Settings for Group Photo

....... .in case you are that pathetic not being able to receive proper education and had to be an assistant and yet have to wait 6 BLOODY months to hold a bloody cam.

This is not a fair statement to make in a forum.

There are many here who have gone through the process of assisting a photographer while picking up the trade, myself included. I've to spend my first 3 mths in a B/W darkroom learning darkroom work, full time from 9am to 5pm ( OT not included ) before I can even learn to help my photographer to set the lights. And it was about another 2 years before I'm allowed to shoot my first "test" shot. Though you may be directing at someone else please indicate it by stating who your post is directed at. At present, it seems like your posting is a sweeping statement across the board.

harsh opps sorry times different liao, spoonfeed days are here.

By jus asking one question = spoonfeed?

I normally read up alot before I ask questions and do a search on forums to see if I'm repeating questions. So whats the point of newbie corner if such questions cant be asked and considered spoon feed?

Something which you may want to consider is how big is the image going to be blown up to. If they want to blown up the image so that they can see everyone's face clearly, say beyond 10 inch by 15 inch, can your camera do the job ? Check first what if will be used for and how big they'll blow it up till.

Ya something new...I'll check with them tomorrow. Thanks for this

I have a different opinion. Try not to shoot at 18mm. Move back and shoot around 20mm. Reason is that at full wide angle of the lens, there will be barrel distortion and some of the faces at the side will have funny looking faces and heads.

Ya I do consider that too...I believe I will not use 18mm bcos of the distortion.

Mount cam on tripod so that u will be a fixed 20mm position. As it is on tripod, u can afford to use slow speed. Slow speed has advantages and disadvantages. Advantages is that it will be a nice, well exposed photo with clear background but it may catch other ambient lights and affecting the colour of the photo.

Ya will be bringing a tripod tomorrow as well.

Are u going to type the names of the employees or company name somewhere. If that is so and usually these are located below the photo, u may want to leave some blank space below for your shoot. The camera will be pointing a bit below and therefore, it is advisable to shoot at F8 to 11.

Thanks point taken and will follow as told tomorrow...I'm using SB600

allow me:

1. don't ever shoot in 18mm, u will jump up and down. shoot 35mm or 50mm. got prime better. y? cos distortion will kill u. and not sharp at all. prime lens u shd noe will do the job

2. use studio lights. and background near use lights to light up.y? cos flash power not gd enough, 100 ppl u r talking abt. background need lights to make it better, and so that 4th row will not blend to background, if the is a background. if outdoor save it.

3. set ur lights to f8 to f11. y? cos u need to make everyone face can see right?

4. use tripod. if don noe keep ur camera.

5. d70s, shoot raw, and process it. use cs2 to sharpen it. got 1 key is smart sharpen.

6. arrange 4 rows. if got chance, shoot 2 rows, then 4 rows, u will see the bloody big different in size of ppl, and sharpness.

allow me:

1. don't ever shoot in 18mm, u will jump up and down. shoot 35mm or 50mm. got prime better. y? cos distortion will kill u. and not sharp at all. prime lens u shd noe will do the job

2. use studio lights. and background near use lights to light up.y? cos flash power not gd enough, 100 ppl u r talking abt. background need lights to make it better, and so that 4th row will not blend to background, if the is a background. if outdoor save it.

3. set ur lights to f8 to f11. y? cos u need to make everyone face can see right?

5. d70s, shoot raw, and process it. use cs2 to sharpen it. got 1 key is smart sharpen.

6. arrange 4 rows. if got chance, shoot 2 rows, then 4 rows, u will see the bloody big different in size of ppl, and sharpness.

Thanks for above guidance...but if were to use 50mm prime would it allow me to capture 100+ people in coverage??

But anyway tomorrow I am taking group pics of 20+ people only..so shouldn't be much of a prob.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge with me as well as others. :D

allow me:

Smurfman,
Now u sound like a pro :D instead of a jerk. Keep it up Dude.

By the way, I have a different opinion regarding the use of lights. There is no need for extra lighting. If your settings are correct, it shd not be a problem. Not that I am bragging but my group shots of my company that I am working in was much more well exposed than the photographer who was paid to shoot (Somemore bring in so much eqpt). My only worry is that I dun know the difference between SB600 and 800 (mine 800).

Bring your deflector to approx 70 to 80 degrees. Shutter 1/25 to 1/30. Not more than ISO 640 cause if u need to blow up, that is my advice.

Smurfman,

By the way, I have a different opinion regarding the use of lights. There is no need for extra lighting. If your settings are correct, it shd not be a problem. Not that I am bragging but my group shots of my company that I am working in was much more well exposed than the photographer who was paid to shoot (Somemore bring in so much eqpt). My only worry is that I dun know the difference between SB600 and 800 (mine 800).

Bring your deflector to approx 70 to 80 degrees. Shutter 1/25 to 1/30. Not more than ISO 640 cause if u need to blow up, that is my advice.

wow thanks...point taken of...really appreciate everyone's help :)

btw for SB600 and SB800...read here

Smurfman,

how big ur group? different location different settings, and i really don't know where TS location is. but shutter at 1/30 not encourage, and iso i agreed, actually 400 is maximum to me for big group photo.
My biggest group is 300 plus minus in school hall, and 200 plus at a hotel.

how big ur group? different location different settings, and i really don't know where TS location is. but shutter at 1/30 not encourage, and iso i agreed, actually 400 is maximum to me for big group photo.
My biggest group is 300 plus minus in school hall, and 200 plus at a hotel.

tat's the way smurfman..:thumbsup: when u provide tips to newbie..it is not spoonfeed..because sometimes u gain from sharing too..if u provide info wrongly some other CSer will try to help correct..if u provide tips agreeable by most ppl, u will gain confidence in applying ur knowledge..so when its time for u to do shooting, u will be more confident applying..in photography, fundamentals and techniques are all fixed, its the style that speak for the photographer..if someone think he can become a pro photographer overnite by asking a question for his next event..haha..good luck him..

at least a idiot don't screw up like a newbie, dunno learn from others, don take the job then ask for help, like pour kerosene on urself and set fire and shout fire fire help help.

and whos the idiot who dunno tis and that, and accept jobs that out of their range.

sometimes, its good to scold newbies, as my time, i need to assist for bloody 6 mths then can hold camera for shifu, dunno how come nowadys newbies attitude sucks. and it really sucks. dunno don't accept, killing urself.

