D700 Preview

One thing that makes me wonder though - who is the target market? Seems like there is no market for the D700 at all! at this price, I think most sensible people will either go for the D3, or the D300. Not something inbetween.

Unless of course, you tell me that the D3 is going to go out of production as soon as the D700 comes out together with the D3x :think:

You have to give it to the Marketing Dept in Japan and Internationally. They will not produce something without any market research and with no market demand.

By the end of this year the market will have more choice from Nikon in this segment ie. the Pro and Prosumer DSLR segment, which was very limited in the past as compared to Canon.

This will be the line up by end this year (for Prosumer and Pro DSLR)

D3X (assuming the nomclature is as that ;) )
D3
D700
D300

You will not see the end of production for D3 at all as it still has a place in this segment for awhile.

The rumoured D3X 24mp will aimed at the 1DS Mk3 market.
The D3 will be for the outdoor, sports and Journalist market (very much the same as the D1H and D2H type of market except pack more punch in mp, resolving power than the H series ie FF etc.)
The D700 is aimed at the 5D market ie. mainly the wedding photojournalist and serious hobbyist or "prosumer" who do not want to pay the price some of the features of a D3 but yet having FF and D3 type of sensor.
The D300 for the prosumer who feel there is no need for FF to produce great images.

D700 was quite a well kept secret(in terms of the nomenclature ie D700 not D300X or D400) until the leak.

Well lets hope that the Prizes for this http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4104066&postcount=1 (see serial no "I" ) can be "up sized" to D700 ;p :bsmilie:

Disclaimer: Just pure speculations and my own views. Nothing to being a Mod in this section etc etc etc :angel:

You have to give it to the Marketing Dept in Japan and Internationally. They will not produce something without any market research and with no market demand.

By the end of this year the market will have more choice from Nikon in this segment ie. the Pro and Prosumer DSLR segment, which was very limited in the past as compared to Canon.

D3
D700
D300

You will not see the end of production for D3 at all as it still has a place in this segment for awhile.

The D3 will be for the outdoor, sports and Journalist market (very much the same as the D1H and D2H type of market except pack more punch in mp, resolving power than the H series ie FF etc.)
The D700 is aimed at the 5D market ie. mainly the wedding photojournalist and serious hobbyist or "prosumer" who do not want to pay the price some of the features of a D3 but yet having FF and D3 type of sensor.
The D300 for the prosumer who feel there is no need for FF to produce great images.

D700 was quite a well kept secret(in terms of the nomenclature ie D700 not D300X or D400) until the leak.

Well lets hope that the Prizes for this http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4104066&postcount=1 (see serial no "I" ) can be "up sized" to D700 ;p :bsmilie:

Disclaimer: Just pure speculations and my own views. Nothing to being a Mod in this section etc etc etc :angel:

urs most likely is not speculation lor! :bsmilie:

D3
D700
D300

The D700 is aimed there but I wonder if the market will bite. For working professionals I doubt they will go for the in-between D700.

If the rumours are real, the D700 is a dumbed-down D3 to me. And a feature that the D300 has are not present eg frame rate. So just using this feature, a photographer has these options in the following price order (most expensive at top, cheapest at bottom)

1. High FPS, FX
2. Low FPS, FX
3. Same as 1, DX

Maybe it is just me but I would buy 3 and 1 anytime. If I needed DX, I would buy 3. If I needed the FX, I would jump straight to 1 and bypass 2. 2 is just not on my list.

If I can afford a D700 I can afford to pay a little extra for features in the D3. But if I can afford a D300, I won't pay the large amount more for a FX sensor.

IMHO.

now assuming if the price is in this order for all the Nikon models discussed:

D3 - $6,400 ( current value )
( price gap here $2,303 vs the D700 )

D700 - USD $2,999
( assuming this is so. then the price in SGD is $4097 gst don't know if inclusive yet. )
( price gap here $1,747 vs D300 )

D300 - $2,350 ( current value )

Gap between D3 & D300 ( $4,050 )
Gap between D700 & D300 ( $1,747 )

A D300 upgrader will really know how much $4,050 diiference to top up feels... if they really wanna get the D3:sweat:

the figures & maths are obvious......this is when buying power comes to play.

Obviously it is about buying power more than anything else.

Relevant cases similiar to these marketing methods & segmentation have already been played by bigger players in Europe.

Look at BMW;

you have $290K, you get 7 series
you have $170K, you get 5 series
you have $135K, you get 3 series
you have $115K, you get 1 series

you have $6,400.......no need to talk liao lah.....get the D3 but still take BMW!
( B-bus / M-MRT / W-walk )

still can happily shoot through these journey.....:bsmilie::bsmilie:

Your honour, I rest my case :thumbsup:

The D700 is aimed there but I wonder if the market will bite. For working professionals I doubt they will go for the in-between D700.

