Got customer like diz..... can vomit blood...

hearing this incident really piss me off.
Salute to you. But i guess you should still charge them for the work and labour of 4+hours.

No film development = no effort?
Bullshit

I believe post processing the digital files would take as long and as much effort as developing film, if not more.

I think you should describe the process to the old uncle all the cheem techincal stuffs until he blur and ask him understand or not. Mock his ignorance. mountain tortoise.

Ya next time write everything down in Black and white to protect yourself and the other party.

green_leaf said:
hearing this incident really piss me off.
Salute to you. But i guess you should still charge them for the work and labour of 4+hours.

No film development = no effort?
Bullshit

I believe post processing the digital files would take as long and as much effort as developing film, if not more.

I think you should describe the process to the old uncle all the cheem techincal stuffs until he blur and ask him understand or not. Mock his ignorance. mountain tortoise.

Ya next time write everything down in Black and white to protect yourself and the other party.

seriously lor... u think u lecture to those old ah bengs got use? got once i explain details to an old beng, den he rebuke back, cheesepie, mai gong an neh zue jiao wei, limpeh mai tia... enuff liao lor... its hard to get anything things into their puny brains 1, cos all brawn, brains is nowhere to be found...

You should get them Tiger nean kee so they could sit down and kong.:bsmilie:

righton said:
Last week Friday I shot for a couple's ROM for $200 (4hrs + work) shooting from their home to ROM to post-ROM lunch at hotel.

Many of the couple's friends and relatives turned up to support them.

After everything, 460+ images from every imaginable angle and combination of friends/relatives were taken.

Everyone left after the makan except the groom and bride and couple of their uncles settling bills.

When come to my turn, one of the uncle instead of paying me, asked for all images to be submitted with negatives and 4R images to be accompanied inside little photo albums.

I told Uncle that I shoot with a digital SLR so there are no negatives and that I will send over a CD of all images.

Wah laozzzz!!!! This is when it got ugly Uncle said "Wah Lao, you spend nothing on film or developing, give us only a CD and we have to print ourselves..... like this lah, $100 can or not?"

I said sorry padre no way..... its $200 and you'll get all the images in a CD

I think the groom's older generation from uneducated background and gangsters. The other Uncle then came in and "Ah Tee ay..... lu simi blah blah blah...... knnbcb jiao kia...... blah blah blah"

I just cut the whole situation short, hopped into a cab with the 2 uncles hot on my heels........ literally.

Anyway in the cab i just boiled in sheer anger that I am treated like this.......... I mean wtf, limpeh worked my a** off for 4hrs and make sure everything was shot and covered properly and knn getting the old aunties to pose together and put on smiles for the camera, go fort caning park some more etc etc etc .............. and they only want to pay me $100 just becos I m from poly doing this parttime

Sebei tulan.............. I called back the groom to see how I will get paid......... bladdy guy kenna psycho by his uncles' 'logic' and now also
want me to accept $100 claiming that he thought that they would get 4R prints when I accepted the job at $200 when I VERY clearly remembered telling him that they would get a CD of all the images.

Wah lan my blood really boil like crazy now.

I got so pissed off and told him "Hey man!!! Nevermind, keep your farcking $100 !!!!!! I'm deleting all the images! BYE!" and re-formatted my CF card right there in the taxi.

It felt good at tat time

But now I feel sad because the couple lost their ROM pics (except those taken by their own relatives' and friends' cameras)

clap.gif
clap.gif
clap.gif

done well, have u our young jedi, hmm? strong indeed the Force in u runs...

this type of customers dun want also nevermind... kns, how can pull a fast one on u ON the day itself?? :dunno:

i read that there was this american father and son team of wedding photographers. the first thing the dad did was to get his son into the gym cuz if u're bigger in size, it's easier to handle the people/crowd. it worked. wise choice. =)
btw it was the son who wrote the article.

How about sending a cd with small photos full of water mark such as @#$%&^!*(@&#* and forget about the $200.

Just let them know what they have missed.....

righton said:
just reformat the cf card because of blind anger at that time

The images are backed into my portable image tank but really in no mood to even transact the deal with them anymore after going thru this indignity.... dun even feel like transferring it to my PC HDD

Anyway I think they oredi took stock of all the friends' and relatives' pocket P&S images and my guess is that their images cannot make it because the grooms mummy called me and apologized personally yesterday. ( thats why I just now relating my story here in CS).

Will likely cool down sufficiently by this weekend and settle with her (oredi told her tat the pics are safe and she promised me a 'give face' ang pow over the $200 fee)

I mean, I was really hoping that the groom will act as a mediator and tell me things like not to listen to these old uncles.... but he was like so utterly no-balls and kowtow to them all the way..... even had to get his mummy to call me to settle...... I honestly think his wife should re-consider if she has married a real man who is mature enuf to make the 'right justice' decisions. Really sad that his mum is more 'gentleman' than the men themselves.

