh... Hehehe...

look like must try in this Eygpt trek, under my plan for this year. (need to check my leave.....). Hope all the expert are joining.