Photos taken by a Pentax camera for tech. discussion - Season 0

If there is no extension tube or doubler, its cropped.:D Desmond where are you?:bsmilie:

Ok, took some spidey today. Cropped 50 percent off. shot at maximum 1:1 magnification but that little one is too small mayb 3 mm in length but extremely friendly, allowing me to capture many shots. Monopod with flash and lens, voigtlander macro...

31uly10k10voigt033-1.jpg

Sorry, just reached home not long ago only... I am here! :bsmilie:

Nice capture there. To shoot at 1:1 magnification at that size. I really need something to stable the gear.

The spider is about 1cm. As otc say, this shot is cropped. Want to go closer but obstructed by leaves and twigs

This insect is about 1.5cm and this shot is not cropped.

IMGP9733.jpg

des, the insect originally is dark in colour. if desaturate to -20, can see the detail on the exo-skeleton.

At 2mm size, they may jump into your nostrils.:bsmilie:

I can watch "KungFu Panda" to learn the "Flying Bee" & "Dragon Head" stunt.:bsmilie:

aiyah bro pentriot, you have so many good macro lens, come & join the fun lah!!

I would :heart: to join the Great Pentax Macro shootout, but I may have to travel overseas in mid August. So I will include my name first.:)

Oh no! pls dun GOooooo...!
Is time to show the power of your tele..Ma..:bsmilie:

4842670936_5032078224.jpg

It is always rude to intrude someone's party uninvited but these fellas don't seems to mind. found these happy bugs behind an orchid petal :bsmilie:

shot at ISO100, f20 & 1/125s with the in-built flash & plate diffuser. using bernard's raynox to shoot this, so there is a little more working distance.

:lovegrin: oh man See Fei, I've never seen this one before. Or those its eggs or are they eating another insect's? Would have like to see it in its original colours. Are they red like lady bugs? :)

Inspired by the beautiful macro shots from the macro masters here, decided to pick up my K7 with DFA 100mm and head out to take some macros. Here's the shots...

IMGP9676.jpg

there rest are here.

Good capture Desmond. How do you catch these fellas eating their dinner? I have problem finding a spider still enough to catch let alone pose for you.:)

If there is no extension tube or doubler, its cropped. Desmond where are you?
Ok, took some spidey today. Cropped 50 percent off. shot at maximum 1:1 magnification but that little one is too small mayb 3 mm in length but extremely friendly, allowing me to capture many shots. Monopod with flash and lens, voigtlander macro...

31uly10k10voigt057-1.jpg

Second shot also cropped with max 1:1 magnification but second spidey is unique, awaiting for prey to appear. Managed a few shots and luvs the hairy, hairy face. took with flash n monopod. Cropped off about 50 over percent. Bump some highlight with picassa.

marcus

Hi Marcu, All that cropping and the image so looks good. :thumbsup: Like a dog with that doeful look. Luckily you are not the fly!

All the macro sifus coming for the major meet at Mount AMK. It will not be same without Sensei Ben.

if i may, change subject a bit ;)

just posted the following in the land/city scape forum. appreciate if fellow pentaxians can also share c & c on how to improve such shots.

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 15.17 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4168%20copy.jpg

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 5.89 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4170%20copy.jpg

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 6.4 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4169%20copy.jpg

IMGP4173%20copy.jpg

More from the same series

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 6.01 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4175%20copy.jpg

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 3.2 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4176%20copy.jpg

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 3.78 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4177%20copy.jpg

the last shot is my favourite. the final volley was launched from boats in the bay. i managed to catch the trail as it was fired into the sky :lovegrin:

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 7.49 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4185%20copy.jpg

More from the same series

ISO: 100 | Exposure: 7.49 sec | Aperture: 11.0 | Focal Length: 18mm
IMGP4185%20copy.jpg

background hei oror. you must use the "dark clothe" method and mix with double exposure. one exp for the firework and one exp for the background. dark clothe cover the lens between exposure. google "how to shoot firework". nice attempt!

:lovegrin: oh man See Fei, I've never seen this one before. Or those its eggs or are they eating another insect's? Would have like to see it in its original colours. Are they red like lady bugs? :)

went back to the shoot location and found the bug again. this is the real colour. this shot is done in ISO100, so not much pp. so i think the colour is pretty accurate.

3.2 sec is too long for the firework and blownout is observed. but too short for the background. got to experiment. enjoy!

background hei oror. you must use the "dark clothe" method and mix with double exposure. one exp for the firework and one exp for the background. dark clothe cover the lens between exposure. google "how to shoot firework". nice attempt!

COOL. thanks for the tip :) just googled and found info on this. will try next time.

des, the insect originally is dark in colour. if desaturate to -20, can see the detail on the exo-skeleton.

Desaturating in itself will not increase detail.

Actually I beg to disagree. I think the exposures here are OK. Doing a double exposure is not a must. Instead of blindly following on what's found on the internet, best to do your own tests because every shot will have different variables even though it is a common subject like fireworks.

thanks for the guidance :) will probably do a combination of styles in my next firework shoot.

just take care of the background, the fireworks will not be over blown... its moving, use f8, 8sec...

Inspired by the beautiful macro shots from the macro masters here, decided to pick up my K7 with DFA 100mm and head out to take some macros. Here's the shots...

IMGP9676.jpg

Bro this is nice..:thumbsup:

4842670936_5032078224.jpg

It is always rude to intrude someone's party uninvited but these fellas don't seems to mind. found these happy bugs behind an orchid petal :bsmilie:

shot at ISO100, f20 & 1/125s with the in-built flash & plate diffuser. using bernard's raynox to shoot this, so there is a little more working distance.

Wow! reunion lunch ah...Good catch!