Most Hated Roadusers...

Most hated roadusers in Singapore

kingpin said:
Ya guess it tough for them to be nice when driving every day for 10 hours each time. They are trying to make a living. I normally give space for them and motorcyclists.
a big thank you!

from a motorcyclist

From what I see, if you buy a motorcycle and don't ride on the dotted lines, other riders will say you are crazy because that's the whole idea of buying a bike! Can squeeze throught traffic jams mah!! But by doing this very dangerous act, bikers are endangering other people on the road as well as theirs. And car drivers always have a tendancy to try to overtake bikers because they don't know whether the fella wants to continue on the dotted line or wants to change lane.

But there are also those drivers who will try to push bikes away from their lane because they find them a nuisance, especially when the bike is road horgging.

judeseah said:
i m a rider, so bias me shall not respond
on behalf od riders,
BUT let me ask all drivers here a question-

why do some of u overtake a bike along the
dotted line?

u know what i mean?
too lazy to move totally to the right lane,
halfway there and start to overtake.

my guess is that the drivers feel he has all
the space he needs for a safe overtaking,
and the answer is similar to why bikers ride
along the dotted line.

ps- i encounter drivers of this nature AT LEAST
twice a day. they r a common sight.

dont quite understand what you are saying...

not easy to overtake if the bike is on the dotted line straddling 2 lanes - even if the car is fully on the right lane. singapore lanes are quite narrow actually.

anyway...all road users need to learn to drive/ride defensively. keep a lookout for other motorists in case they do something funny.

Speed said:
From what I see, if you buy a motorcycle and don't ride on the dotted lines, other riders will say you are crazy because that's the whole idea of buying a bike! Can squeeze throught traffic jams mah!! But by doing this very dangerous act, bikers are endangering other people on the road as well as theirs. And car drivers always have a tendancy to try to overtake bikers because they don't know whether the fella wants to continue on the dotted line or wants to change lane.

But there are also those drivers who will try to push bikes away from their lane because they find them a nuisance, especially when the bike is road horgging.

yup..dangerous yet a lot of bikers do that. they will always be on the losing end if something goes wrong...no point bikers insisting they have every right to ride on the dotted lines etc...cos it won't do them any good if they are dead ;p

just something to think about.

i think the most dangerous thing for a biker to do is to ride on the right hand side of the road, esp when it gives no allowance for them as car may just swerve abit to the right or make a U-turn & they are .. .. .., even thou i do check my blind spots for bikers... i can't gurantee that i will notice them everytime cos sometimes when i have those near accidents, mostly is those bikers do a zig zag thing & appear out of nowhere...

Don't know what to vote also.. there are black sheep in every category also.. You forget to include cyclist and pedestrian. If everyone follows the traffic rulz, more courteous, and use common sense including pedestrian.. our road will be safer. For cyclist, they are neither pedestrian nor motorvehicle, so travel more carefully by the left side of the road, don't try to be a motorvehicle.. you're endangering everyone. Everyone on the road should have proper lighting/signal especially at night. Probably, increase the speed limit by 10Km/hr on all road should be better.

Most common phrase (curse and comment) I used on the road while I driving..
1) Right Lane is for faster vehicle lah.. a) doesn't mean you drive a 2500cc executive sedan, means you deserve/own the lane. b) doesn't mean you need to do U-turn or right-turn, you can move on this lane 2km before the junction.
2) If you want to die, die somewhere else.. don't sabo people lah (for cyclist on the extreme right lane or crossing the junction diagonally).
3) If you never drive for a long period of time.. put on your P-PLATE!! You're confusing other drivers.
4) P-PLATE is not license to race!
5) Yo Bro.. a) I'm moving at 120km/hr liao.. still not happy? (to the tailgater, usually when left lane is too conjested for me to change lane). b) The road ahead is also conjected what.. stop smelling my @ss (to the tailgater, usually when the lane is conjested and everyone moving slowly). For both cases, I'll step on my brake next.. kekeke..
6) Pedestrians are sick! Somehow, they thought it is their duty to keep us at the zebra cross waiting.. so they make sure they follow one after another to cross the road. When cannot catch up.. Run!
7) Drivers are sick too! They will do all kind of stunt just to keep you out of their lane even if you've keep safe distance and do proper signal.

That's all for now.

Speed said:

Are you a bike rider? Squeezing thru traffic jams using the dotted lines and travelling on the dotted line during smooth travel flow is 2 different cases.

During traffic jams, the cars hardly move and bike that squeeze in between cars (including myself) hardly make it over 30km/h even though it looks so damned fast from inside the car (becos you're temper is rising from the jam).

Also.. how to change lanes in a traffic jam to overtake the bike? :dunno:
If you're referring to bikes on e'ways on the right lanes.. You must be travelling really fast to catch up with bikes on lane 1 or the bike is trying to act out Initial S (S for stupidity).. But if you're talking on bike on the left lane, left lanes are meant for slow vehicles right? so why be so impatient with left laners? you got me stumped.. so many IFs..

think this thread becoming like rojak liao... ;p

to me, Taxi drivers should drive with greater care & responsibility as they r providing a service.

Their passengers lives r in their hands, not to mention other road users as well.

They r on the road so many hours within a day.
they should have more than sufficient experience to forsee the circumstance arising from the situation or their action.
Or most of them r plain complacent & think bcoz they drive so many hours on the road, they r experts & can do whatever they like.

Within a day, i have seen numerous taxi drivers violating traffic rules.
never signal, illegal U-turn, cut into lanes abrubtly, never check blind corner, speeding, stop w/o hazard lights.....

i am really tempted to take pictures of these taxi & submit it to their respective company.
their customers & road users do not deserve such treatment.
neither do they deserve to make a living out of driving a taxi if they r socially irresponsible on the roads.

Really cannot stand those women drivers. This bike was on a dotted line beside me on the back left, and decided to overtake a lady driver also behind on my left. Who knew, but she accelerated as we were in a small turn and the bike hit the back of her car sending the bike into a 90 degree turn right into my path. I braked in time and blocked traffic to help the guy to the side. The woman clearly didn't want the guy to pass her nice shiny red mazda. Best of all she never stopped and just kept going.

yanyewkay said:
Are you a bike rider? Squeezing thru traffic jams using the dotted lines and travelling on the dotted line during smooth travel flow is 2 different cases.

During traffic jams, the cars hardly move and bike that squeeze in between cars (including myself) hardly make it over 30km/h even though it looks so damned fast from inside the car (becos you're temper is rising from the jam).

Also.. how to change lanes in a traffic jam to overtake the bike? :dunno:
If you're referring to bikes on e'ways on the right lanes.. You must be travelling really fast to catch up with bikes on lane 1 or the bike is trying to act out Initial S (S for stupidity).. But if you're talking on bike on the left lane, left lanes are meant for slow vehicles right? so why be so impatient with left laners? you got me stumped.. so many IFs..

Of course I am not a biker. And sorry I should have stated clearly wat I meant. To me, riding on the dotted line during a jam or smooth traffic is similar cos its still on the dotted line.

I am not saying that bikers are very fast when squeezing in between cars in jams. I am just saying its dangerous for both bikers and car drivers if bikers do that. Sometimes there may be a space for the car to change lane to exit but a bike may come from behind without the driver noticing and... bang.

When I say changing lanes to overtake bikes, it is not in a traffic jam. Can;t imagine how to do that. You think too much.. haha..