Thats why the newbie here is learning from ppl who are giving him constructive criticism.... he is genuinely asking for help here.. so what do you s'pose is the best way to ask for help ?? pour tea & kowtow to you ?? Its precisely ppl like you who hinder the growth of new talents from asking questions... so do you really wanna take your skills to your grave with you ??

My goodness,
have you thought of if you don't get the shot right, you are wasting the time of these 100 people? are they gonne come back again and shoot by another photographer or wait for next year, next decade, or maybe next life?

anyway, the setting, arrangement can share with you, can tell you what to do, how to shoot, but the experience still can not pass it to you, it take many years to learn.

many pros are kind enough to warn you before hand, don't take these warnings for granted, in the end we are not the one get the sh**, it is always easier to just ignore some of the posting, got noting to lose for not helping people. Think about it.

btw,
100 people,
four rows, pack as close as possible, every inches count.
f8~11. camera tripod mounted
using prime lens, 20mm, 24mm, 28mm, 35mm see which one you have,
if it is indoor you need studio flash 3k and above

if everything don't have, do as what Ortega says, protect yourself.

LOL :bsmilie:

P&S cameras are quite smart you know
plus factor is the greater DOF from the smaller sensor
don't need big tripod
just concentrate on composition and press the button.
review ... nice, keep,
not nice, shoot again

still not nice? blame the camera

ortega said:
review ... nice, keep,
not nice, shoot again

still not nice? blame the camera
Hehehe... I like this one, put a smile on my face and made my day. Good one.

../azul123

Thats why the newbie here is learning from ppl who are giving him constructive criticism.... he is genuinely asking for help here.. so what do you s'pose is the best way to ask for help ?? pour tea & kowtow to you ?? Its precisely ppl like you who hinder the growth of new talents from asking questions... so do you really wanna take your skills to your grave with you ??

so u means that every newbie ask, we all try to teach huh? either learn the hard way but gain more, or pamper alot and learn less. i hinder the growth, for god sake do u know what are u talking abt?

oh pls...if u wan to teach den teach lor....if u dun wan den dun say anything lor, jus ignore this thread.....what the pt of bombarding the TS? this type of thing also wan to quarrel? :confused:

I know lot of people (I don't like to call them newbie as I respect they as mature adults) like to have a hands on on many type of shoots, some can let you try and play play, but some are not.

and when are these people gonne learn that when and what can let you try for fun, and ensure that nobody will get hurt if the picture do turn out?

you can go and shoot fire work, can go and shoot hot babes of car shows, pc shows, can go and shoot fashion shows at shopping malls, if the pictures sucks, who cares?

but try these on weddings, events, even this kind of group photos, if the picturs real sucks,

somebody is gonne hurt real bad! yeah! somebody will!

I know lot of people (I don't like to call them newbie as I respect they as mature adults) like to have a hands on on many type of shoots, some can let you try and play play, but some are not.

and when are these people gonne learn that when and what can let you try for fun, and ensure that nobody will get hurt if the picture do turn out?

you can go and shoot fire work, can go and shoot hot babes of car shows, pc shows, can go and shoot fashion shows at shopping malls, if the pictures sucks, who cares?

but try these on weddings, events, even this kind of group photos, if the picturs real sucks,

somebody is gonne hurt real bad! yeah! somebody will!

Yes, it is indeed true..not oni for wedding photography..always try to source for the professionals..

but sometimes some couples maybe tight on budget, they would rather not having any photographers to take photos, then as a fren who own a camera u wouldn't want to see that happening to ur fren getting married, so out of good will u may want to volunteer to take a few shots for them to safe-keep..and for events like, DnD or company functions and ur boss noes u have a camera, they may just arrow u to take pictures..So ClubSnap is the best place to gain some quick tips to boost ur confidence in doing..

人在江湖,身不由己。。。

but for those who try to earn quick buck for shooting wedding..dun expect to gain knowledge from CS and become a Pro overnite..its the experience tat counts..

somebody is gonne hurt real bad! yeah! somebody will
!

Haha... been watching too much Russell Peters? ;)

I think it should be spoken with an indian accent: Sumbodee gonna get a hurt a reel badd...

(sorry for OT... couldn't resist!)

Here's something constructive for the TS:

your biggest problem is sharpness on the faces against size of faces against barrel distortion of the people near the edges.

It's a fine balance: Open too wide, those at the side gets distorted. Correct it by leaving some space at the edges (ie don't crop too tightly), which will give you the problem of subjects becoming smaller, losing facial details... the point is that they want to see their faces clearly in the photo, right?

the safest bet is to up your aperture, and get them to be in more rows. For 20mm standing about 15m-20m, you can safely get 20-25 people wide. So 4 rows is good.

Also think about the timing of you taking this shot. If it is outdoors no shelter, be careful of harsh overhead sunlight that might darken all of their faces. If under shelter, be careful of underexposing everything.

Best to shoot about 9am or 3pm with the sun behind you. best natural lightings.. if not, bring your own!

Cheers.

By the way, I don't see the need to start photography from film in order to take good photographs....