Countdown for the coming Nikon cam

hmmm...perhaps one 10.2MP 5fps, plus 6MP 8fps High Speed Crop with 2x focal length multiflier?

Paul_Yeo said:
devalue dun matter to me as i dun intend to sell it anyway. hee

i dun need to take advantage of the improvement of sensor ... i intend to use my little cam until it is spoilt. hee..... even if the latest technology has iso256,000 what cam10000, 1000AF point, 1000 fps, hee. dun really matter to me

i already out of the technology race liao. :embrass:

i am in the shoot-and-enjoy fun time :angel:

You might find battery replacements a problem unless you stock up now.

if indeed it is a D70 replacement, my guess is that it will be named D90 instead of D80
so far all consumer cameras are odd numbered D50 D70 -> D90

apart from the MP increase, I am hoping for a D200 viewfinder
and a lower iso setting instead of starting at iso 200.
Faster AF, better noise control at higher ISO

I can do without the battery draining huge and beautiful LCD.

ortega said:
if indeed it is a D70 replacement, my guess is that it will be named D90 instead of D80
so far all consumer cameras are odd numbered D50 D70 -> D90

apart from the MP increase, I am hoping for a D200 viewfinder
and a lower iso setting instead of starting at iso 200.
Faster AF, better noise control at higher ISO

I can do without the battery draining huge and beautiful LCD.

True. Dun think it will be called D80. Cos after D80 will be D90, then D100???:dunno:

Henessy said:
True. Dun think it will be called D80. Cos after D80 will be D90, then D100???:dunno:
May be still a D80.
See this link if you can read chinese.. Sorry for this comment.. ;p dunno yr race mah..
http://www.enet.com.cn/article/2006/0718/A20060718137969.shtml
最近尼康单反机型大幅度降价,有消息传来,这是尼康为新推出抢占市场机型让路的举动,新机型也让大家更为关注。最近有小道消息传来,……
  尼康将有2款新机推出,一款是D70S的升级版,机身性能好于D70S,1000万像素,采用D200的对焦系统,可以安装手柄。
  另一款是入门级的D40,机身更便宜,估计是为了实现将入门DSLR售价降到300美金所迈出的有力一步。当然要达到这个目标肯定不是一步走成,大家也不要奢望尼康会将D40定位在2500元左右,合理的价格我估计是4000。

its gonna be... called... D80, unless something drastic happened and they decide to call it D88.

cam1000, 10.2mp sony sensor
no batt grip
no magnesium alloy body..
'exciting' battery life, ENEL3e.

cam1000 will be the standard AF system, after the cam900. cam2000 and up will be the 'plofresnel' system.

3D color matrix metering 2 or watever the latest one la, found in D200 la. same same.

a whole lot of chunks like D200 but a stripped down version. no metering with ai, ais, lensbaby lenses.. etc.

its not to replace D70s but to compliment it. no new kit lens.
its main aim is a direct rival to Sony's Alpha.

all speculations!! all of them!!! :bsmilie: let us all speculate!!!

yes, *** is the inspiration.

Henessy said:

number is unlimted leh. can be D80.1 D80.2 D80.3 D80.4 ..... D80.1000 :sticktong

Cheesecake said:
its not to replace D70s but to compliment it. no new kit lens.
its main aim is a direct rival to Sony's Alpha.
Nikon need not have fought so hard. Handled the A100 today at the Marina roadshow (office near by). Interesting but can't stand the interface. My opinion (don't like it? too bad): between a D50 and D70s if you exclude SSS and MP count (and someone had said that anything more than 5MP is a "who cares" ;) ).

Why? Too light (545g w/o batt), 1 control dial on the front. 1/160 for flash sync, 6 RAW shots buffer. AF 1 full eV less sensative than D70 on the dim side, 2 eV on the bright side (A100: 1-18eV, D70: 0-20eV).

Watcher said:
Nikon need not have fought so hard. Handled the A100 today at the Marina roadshow (office near by). Interesting but can't stand the interface. My opinion (don't like it? too bad): between a D50 and D70s if you exclude SSS and MP count (and someone had said that anything more than 5MP is a "who cares" ;) ).

Why? Too light (545g w/o batt), 1 control dial on the front. 1/160 for flash sync, 6 RAW shots buffer. AF 1 full eV less sensative than D70 on the dim side, 2 eV on the bright side (A100: 1-18eV, D70: 0-20eV).
i heard they are gonna bundle it with lens, cards... the whole works..:bigeyes:

jus thought it would be a really good buy for ppl who are starting out.

oh, and bad news to those hoping to get D200 on the cheap. the price will not drop much becos D80 isn't quite the same as the D200.

D80 will be priced to rival the Sony Alpha..

all speculations!!!!:sweat:

all speculations on my part la...

dun pm me ... :sweat:

anyway more news will be made known to us, the general public over the next few days.
expect good pricing on D80.:thumbsup: ready to BBB!!!

Cheesecake said:
all speculations on my part la...

dun pm me ... :sweat:

anyway more news will be made known to us, the general public over the next few days.
expect good pricing on D80.:thumbsup: ready to BBB!!!

So now 18 days to go. And still tonnes of speculations as to what it is called, how much it is and most of all, what are we getting that is better than the D70s, but less than the D200.

I guess the price diff between the D200 and this cam has got to be Significant. If not, just go and pick a D200 and you got a great cam immediately. For the new cam, you will have to wait like a month or two or even 3......

smallaperture said:
So now 18 days to go. And still tonnes of speculations as to what it is called, how much it is and most of all, what are we getting that is better than the D70s, but less than the D200.

I guess the price diff between the D200 and this cam has got to be Significant. If not, just go and pick a D200 and you got a great cam immediately. For the new cam, you will have to wait like a month or two or even 3......

wait, got latest speculation. it is oso called D20!! wahahaha this is so far-fetched!
20D and D20! :bsmilie:

expect below S$2k.:thumbsup:

Incastasman said:
:think: hmmm how abt D24?? :bsmilie:

I wonder will it be sweet or bitter sweet..... :bsmilie:

Cheesecake said:
i heard they are gonna bundle it with lens, cards... the whole works..:bigeyes:

jus thought it would be a really good buy for ppl who are starting out.

all speculations!!!!:sweat:
Sony is really sounding their warm drum! wooohoooo!

Cheesecake said:
Sony is really sounding their warm drum! wooohoooo!

If got Steady-shot, it is gonna to be an immense winner. But, it would be called VRs - Vibration Reduction (special) ;p ;) :bsmilie:

If it comes with VR, i think it would be sweet. To compete with A100, Nikon need to give nikonian a bit more. Sony really spoilt the market with 1499 price tag, now it is up to Canon and Nikon to counterstrike, fast.