If the rumours are real, the D700 is a dumbed-down D3 to me. And a feature that the D300 has are not present eg frame rate. So just using this feature, a photographer has these options in the following price order (most expensive at top, cheapest at bottom)

1. High FPS, FX
2. Low FPS, FX
3. Same as 1, DX

Maybe it is just me but I would buy 3 and 1 anytime. If I needed DX, I would buy 3. If I needed the FX, I would jump straight to 1 and bypass 2. 2 is just not on my list.

If I can afford a D700 I can afford to pay a little extra for features in the D3. But if I can afford a D300, I won't pay the large amount more for a FX sensor.

IMHO.

You are quite correct, but you are thinking in terms of one camera only. A pro will usually use 2 cameras, which will lead to the question of which combo will work.

I have difficulty imagining a D3 and D700 paired up. D3+D3 is also too much, IMO. D700 and D300 is weird to me.
And for the price of a D700 you can buy 2 D300s with $500 top up, which I think makes alot of business sense.

Anyway I rest my case too. I don't doubt that there will be hobbyists who will buy the D700. I only wish Nikon starts catering to the lenses section. (And to heck with a SB-900.. what more out out of a SB-800 can you squeeze?!)

now assuming if the price is in this order for all the Nikon models discussed:

D3 - $6,400 ( current value )
( price gap here $2,303 vs the D700 )

D700 - USD $2,999
( assuming this is so. then the price in SGD is $4097 gst don't know if inclusive yet. )
( price gap here $1,747 vs D300 )

D300 - $2,350 ( current value )

Gap between D3 & D300 ( $4,050 )
Gap between D700 & D300 ( $1,747 )

A D300 upgrader will really know how much $4,050 diiference to top up feels... if they really wanna get the D3:sweat:

the figures & maths are obvious......this is when buying power comes to play.

Obviously it is about buying power more than anything else.

Relevant cases similiar to these marketing methods & segmentation have already been played by bigger players in Europe.

Look at BMW;

you have $290K, you get 7 series
you have $170K, you get 5 series
you have $135K, you get 3 series
you have $115K, you get 1 series

you have $6,400.......no need to talk liao lah.....get the D3 but still take BMW!
( B-bus / M-MRT / W-walk )

still can happily shoot through these journey.....:bsmilie::bsmilie:

Your honour, I rest my case :thumbsup:

D3
D700
D300

Finally, the one I absolutely respect has spoken. :D

You are quite correct, but you are thinking in terms of one camera only. A pro will usually use 2 cameras, which will lead to the question of which combo will work.

I have difficulty imagining a D3 and D700 paired up. D3+D3 is also too much, IMO. D700 and D300 is weird to me.
And for the price of a D700 you can buy 2 D300s with $500 top up, which I think makes alot of business sense.

Anyway I rest my case too. I don't doubt that there will be hobbyists who will buy the D700. I only wish Nikon starts catering to the lenses section. (And to heck with a SB-900.. what more out out of a SB-800 can you squeeze?!)

For me by the end the year D3X and a D700 will serve all my needs till then :)

In the interim, the D3 and D200 are my workhorse and back up.

News from Germany: Nikon D700 and SB900 in ProfiFoto magazine

A reader just posted the following comment:

D700: D3-Sensor, AF-Module but no phone/speaker, only 95% viewer, 200-6400ISO, 5FPS (8 with MB-D10), pop-up-flash (power 11), dust-removal on sensor, EN-EL3e, 1076g, fsync 1/250, 1/8000-30s, one CF-Slot, grid in viewer optional, virtual horizon, little less fast to D3. Compatible to WT-4.

SB900: 17-200mm (14mm) on FX. Reacts on DX/FX-effective focal length. Three illumination modes: standard, even, midconcentrated. Firmwareupdate via camera-CF. Overheat-deactivation. Reads and communicates gels to camera for WB. Handling by central turning wheel.

prices: D700 @ 2.599EUR, SB900 @ 500EUR

I only wish Nikon starts catering to the lenses section. (And to heck with a SB-900.. what more out out of a SB-800 can you squeeze?!)

there should be 4 - 6 new lens. sb900 is more versatile.

Looks like for those on quantum have to wait awhile for the connecting cable, cos the SB900 connection is different from the SB 800 :(

Have to wait and see if SB900 has any marked advantage from the SB800. :think:

News from Germany: Nikon D700 and SB900 in ProfiFoto magazine

D700: D3-Sensor, AF-Module but no phone/speaker, only 95% viewer, 200-6400ISO, 5FPS (8 with MB-D10), pop-up-flash (power 11), dust-removal on sensor, EN-EL3e, 1076g, fsync 1/250, 1/8000-30s, one CF-Slot, grid in viewer optional, virtual horizon, little less fast to D3. Compatible to WT-4.

If true, this will be a big turn-off for me.

not oni that...others model will come out as well...D90, D3X

refer to the same link above...
: