Fujifilm FinePix S8100fd

For the night shot:

ISO100. Focal Length: 4.7mm. Exposure Correction: -2.0. Aperture: F2.8. Shutter Speed: 1.1

For the clouds shot:
Aperture: F7.1. ISO64. Exposure Correction: 0. Shutter Speed: 1/450

like ur cloud shot... if next time gt opportunity, we go east coast shoot together.. I been wanting try panning shots at those fast cyclists and roller-bladers... :sweat:

Happening ah, my friend. Which KTV you went? *blink* *blink*

When we attended Cecil's post class practical, he did ask that we try out manual. I think in the first place gotta approximate what you see of the scene first. At my level, although I did take quite a few using M mode, I am not really comfortable in it yet.. and I don't think you should start your M practise in such dark places lor. You don't find too challenging meh?
wholesome family ktv lah :nono:
as for e M mode, i actually did play around with my camera
on all e diff modes, e mode tat pissed me off e biggest is e M mode.
cause all my pics come out black. challenging then got satisfaction
after i conquer it. just like when i was happy to capture tv images.

10 years is very good! Better transfer to another FD, alternatively RAID it.
lucky got back up external HDD else will cry like hell.

#1 : Don't know the name of this flower
#3: What is this insect?? I also don't know...
200708_-_East_Coast_Park_-_Insect_3_-_Resized.JPG

#5: It looks like it's going to rain...
200708_-_Block_View_3_2155_hrs_-_Resized.JPG

Alright, is it better to compress the pics or resized it?? or it doesnt even matter...

eww, anything that look like a cockroach even though it's not,
i'm tempted to crush it. but e going to rain shot is nice. bright colors at bottom
contrasted by darkness at e top... nice :thumbsup: it's like u captured e moment

manual isnt easy to shoot.. I feel... its abt getting e correct combination of ISO, shutter and apeture together yourself...compared to shutter or aperture priority where by u chosoe 1 factor, the camera den use "AHGARATION"(:plearn from parampita) to decide the other. Still, I feel manual shooting is the highest level of training...
damn right. before i only use auto mode on my 1st camera, at least
now i know other modes exist.

Thanks all for your reviews... at least it's a bit of improvement from my previous night shoots bah..

yup.. i must agree that taking pics with Manual mode can easily "demoralise" one's passion in taking pics.. it's either you try to master it or give it up totally...so i think for me, i will try it once i managed to master P.A.S...

Ken: I have this habit of taking clouds... was on ECP earlier.. and saw the clouds that looks real nice.. it's like the pic below (Taken previously from my trusty PnS Canon Ixus) Next time, i go there, i jio you lah..
270308_-_Nicol_Highway_-_Clouds_-_Resize.JPG

1st pic fri night, 2nd & 3rd pic sat afternoon

how u guys make yr pics so big? i tried but kept getting exceed size so i had to go shrink it ;(

Oi! You another one want to stress me out. Discuss discuss, I am not good enough to teach. Like kena 4D, sometimes get decent shots.

I use Varta 2000 and GP 2700. This set of GP not bad leh, can last quite long. Some more now NTUC buy 1 get 1 free. Nice!! Hee hee!

Friend, one hour already.. still waiting for your pics leh.

how much e GP 2700 selling? 4 pcs? longer lasting time
er can use e varta 15 min quick charger boh?

Thanks all for your reviews... at least it's a bit of improvement from my previous night shoots bah..

yup.. i must agree that taking pics with Manual mode can easily "demoralise" one's passion in taking pics.. it's either you try to master it or give it up totally...so i think for me, i will try it once i managed to master P.A.S...

Ken: I have this habit of taking clouds... was on ECP earlier.. and saw the clouds that looks real nice.. it's like the pic below (Taken previously from my trusty PnS Canon Ixus) Next time, i go there, i jio you lah..
270308_-_Nicol_Highway_-_Clouds_-_Resize.JPG

ok, ON! think we gt a common liking.. i love takin pictures of cloud and sky too...I love situations when either the clouds are big n puffy, very well distinguished from the blue sky or the clouds resemble some patterns or something tt is tellin a picture.

