Most Hated Roadusers...

Most hated roadusers in Singapore

Wow... read all ur experiences, no wonder when learning to drive, i am sooo scared ><

Soo many unfortunate stuffs can happen.....

Personally i hate Taxi drivers, as most taxi drivers are inconsiderate, stop suddenly and suchs. But generally, all impatient drivers are bad and hated by me !

I once met a road rage driving big CC bike... Wah Lau... Pointed his arsehole finger at mi and kept "greeting" my mum....

auron said:
i hate all road users who doesn't respect cyclist.

And cyclists who take up half the road.

Point taken vince123123.

It's always good practice to signal & check blindspots before changing lanes.

-andy

vince123123 said:
If you're overtaking, thats fine, as it only happens for a few seconds. I'm referring to those who drive on the broken lines at least 70% of the time, as if its a motorcycle lane (similar to bus lanes).

That said, I was just wondering why can't a biker overtake like a normal car? ie use the whole lane rather than the broken lines in between cars. When a biker uses the whole lane to overtake, the car can see the biker easier. If the biker uses the broken lines to overtake, there's a good chance the overtaken car can't see the biker and knock the biker if the car decides to change lane as well.

adamadam said:
And cyclists who take up half the road.

should have seen those expat taking up the whole lane at kranji road on saturdays morning . not 2 , not 5 , but 10 over of them. Once horned them to signal I'll be overtaking their 'convoy' and one "EXPAT" showed me the birdie :angry: .... quite worried about them being run over by one of those big trucks , and "hopefully" that wouldn't happen.

leeter said:
Wow... read all ur experiences, no wonder when learning to drive, i am sooo scared ><

Soo many unfortunate stuffs can happen.....

Personally i hate Taxi drivers, as most taxi drivers are inconsiderate, stop suddenly and suchs. But generally, all impatient drivers are bad and hated by me !

haha...if you are learning to drive or newly qualified driver then you better prepare to be hated by other road users :bsmilie:

poohbear said:
should have seen those expat taking up the whole lane at kranji road on saturdays morning . not 2 , not 5 , but 10 over of them. Once horned them to signal I'll be overtaking their 'convoy' and one "EXPAT" showed me the birdie :angry: .... quite worried about them being run over by one of those big trucks , and "hopefully" that wouldn't happen.

Here, any horn sound (if not a musical tune) is considered that you are scolding them. I guess this applied to expats too, so they may have thought you were scolding them instead of signalling.

I think I am a hated driver on the road.
I drive at the speed limit.
I slow down when there is a fast driver behind me and speed back up when he changes lane to overtake me. :dunno:
I look for every opportunity to use my horn where I am not in the wrong :)

unfortuntately.. most drivers do not see the need for motorbikes to take up one whole lane like a car. I'm always forced onto the lane dividers. There is this tendency for vehicles to come up next to me and edge me out of my lane especially on expressways. why? :dunno:

heard from my gf says there news about some taxi driver go corner a motorbike and the motorcyclist died... is it true? she said both are 'racing' den the taxi go push the bike to the kerb or something... quite sad eh, but den... both also at fault... taxi should not do that... the bike since he know he is flesh over metal, should have just let the bugger go... i once had 2 bikers tail me once i left my security barricade to the traffic light, then they keep knocking on my car window.. and heard some verbal abuse from outside... then when i tried to speed off, 1 go infront of me, 1 behind of me, then the front bike try to commit suicide when i speed up, he slow down... (note... happen in singapore... sg bengs...) anyway since i still can type this msg here means i din bang him, lucky my car can win his 125/250cc or something... smell my smoke...
Just heard on the news that the taxi driver got 4 years for this. He deserve it. Purposely knocking a motorcyclist down and even smiling about it. A true asshole.

adamadam said:
Here, any horn sound (if not a musical tune) is considered that you are scolding them. I guess this applied to expats too, so they may have thought you were scolding them instead of signalling.

I think I am a hated driver on the road.
I drive at the speed limit.
I slow down when there is a fast driver behind me and speed back up when he changes lane to overtake me. :dunno:
I look for every opportunity to use my horn where I am not in the wrong :)

Guess this is unique to Singapore only , when I horn to signal I'm over-taking a car in NZ , they smile and waved back at me . Seeing the way they drive aboard really made me felt I'm a hell driver from the 18th Hades hahah :bsmilie:

yanyewkay said:
unfortuntately.. most drivers do not see the need for motorbikes to take up one whole lane like a car. I'm always forced onto the lane dividers. There is this tendency for vehicles to come up next to me and edge me out of my lane especially on expressways. why? :dunno:

i rather they take up a whole lane instead of straddling lanes and obstructing 2 lanes instead. most shocking thing is i have seen police bikes do such things too. even saw one make a u-turn from the 2nd-most right turning lane outside the police station near ubi.

You want to know something funny?

I once saw a police bike squeezing between cars on the expressway, overtaking and going rather fast.

Next thing I know, there's a small buildup of traffic....going further, I saw the police bike on the road and the rider injured....apparently he collided with another vehicle.

Thats the result of driving on the broken lines, even the police are not immune.

madmacs said:
i rather they take up a whole lane instead of straddling lanes and obstructing 2 lanes instead. most shocking thing is i have seen police bikes do such things too. even saw one make a u-turn from the 2nd-most right turning lane outside the police station near ubi.