I am only 1.61m short and 55kg with glasses and half way thru poly so u will know I'm in my very early 20s. But why are little bamboo poles like us at my age getting treated like this sometimes?

Knnbzzzz to think that I even went thru the trouble of ironing my own long sleeve shirt (my mum almost faint tat i even iron anything), put on my dad's tie and pair of leather dress shoes and groomed myself smartly and respectfully to show them respect at the occassion.

i salute you man :thumbsup: but don't keep the anger too long, not good for health.

i believe you will know how to deal with them after cooling down. all the best. :)

Please collect $100 and send them their photos.

Before you do so,crop off the head or legs first.Then become "bo kar bo qiu":bsmilie:
Wish them happy honeymoon also lor.:bsmilie:

That reminds me of my uncle who call prostitute and dun pay......

digital camera more expensive then film camera lor.Most models lah;p

As much as I sympathasize with you, I feel that it's extremely unprofessional to bitch about clients on a public forum (furthermore calling the groom's family uneducated gangsters), whether or not the client is in the wrong. Seems like you didn't even have a proper written contract with terms and conditions for your shoot? If you did, you could have at least taken legal action.

:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie: that's a good one!!! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: some pple really ai pee ai chgnee ai tua liap nee...
ndroo said:
For God's sake ... take the $100 and send them the CD

..... a blank CD though

My sympathies to your predicament. But sometimes the most memorable lessons in life are also the most painful. In this case, there is still another 'loophole' that may be opened -- your clients may dispute the quality of your pictures & still refuse to pay $200. Do take note of that. Suggest that you let the groom's mother preview the photos first, before handing over any CDs. Once both parties agree, then you guys transact.

Good luck!!

ho... relax.... tell them nicely mah...for $200, u already follow them around for 4 hours.. if they still want prints, whats there to earn from?? If they still think they need the prints, show them on a laptop first, print out 36 cheapo ones for them..... then resize all the pictures to a format which can view on PC only, cant print out ones... haha

give and take right? thats life.... they lost out in the end only...

GENO said:
ho... relax.... tell them nicely mah...for $200, u already follow them around for 4 hours.. if they still want prints, whats there to earn from?? If they still think they need the prints, show them on a laptop first, print out 36 cheapo ones for them..... then resize all the pictures to a format which can view on PC only, cant print out ones... haha

give and take right? thats life.... they lost out in the end only...

800 by 600?:think:

clarinet said:
800 by 600?:think:
640x480 lah.

I do hope that any photographer from CS will not suay suay become their oncoming wedding dinner photographer.

don't think you shld've deleted the photos, but then again you backed them up so good on you. if they don't want the photos then fine lah keep the photos for your portfolio, esp the good ones. it's their loss, not yours. it's 4 hrs of your time. it's the time of their lives for them, or at least the couple involved. :)

Throw the photos away. Don't return them. Don't bother. $ & payment is not the issue now, the issue is that you've been threatened, looked down and judged as unprofessional, your dignity is insulted and your professionalism degraded.

Throw the photos away, don't bother with them.

Nikonian Foo said:
That reminds me of my uncle who call prostitute and dun pay......

wowz, ha ha pls dun compare my situation to a hooker bro!

thoa_rs said:
As much as I sympathasize with you, I feel that it's extremely unprofessional to bitch about clients on a public forum (furthermore calling the groom's family uneducated gangsters), whether or not the client is in the wrong. Seems like you didn't even have a proper written contract with terms and conditions for your shoot? If you did, you could have at least taken legal action.

hi Jon, i think its not pro of me if i name names and post pics of the other party....I didnt do that. They tok like gangsters and oh did I mention that I called them uneducated too? so thus my opinion of them

i used to think no need to sign contract becaus the amount is so little, i dun have fax machine, few people have scanning and PDF file conversion and most importantly, I am not a registered business .... some of the prices (above) i pay for being a parttime freelance... and yes some important lessons I learn about people.

again i stress its the sheer indignity that i went thru in trying to earn an honest dollar..... and also the disappointment of how (despite being at the lower lifeform in the photog foodchain, I know where i stand.....for now) despite my position, i try to add value to my service (making preparations as best as i could to get the job done well and to the extent of dressing up nicely to show respect to the occassion and some post-shoot batch processing to 'brigten up' the images) but getting treated like this in d end. Apart from anger, I really felt betrayed.

I know I am one of those pariah photogs you guys always complain about because of the lowly niche we cover, but I think clients have to respect that relationship at least. Because if they do not, why shud I?

--------------