Hi eikin,
Never chio me go for the shoot.

huh? no lah, these were done yesterday, not today

Heh, did some sunrise today myself. Pics can be found here
Comments are welcomed!!! :D

evq said:
me Joking lah. ;p

btw remember the photog i mentioned who do the 'torchlight painting' at night (paiseh, don't know his name and the name of the technique) i think Punggol House has GREAT potential for such experiments. it's not as scary as most think ... in fact the ruins felt more sadness than horror

eikin said:

btw remember the photog i mentioned who do the 'torchlight painting' at night (paiseh, don't know his name and the name of the technique) i think Punggol House has GREAT potential for such experiments. it's not as scary as most think ... in fact the ruins felt more sadness than horror

Good idea, but u do the 'painting' while i stay at the MRT stn shoot. ;)

evq said:
Good idea, but u do the 'painting' while i stay at the MRT stn shoot. ;)

whoa, very chor job leh ... *searching for ninja clothes* :bsmilie:

eikin said:
whoa, very chor job leh ... *searching for ninja clothes* :bsmilie:

Btw, I think it is too bright there. Cant do much.

eikin said:

Hey, that's call light painting, great idea to do it at punggol house, anyway, you can do this using flash unit.

Btw, anyone interested on light painting or not, I got a homemade light painting kit to give away, only work on AC220V. :bsmilie:

that's true ... too much background light ... maybe one night if got inspiration i cycle down to check the night lighting situation, hehe, but if want to shoot also need to wait slightly less than 2 weeks, for the moon to wane ... see how lor

catchlights said:
Hey, that's call light painting, great idea to do it at punggol house, anyway, you can do this using flash unit.

Btw, anyone interested on light painting or not, I got a homemade light painting kit to give away, only work on AC220V. :bsmilie:

:o :bigeyes: must find long long wires and request SBSTransit for permisson to use their power source first :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

catchlights said:

catchlights, do u know how to do it? This is a very interesting Art.

evq said:
catchlights, do u know how to do it? This is a very interesting Art.

yah, catchlights, since you have the equipment, can share some knowledge about light painting? very keen to find out more :)

btw, just did a simple search on the internet and found two interesting sites on light painting,

http://www.chrisbeckerphoto.com/light.html

http://www.photo-seminars.com/Seminars/PaintLight/Paintlight.htm

but they are not the photogs i saw on tv some time ago (that one is really masterful, produces very touching images)

My unit is intent to us it in studio, but if you interested to use it outdoor, can use a motorbike headlight power by a 12V SLA battery, or maybe an automobile halogen headlight will even better.

For light painting image making
First you need to have a basic exposure on the overall image, said 1 ½ to 2 stop underexpose, than you use a moveable light source to paint the subject.

The principle is like burning technique in traditional darkroom, you keep moving the light source to light the areas of the subject you wish to highlight.

Most people put on a soft filter to the lens after the initial exposure, so the painted light have a glow effect. Sound very interesting isn’t it?

I tried before, a simple setup took me about 15 mins exposure for one shot (many areas need to be burned), did a few shots and every shots turn out differently. :bsmilie:

Do a google search, you may see a lots of these very unique images.

light painting is fun and need a lot of imagination.
go try out, start with still life at home and pick up from there.

whoa, going through some websites ... light painting really require lots of learning, imagination and preparatory work ... really hope to advance to 'painting' outdoor (especially buildings, hee, 'profession habit') given the chance. but first i must fully master my slr before my school term starts, if not don't even need to think of experiments liao :embrass:

D70 Day 01
it was raining, saw this in punggol plaza

14689chairs.jpg

Saw this just before the rain started, it would have been better if I was wearing shoes, could not go closer.

14689stream_p.jpg

i like the pattern you captured in the 1st picture, espcially the yellow tones, highlighting the curves ...

nice framing of the drain for 2nd picture ... can sense the brightness of the day before the storm from the white, dry concrete slabs, very realistic colours.

enjoyed both pictures :)

eikin said:
whoa, going through some websites ... light painting really require lots of learning, imagination and preparatory work ... really hope to advance to 'painting' outdoor (especially buildings, hee, 'profession habit') given the chance. but first i must fully master my slr before my school term starts, if not don't even need to think of experiments liao :embrass:
One reason why I didn't try it outdoor is, I don't want the police come and ask me what am I doing? Why using the light shining here and there? :nono:

I don't really like the drain shot, the light is just not right,
I will go and get this drain shot right.

With army boots, got to climb into the drain to get in close.
And I think that directional morning sun would be better.

Just posted it here to show more photo op that I found in punggol.