Sometimes I wonder how the bikers can really squeeze thru traffic jams so smoothly. I am always worried that something on the bike might scratch my car. Haha... wouldn't it be good if there's a motorcycle lane so that all bikes and cars are separated? Win-win situation... haha... (dreaming)

Basically, I cant stand drivers:

1. who dont use indicators when making a turn
2. who use indicators at the last minute just before making a turn
3. who stop their cars with Hazard Lights 'on' just before a turn.
Why can they stop their cars AFTER a turn?
It damn dangerous to other drivers who actually want to make a turn.
4. who stop their cars without switching on the Hazard Lights.
5. who tailgate you just becos they drive a WRX, BMW etc.....even when you are within the speed limit.
6. who switch on Hi-beam lights when driving on expressways
7. who blast their hi-fi with trance muzak...you hearing nothing except boom,boom,boom.

I once encountered a lady-driver at J8 car-park. I spotted an empty slot and was in the midst of reversing in, when I saw this car making a turn and driving towards me.....She got out of her car and knock at my window.
She then told me that she had actually beo the slot when she drove past it the 1st time and that I should surrender the slot to her!!!!
NB, this also got.....

Of cos, I didnt want to argue and being a perfect gentleman, I just drove off. To have an argument with her is not worth it as it will ruin my mood for the rest of the day. Moreover, I didnt want my kids to be exposed to 2 adults quarelling over a trivial matter.....

i hate myself the most.. knowing all the traffic rules and i break em as a force of habit.. who's to blame ?

tehsusu said:
I once encountered a lady-driver at J8 car-park. I spotted an empty slot and was in the midst of reversing in, when I saw this car making a turn and driving towards me.....She got out of her car and knock at my window.
She then told me that she had actually beo the slot when she drove past it the 1st time and that I should surrender the slot to her!!!!
NB, this also got.....

Of cos, I didnt want to argue and being a perfect gentleman, I just drove off. To have an argument with her is not worth it as it will ruin my mood for the rest of the day. Moreover, I didnt want my kids to be exposed to 2 adults quarelling over a trivial matter.....

Of coz.... if I were you , she can stand down there and watch me continue my reversing process hahaha , if she not happy , can tell her u beoed the place since last night !

poohbear said:
Of coz.... if I were you , she can stand down there and watch me continue my reversing process hahaha , if she not happy , can tell her u beoed the place since last night !

So jia lard ah... beo also means booked ah!!

People nowadays are getting bad to worse. Just yesterday while going home on AYE, I signalled right, intending to change to the right lane.... I waited and waited but everyone from behind on the right just kept picking up speed and make sure I can't go out... so sad.

Speed said:
So jia lard ah... beo also means booked ah!!

People nowadays are getting bad to worse. Just yesterday while going home on AYE, I signalled right, intending to change to the right lane.... I waited and waited but everyone from behind on the right just kept picking up speed and make sure I can't go out... so sad.

What's new ? .... I think nowadays people getting more and more kan cheong/hiong/reckless is because of the enviornment forcing them so. Given the above example , how to counter ?

1) Dun signal , just find one hole and squeeze it through
2) Saw the hole, signal for a sec and squeeze in
3) Signal and hopefully someone will let you through. ( Yeah right ! TKK for that 0.01 % chance)

But in the end , the hunter became the hunted and the prey became the hunter, never ending story .....

Actually I despise pedestrains more...I had the oppuntunity to knock 2 down, and 1 head on crash with another motorcyclist. All these done safely with a motorcycle.

Friends call me a magnet, thats y i'm driving now... :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

poohbear said:
3) Signal and hopefully someone will let you through. ( Yeah right ! TKK for that 0.01 % chance)

i do this. it works far less often than i'd like, but far more often than i expect! :bsmilie:

vince123123 said:
You want to know something funny?

I once saw a police bike squeezing between cars on the expressway, overtaking and going rather fast.

Next thing I know, there's a small buildup of traffic....going further, I saw the police bike on the road and the rider injured....apparently he collided with another vehicle.

Thats the result of driving on the broken lines, even the police are not immune.

is this accident on ECP before Fort road..

saw this accident.. the rider was lying on the road moaning... while the car was nearby...