Infrared Photography

vortex said:
yea the 1st site looks like film...its extremely grainy.

the 2nd one has some pretty interesting ir shots :thumbsup:
i quite like this one. seems very blueish?
IMG_0015_MFnadj_001.jpg

Hi Vortex, the 2nd link is from my Gallery...
Surprised to see my photo :o

Ya, Dennis agree that it does not look natural. Was just trying to create. Tks for you opinion.

PandaOng said:
10578Pavilion_small.jpg

How is this? :think:

My opinions :-
- foliage in the foreground a tad over exposed. Maybe you're trying to get a glow. Due to the over exposure, the leaves cannot be clearly distinguished.
- the grains are good, you created them with some post processing. It's not possible to get such grains as the picture was shot at iso200.
- at F/8 you got relatively good DOF, but the 30sec exposure might have been the cause of the over exposure of the foliage in the foreground. Perhaps a slightly shorter exposure time would be better.

wow..thnx teerex... what thread size izzit ? anyway, when will u guys be meeting up ? hehee, quite interested !! :) even if it's just to join u guys to shoot around !

I read from some web site, it says C5050 can barely be a infra-red camera.... still can take, bt require longer exposure !

teerex said:
My opinions :-
- foliage in the foreground a tad over exposed. Maybe you're trying to get a glow. Due to the over exposure, the leaves cannot be clearly distinguished.
- the grains are good, you created them with some post processing. It's not possible to get such grains as the picture was shot at iso200.
- at F/8 you got relatively good DOF, but the 30sec exposure might have been the cause of the over exposure of the foliage in the foreground. Perhaps a slightly shorter exposure time would be better.

Thanks for the comment...will work towards it again....been trying to get the glow....you have got it nice and sweet. need to steal steal a bit..heehee

Like the glow that you have achieved. :thumbsup:

how how.....this weekend!?!? i cant wait!!! ;)

hopefully we'll get enough sun.

im dying to get those bloody colours outta my cp8400. if not. :sweat:

Ha ha ha, Votex, if not get D70 loh. :sweat:
Yeh this weekend we can go and shoot ??.
Quick quick time time??.

vortex said:
how how.....this weekend!?!? i cant wait!!! ;)

hopefully we'll get enough sun.

im dying to get those bloody colours outta my cp8400. if not. :sweat:

leeter said:
wow..thnx teerex... what thread size izzit ? anyway, when will u guys be meeting up ? hehee, quite interested !! :) even if it's just to join u guys to shoot around !

I read from some web site, it says C5050 can barely be a infra-red camera.... still can take, bt require longer exposure !

My thread size is 52mm, what's the thread size of you lens?

Dennis said:
Ha ha ha, Votex, if not get D70 loh. :sweat:
Yeh this weekend we can go and shoot ??.
Quick quick time time??.

i think u guys know what i have in mind liao :sweat:

if really no choice then...it will be my x'mas present to myself lor :bsmilie: ;p
we shall find out soon enough :think:

so IRman bringing us to the big lone tree?

PandaOng said:
Thanks for the comment...will work towards it again....been trying to get the glow....you have got it nice and sweet. need to steal steal a bit..heehee

Like the glow that you have achieved. :thumbsup:

Come to think of it, forgot how I got the glow. Will have to backtrack that workflow and let you know.

Ya, let's decide on the day/tiime/venue. Dennis is itching already, he wants to give his assistant more training in how to carry the tripod.

Bright sun this morning, went downstairs and took some shots around my neighbourhood. Here are 2, comments???

No tripod, handshake. Aperture Priority, F/8, 1/8sec, iso200. No channel swapping
DSC_3604.jpg

Programmed Mode, F3.3, 1/40sec, iso200. Channel swapped to get blue sky.
DSC_3606high_mix.jpg

teerex said:
Come to think of it, forgot how I got the glow. Will have to backtrack that workflow and let you know.

Ya, let's decide on the day/tiime/venue. Dennis is itching already, he wants to give his assistant more training in how to carry the tripod.

Bright sun this morning, went downstairs and took some shots around my neighbourhood. Here are 2, comments???

Programmed Mode, F3.3, 1/40sec, iso200. Channel swapped to get blue sky.
DSC_3606high_mix.jpg

i like your 2nd pic!!!! :thumbsup:
somemore so shiok can do it handheld

hahaaa....yea dennis's personal assistant training time :bsmilie:

Redo on Vortex Picture.

Pix Removed

This Pic is under. push up the brightness and lost detail.
Pix Removed

So vortex can still keep his CP8400

PandaOng said:
Redo on Vortex Picture.

10578DSCN1674.jpg

This Pic is under. push up the brightness and lost detail.
10578DSCN1637.jpg

So vortex can still keep his CP8400

:o

but no color leh :sweat: :confused:

nevermind...try again this weekend

Teerex:
2nd Pix nice...like the color. as well as the highlight and shadow! well taken!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Thanks Panda and Vortex for your compliments.

OK guys, here's a suggestion for this weekend's shoot. As Vortex suggested, how about Sunday 10.00am, venue to be confirmed by IRman. Hope the sun will smile on us.

Is it alright with you Panda? No full day Sunday rest liao lor.

Hi guys,
This is my take, please comment.
DSC_0793.jpg

catchlights said:
Hi guys,
This is my take, please comment.
DSC_0793.jpg
Could be better if the shadow portion is not so much.. ;)
A little tilt, right?

teerex said:
Is it alright with you Panda? No full day Sunday rest liao lor.

actually sun is also the only full day rest for me :(

i work alternate sat one :rolleyes:

Hosea said:
Could be better if the shadow portion is not so much.. ;)
A little tilt, right?

you mean like this?
DSC_0796.jpg

Wow, you guys are really getting into it :thumbsup:
This is one thread I go straight too.. I shure do miss the ability to join you all and learn from you and join in your experience :cry:
Keep it comming, cant wait to see the results of the weekend :thumbsup: