K5 Stock

If you can wait and K5 is not a need, then there will always be something better coming out later. Who knows if there is one body at iso 51000 without any noise later on. Anything is possible with the fast changing technology.

K5 model may be obsolete in a year's time or more.;)

The K5 has more features to play with, better usable high iso and higher mega pixels. Still its the man behind the camera that dictates the final oupput.:)

marcus

I do not think the price quoted by SLRR is the pre-order price. The pre-order price is available only for those who bought directly from Emjay right?

I have been a customer of SLRR and I know their pricing strategy - they aim to be the lowest (not just low) priced seller. In my inquiries so far, they have always given me the lowest quote even compared to TK or OP. My interpretation of the situation would be that they have tried to sell at close to cost, but Emjay was afraid that the low price would offend those who pre-ordered directly from Emjay, and thus instructed SLRR to increase their prices.

Whether I am being paranoid or not, it doesn't matter. For I know that in 6 months time I could probably get it at $1,388! ;)

Don't need to be paranoid
I certainly will be more happy if more ppl got the K5 at a good price. :)
The more the merrier.
I doubt many shops will be happy with Emjay if they stuck with a very low price though (ie. less margins).

IMO, i expect the price after the pre-order period should be at least plus or minus 5% different.
So now the increase only $40 less with so many positive fedback of K5. Really worth it!
I will cheong for it if another $5 discount..... 1688 Huat Ah!

Surely the early adopter the prices (whatever they were) were not a loss for Emjay.

I would'nt contest Emjay's decision but it does leave a bad taste when two days earlier I was told by SLR that the price is 1654 but no stock and today there is stock but the price is 1691 with no dual kit lense bundle. What is the point really ?

Agree. I am quite anxious too ...

Perhaps he can clarify ?

:confused:

I can understand why the guys who are suddenly faced with a $50 price rise will feel upset, but if you want to feel better, just head over to the Nikon forums and look at the D7000 discussion thread II (check out pg 42 & 44)

There are some extremely unhappy (and extremely vocal) D7000 owners due to the quality control issues (hot pixels) that they are facing. This is kind of worrying since the K-5 supposedly uses the same sensor but I guess Pentax QC is better? Or we are just a more chill bunch of people?

I think we should feel very lucky that the issues with the K-5 so far are minor or rectifiable via firmware (low buffer while burst shooting in RAW (fixed), hyperprogram not working properly with auto-iso (fixed), unreliable bounced flash output (in process of fixing)).

I can understand why the guys who are suddenly faced with a $50 price rise will feel upset, but if you want to feel better, just head over to the Nikon forums and look at the D7000 discussion thread II (check out pg 42 & 44)

There are some extremely unhappy (and extremely vocal) D7000 owners due to the quality control issues (hot pixels) that they are facing. This is kind of worrying since the K-5 supposedly uses the same sensor but I guess Pentax QC is better? Or we are just a more chill bunch of people?

I think we should feel very lucky that the issues with the K-5 so far are minor or rectifiable via firmware (low buffer while burst shooting in RAW (fixed), hyperprogram not working properly with auto-iso (fixed), unreliable bounced flash output (in process of fixing)).

"Different" sensor according to Nikon. Of course is it different in terms of total different design; Same sensor specified to Nikon requirement; Poorer test bin wafers (so cheaper or good ones reserved for D400?), could also be just the way the cooling and biasing at high sensitivities is engineered, etc, no one knows.

Some user are very happy with it though, so can't rule out over expectations from very new users or bad batches.

If you can wait and K5 is not a need, then there will always be something better coming out later. Who knows if there is one body at iso 51000 without any noise later on. Anything is possible with the fast changing technology.

K5 model may be obsolete in a year's time or more.;)

The K5 has more features to play with, better usable high iso and higher mega pixels. Still its the man behind the camera that dictates the final oupput.:)

marcus

Your comments would be true in one of those "Should I buy this camera now or wait for the next version?" thread. However, it is too simplistic a view and does not apply here as I believe most have been convinced of the 'prowess' of K-5 and are now agonizing over the price issue.

Some may think it is silly to quibble over $50 as it is only the fraction of the cost, or "just think of the missed shots while waiting for the price to drop", etc. But I'm just like that - I do not like to be taken advantaged of, and when I feel that the behavior of the other party is less than equitable, I walk away from the deal, no matter how attractive it is.

Anyway, having gone through many cameras of various brands, I have not found a camera that is a "must have". Each one is a trade-off in terms of features, so missing out on one model does not affect one's photography.

Furthermore, the price drop for Pentax K-7 is over 6 months, and most digital cameras retain their usefulness over 2-3 years, which means if I purchase the K-5 6 months later (hopefully with the same magnitude of price decrease) there's still lots of juice left in the K-5 (incidentally, just last weekend I did a studio shoot with my discontinued Fujifilm S5Pro and it still delivered the wonderful skin tone that no other sub-$10k camera can produce in-camera).

Meanwhile, I just bought 24 rolls of 120 film so that should keep me sufficiently distracted for the next 6 months! ;p

I doubt that the price of the K-5 will drop by a lot since its already priced fairly aggressively (even after the new price floor set by emjay), plus they are selling like hot cakes at current prices. But it will surely drop eventually.

Yea. In a year or so...

BTW, has the K7 price dropped from $1339?

Your comments would be true in one of those "Should I buy this camera now or wait for the next version?" thread. However, it is too simplistic a view and does not apply here as I believe most have been convinced of the 'prowess' of K-5 and are now agonizing over the price issue.

Some may think it is silly to quibble over $50 as it is only the fraction of the cost, or "just think of the missed shots while waiting for the price to drop", etc. But I'm just like that - I do not like to be taken advantaged of, and when I feel that the behavior of the other party is less than equitable, I walk away from the deal, no matter how attractive it is.

Anyway, having gone through many cameras of various brands, I have not found a camera that is a "must have". Each one is a trade-off in terms of features, so missing out on one model does not affect one's photography.

Furthermore, the price drop for Pentax K-7 is over 6 months, and most digital cameras retain their usefulness over 2-3 years, which means if I purchase the K-5 6 months later (hopefully with the same magnitude of price decrease) there's still lots of juice left in the K-5 (incidentally, just last weekend I did a studio shoot with my discontinued Fujifilm S5Pro and it still delivered the wonderful skin tone that no other sub-$10k camera can produce in-camera).

Meanwhile, I just bought 24 rolls of 120 film so that should keep me sufficiently distracted for the next 6 months! ;p

I think K5 is as close to a "must have" as it gets and will serve an enthusiast's photographic needs for as long as it's functional. But i'm one those waiting on Pentax's next announcement, In case in some miracle they announce a full frame DSLR. If they release an APS-C upgrade, i'm definitely getting a K5, hopefully at a significantly lower price.

Which one, the limited stock or the 380?

The 380 part...pre-order price is one thing, a 30% markup after the pre-order is quite another. It's a pity because if this was closer to 300/320, it's still feasible.

Hate to see a lens that was released as a "loss leader" start being sold at a premium due to demand.

The 380 part...pre-order price is one thing, a 30% markup after the pre-order is quite another. It's a pity because if this was closer to 300/320, it's still feasible.

Hate to see a lens that was released as a "loss leader" start being sold at a premium due to demand.

i also suck thumb. wanted to get one, but after looking at the current pricing i decided not to :sweat: <$300 loss leader meh, like that pentax really not helping the distributors leh.

K5 Pre-order in Malaysia entitle 2 Years Warranty ~_~

Went to SITEX on Friday and was able to try out the KX and K5 and also some of the lenses.

Indeed good quality cameras and friendly staff.

There was also a few booths selling camera stuff like bags, tripod, mono pods and
equipment etc ....

Have to start saving up now for ..... ;p;p;p

Went to SITEX on Friday and was able to try out the KX and K5 and also some of the lenses.

Indeed good quality cameras and friendly staff.

There was also a few booths selling camera stuff like bags, tripod, mono pods and
equipment etc ....

Have to start saving up now for ..... ;p;p;p

I went to there on Thursday. It as been quite a long time since the last time when we saw pentax booth at this kind IT show/sitex.

K-5, stand along, NO STOCK.

K-5, with two lenses, is about 2.1K.

I do see your point here. :)

I faced the same scenario, ofcourse the buay song feelings having to pay more for a few days difference. I do have choices ie not to go ahead with the purchase and still have existing two bodies to play with or just go ahead with the purchase. I chose the later as my mind was more or less made up as the issue standing in the way was 40 bucks. I cannot speak the same for others.

marcus

i was just like some of you guys here when i had my eye set on the da35..while i feel that during the first time the price went up to 299 it was perfectly reasonable to me and i agree with vollov that if the price went till about 300/320 it was still feasible..i was ready to buy the lens and sold off some of my spares to get it... thn poof 360!! i ended up dropping the idea and will probably top up and get a tamron 17-50 instead for a walkabout instead of trying a new prime haha :confused:

Well, I went down to the booth on sat and asked them the price of the da35 and was told they still had "some" left at 288. First thought was "Mai tu Liao", told the bloke that I was talking to that I wanted one. Paid for it and went to the collection booth to the served by the MJ guy (I think. He has a Malaysian accent). Gave the receipt and pointed to the stack of da35 there and said I was picking that up. His response was "no, that's not the 288 ones. Those are the 370 gold and silver ones.". He then gave me a brown box and said the 288 ones were these. I was like...WTF...aren't these the kit lens boxes?! I mean...the boxes can't even be closed shut and had to use tape to seal shut.

I kinda had this feeling of being sold a fast one...can they actually sell kit lens like that? So asked if they had warranty, etc...and the guy took an MJ sticker and asked me where I wanted to stick it, on the box or the serial number doc inside.

I took the lens...288 after all...but it left a sour taste in the mouth. :(

Well, I went down to the booth on sat and asked them the price of the da35 and was told they still had "some" left at 288. First thought was "Mai tu Liao", told the bloke that I was talking to that I wanted one. Paid for it and went to the collection booth to the served by the MJ guy (I think. He has a Malaysian accent). Gave the receipt and pointed to the stack of da35 there and said I was picking that up. His response was "no, that's not the 288 ones. Those are the 370 gold and silver ones.". He then gave me a brown box and said the 288 ones were these. I was like...WTF...aren't these the kit lens boxes?! I mean...the boxes can't even be closed shut and had to use tape to seal shut.

I kinda had this feeling of being sold a fast one...can they actually sell kit lens like that? So asked if they had warranty, etc...and the guy took an MJ sticker and asked me where I wanted to stick it, on the box or the serial number doc inside.

I took the lens...288 after all...but it left a sour taste in the mouth. :(

All the black ones sold here in SG (or elsewhere) are part of the K-r/DA35 kit, that's why no retail box but a brown box. I myself got the same one, and all the other black DA35 lenses owners have the same brown boxed version too. You are not alone :)

I'd rather spend 80 less to have the same lens w/o a retail box, especially if I want a black one over the gold or silver one ;)