Yes I concur with you. I'm not sure how that idea of car drivers thinking that bikes should be on the broken lines rather than the lane comes from.

madmacs said:

jbma said:
Just heard on the news that the taxi driver got 4 years for this. He deserve it. Purposely knocking a motorcyclist down and even smiling about it. A true asshole.

i thought he only get 4 months? anyway i think its too lenient... or maybe there is a doctrine of precedence... just hope something like this dun happen again... at least not to any of us...

but also, we only heard 1 side of the story about the grinning thing... he might not have done that... maybe he did try to avoid the motorcyclist... heaven knows...

Speed said:
Even for taxi drivers, I do encounter a minority of them who are courteous and give ways to others.

Ya guess it tough for them to be nice when driving every day for 10 hours each time. They are trying to make a living. I normally give space for them and motorcyclists.

First, OT a little. I have removed a portion of my last post which some of you find offending.

Let's move on, shall we?

Singapore roads are one of the most unfriendliest road in the way, not because of the quality of driving, but the quality of drivers/riders. Put these people on the roads of other countries and we get the same situations.

Drivers here hate one another, whether is uncle taxi driver, auntie bus driver, male, female, pedestrains at road crossings, they hate the rest cause its only ME, ME, ME.

MY time is the most precious, so others should give way to ME. NO one should be near MY car at all so I can speed up/change lane/slow down at will.

I am in a rush, so it is ok for MY taxi driver to speed and stop where I want them to, as in NOW.

I need to get to my destination in the shortest time, so MY bus should not stop at all bus stops, there is no reason for MY bus to be in a traffic jam.

I am going to pick up my loved one, so I can stop illegally for just one minute.

All the L-plates and P-plates should stay off the road, esp during peak periods.
Weren't us L-plates and P-plates before?

"That guy just cut into my lane/horn me/overtake me/hogging my lane, making me very unhappy. I am going to "teach him a lesson", by horning him excessively/chase after him/tailgate him/point my finger at him so i have to keep my eyes off the road/keep my hand off the wheel/speed/tailgate."

If u can't beat them, join them. Now who's the dangerous driver.

Yildun said:
First, OT a little. I have removed a portion of my last post which some of you find offending.

Let's move on, shall we?

Singapore roads are one of the most unfriendliest road in the way, not because of the quality of driving, but the quality of drivers/riders. Put these people on the roads of other countries and we get the same situations.

Drivers here hate one another, whether is uncle taxi driver, auntie bus driver, male, female, pedestrains at road crossings, they hate the rest cause its only ME, ME, ME.

MY time is the most precious, so others should give way to ME. NO one should be near MY car at all so I can speed up/change lane/slow down at will.

I am in a rush, so it is ok for MY taxi driver to speed and stop where I want them to, as in NOW.

I need to get to my destination in the shortest time, so MY bus should not stop at all bus stops, there is no reason for MY bus to be in a traffic jam.

I am going to pick up my loved one, so I can stop illegally for just one minute.

All the L-plates and P-plates should stay off the road, esp during peak periods.
Weren't us L-plates and P-plates before?

"That guy just cut into my lane/horn me/overtake me/hogging my lane, making me very unhappy. I am going to "teach him a lesson", by horning him excessively/chase after him/tailgate him/point my finger at him so i have to keep my eyes off the road/keep my hand off the wheel/speed/tailgate."

If u can't beat them, join them. Now who's the dangerous driver.

kinda agree with you on this.

Nisa said:
my TOP hated Roadusers are

1) Cascasian Female Drivers of all ages.
2) Singapore Chinese men between the ages of 30 - 50.
i hate to ride on the broken line,
but at times(90% of the time),
i do not have a choice.

grab a helmut and ride with me to find out.

this is why i don't hate:-

taxi drivers- when ur livelyhood depends on the fare,
everything else come second to them.

angmoh female drivers- remember the one that slaughtered
pedestrain/s? opp of IKEA? if the judge can be so forgiving,
there must be something about them that simpleton like me
doesn't know.(HAHAHA!!!)

once i horned a champagne color MB E200 along CTE for
going 80km/h along a clear lane 2, upon overtaking saw
the driver grinning like an idiot. closer inspection found him
to resember a certain minister. anger all gone,
he could be an idiot.

vince123123 said:
If you're overtaking, thats fine, as it only happens for a few seconds. I'm referring to those who drive on the broken lines at least 70% of the time, as if its a motorcycle lane (similar to bus lanes).

That said, I was just wondering why can't a biker overtake like a normal car? ie use the whole lane rather than the broken lines in between cars. When a biker uses the whole lane to overtake, the car can see the biker easier. If the biker uses the broken lines to overtake, there's a good chance the overtaken car can't see the biker and knock the biker if the car decides to change lane as well.

i m a rider, so bias me shall not respond
on behalf od riders,
BUT let me ask all drivers here a question-

why do some of u overtake a bike along the
dotted line?

u know what i mean?
too lazy to move totally to the right lane,
halfway there and start to overtake.

my guess is that the drivers feel he has all
the space he needs for a safe overtaking,
and the answer is similar to why bikers ride
along the dotted line.