2008_0606NIGHT0017.JPG

this pic i took gives me the feeling of a "bird" on the top left hand corner
flyin out from an explosion :rolleyes:

2008_0606NIGHT0015.JPG

I am a sucker for "red sky" during sunset. The best sunset was the one I saw at narita airport was so rich, red and beautiful..:lovegrin:

#1 : Don't know the name of this flower
200708_-_East_Coast_Park_-_Flower_1_-_Resized.JPG

#2 : Doggie kinda cute!
200708_-_East_Coast_Park_Doggie_2_-_Resozed.JPG

#3: What is this insect?? I also don't know...
200708_-_East_Coast_Park_-_Insect_3_-_Resized.JPG

#4: Clouds..Clouds ... Clouds... The clouds seems to be moving to the tree direction...
200708_-_East_Coast_Park_5_-_Resized.JPG

#5: It looks like it's going to rain...
200708_-_Block_View_3_2155_hrs_-_Resized.JPG

Alright, is it better to compress the pics or resized it?? or it doesnt even matter...

I like em, especially the clouds!!!!! Nice! Even though I generally avoid 小强,the one in your pic is nice and colourful. And it also shows you can take macro also mah! The only diff is.. *ahem*.. you seem too resize until pic too small already.

As for resize vs compress, I did both and they pics still seem the same leh. Perhaps rezie is a better choice though cos can get any size you want.

HAHA... that 小强 pic was compressed one.. not resized.. that's why..think when resizing, you will know what is the appropriate size for the "eyes".....

so now my next target will be either the hort park or botanic gardens seeing on your insects pic makes want to go loh.. cos i loves macros.. so still mastering lah...

Clouds are my weakness... i can have lots of clouds pics.. and in fact if u ask 10 ppl what they see on the pics, 10 will tell you different things... it's amazing...

After I clicked Submit Reply on the last message, my PC went down. It cannot boot up already.. win32/config/system corrupted. Tried to recover but to no avail... sigh..

nice way to start a mon eh? work or home pc?

Of course it's home PC lah. If it's work PC, I wouldn't be so vexed about it. You leh? Your PC back in the pink of health already?

eh, tot i posted reply for my pc alridi? wah,
11+ still can use home pc? wah, u must be mgt lvl.... ;)

Hi Guys , any idea how much is the S8000 worth now? feel like moving into DLSRs already

Thank you all for your invites and generosity to try out your cams but this guy unfortunately lives on the other side of the very jammed bridge. If we are meeting for lunch, I might not get there till dinner and if the meeting was for dinner, I might not get there till the next day. Thanks anyway from JB.

Parampita
Sorry to hear about your pc. Hope it is nothing from JB. I often wander if we can get viruses through forums. Thank you for all your advice. What is the difference in cost between s8000fd and s8100fd? Is it worth it to pay difference? Thanks to all.

Thank you all for your invites and generosity to try out your cams but this guy unfortunately lives on the other side of the very jammed bridge. If we are meeting for lunch, I might not get there till dinner and if the meeting was for dinner, I might not get there till the next day. Thanks anyway from JB.

Parampita
Sorry to hear about your pc. Hope it is nothing from JB. I often wander if we can get viruses through forums. Thank you for all your advice. What is the difference in cost between s8000fd and s8100fd? Is it worth it to pay difference? Thanks to all.

JB ah? No worries, when ever you came to Singapore do look us up! Recent times Woodlands traffic cannot.. I don't stay near there, don't know the jam is a result of a search or a prelude to an ERP gantry.

The virus is called Windows. No need forum also can get one ;) The crash happens occasionally and in this case it's just going a tad deeper than usual only, can't boot up.

When I bought my S8000 last month, the price diff between the models was about SGD$210. Firstly I am on a budget, don't want to spend more than is necessary, also, I didn't see any review or comparison of IQ between the models but I do know both uses CCDs of the same size.. I chose the cheaper model.

Hi Guys , any idea how much is the S8000 worth now? feel like moving into DLSRs already

Keep the S8000 as a second cam lor. Which dSLR you aiming for? I am also looking around.

eh, tot i posted reply for my pc alridi? wah,
11+ still can use home pc? wah, u must be mgt lvl.... ;)

Now I know what u saying. My pre-crash message wasn't at 11+, it was last night at 3am+.