OFFICIAL Nikon announcement on August 19th 2010: SLR !!

The Autofocus during movie mode and the low price are the true asset of this cam.
I hope this will prompt the competitor to counter these.

sell your 28-70 and maybe still got enough for the 24-120 ... :think:

unlikely lah... 28-70 going for bet $1400-1600. i suspect this going nearer 2k. :think:

dun like to top-up ...

Yeah ! A summary of all the new goodies !

http://support.nikonusa.com/cgi-bin...hp?1=AvUC~wp7CP8SGAH8Gqge~yL~Jvsq~2b~Z8V4dzr~

I was hoping for an upgrade for D90 or D5000. sighhhh..........

;p :think: :lovegrin:

Good Summary Bro :thumbsup:

D3100 is better than either D3000 or D5000.
Just sold your existing D3000 or D5000 for D3100 ;)

But for the D90 upgrade, you need to week for next month for the announcement.

unlikely lah... 28-70 going for bet $1400-1600. i suspect this going nearer 2k. :think:

dun like to top-up ...

If I had 24-70, I won't sell it.
But if I only had 28-70, I would sell it whenever have chance for 24-120 VR.

Some people have tried to sell 28-70 from $1600-$2000 in B&S thread, so no need to top up for the new lens. ;)
<hint> <hint>

If I had 24-70, I won't sell it.
But if I only had 28-70, I would sell it whenever have chance for 24-120 VR.

Some people have tried to sell 28-70 from $1600-$2000 in B&S thread, so no need to top up for the new lens. ;)
<hint> <hint>

one word - lowballers. :rolleyes:

anyway, i did a calculation using the pre-order prices on bhphotovideo. if i use borderlinx to ship it from US to SG under standard shipping, tax and everything included, comes up to SGD 1921.21 (after factoring in the conversion by Citibank as of today's currency conversion rate). if SG is more expensive than this, this is a viable option considering that USD to SGD conversion is actually quite attractive lately. :think:

Patience, the key is.
Refer to the 2nd price for 28-70 and new price for 24-70, $1921.21 for 24-120 VR is reasonable.

Interesting to know how much would TK or Alan open price for this lens, when this lens is ready stock in Sg this mid or end of September :think:

Watch out for the Nikon Kopi and molestation session soon, when the items are in Singapore. :)

Will try all the lenses for this touch and play sessions.

Wish CRC have the lenses as soon as they are available in Singapore, so can molest it for the whole weekend.

:devil:

U need to be more conservative on the FX rates. That's usually the case as CC companies do add some amount of 'service charge' to it. And don't forget about the GST tax in singapore if it's not added in yet.

Watch out for the Nikon Kopi and molestation session soon, when the items are in Singapore. :)

Hope I'll be able to join this time. A lot of new toys :)

U need to be more conservative on the FX rates. That's usually the case as CC companies do add some amount of 'service charge' to it. And don't forget about the GST tax in singapore if it's not added in yet.

you haven't use borderlinx before, rite? they have a very nice online price calculator to show you the total costs incurred before you commit to buy - including FX, GST, shipping charges/kg etc... takes the guesswork out of the costing. :)

the only thing 'bad' abt it for me is that i am a cheapo and opt for the standard shipping which can take up to 1 mth (sometimes). ;p

dun like to top-up ...
It should be the in the price range of the 16-35 F4 VR as the £ is about the same. (1100)

I've noticed that with the new lens coming out, there are a lot of F4 lens. I'm a novice and so, keep wondering why F4. Why not F3, F2, F5???? As f2.8 is way more fast, why new new and expensive lens won't stick to F2.8 and just stop at F4????

maybe nikki think F4 is good enough for FF

I've noticed that with the new lens coming out, there are a lot of F4 lens. I'm a novice and so, keep wondering why F4. Why not F3, F2, F5???? As f2.8 is way more fast, why new new and expensive lens won't stick to F2.8 and just stop at F4????
because not everyone can afford f2.8 glass. and also full frame cameras have very good high ISO noise performance so f4 is fine when subject isolation or extreme low light shooting is not required.

if they make all zoom lens f/2.8 + VR and all primes f/1.2 + VR
i doubt most of us can afford to buy them :bsmilie:

Oh I see, I got it. Thank you all Sifus.