[ closed ] Olympus Announces its latest Micro4/3 camera and lenses - OM-D

Maybe we should all email oly sg to ask if they will be matching this... before they decide on policies, still got time to sway them

http://www.shopatolympus.com.sg/contacts

PS, I just did it, said that Oly UK did this to celebrate the worldwide 40th anniversary of the OM system... Will Oly Sg be doing this too... Also gave them the link to this article. Thanks!

You should check how much they are asking for for the new camera ...

GBP 1149 with 12-50 kit
:-)

Are you from Olympus? We are trying to get the best deal here :-)

if no free grip i dun buy liao

Then don't buy liao. It's not the best looking cam anyway (only look ok from the front, if you don't look at the big hump. The other views just look not that fancy) :D

ok thanks. btw, what do u think of this camera vs my Nex5?

Never used Nex5, but I think this one at least looks better than Nex5, especially with lens mounted.

We would love to tell you, but unfortunately there are no sample photographs or tests out yet. Everything else- usability, EVF, looks, weather-sealing, you can see for yourself from the specs...

GBP 1149 with 12-50 kit

That's expensive isn't it? RRP for body only in US is US$999 which is about about GBP635. So have to fork out another GBP514 for the kit lens, or roughly SG$1000! No wonder they are bundling the "free" grip in the UK.

how is this camera compared to my NEX5? thanks.

Superior lens selection? Looking at the Sony nex's new lens road map, better to stay away. Better jpeg engine? Better built? Looks better? Smaller lens? Faster AF?

The NEX5 was the second mirrorless camera with the APS-C sensor following Samsung's NX series. Now we have the Pentax k-01 as well so it's nice to finally have variety.

It should still produce superior image quality in terms of dynamic range and noise compared to the 4/3rds sensor by virtue of being larger in size. Not that the 4/3rds sensor is bad. Actually Olympus has done really well to make 4/3rds technology a compelling alternative to APS-C, but they still seem to lag ever so slightly in terms of dynamic range. I am a big fan of dynamic range.

If any of you guys have had the opportunity to shoot with a Fuji S3 Pro you may notice how much more colour shades the camera seemed to capture - 13EV of dynamic range ftw on an APS-C sensor.

The NEX5 is really low on features like buttons, wheels and a flash. But you can still manage I suppose.

I think NEX5's real Archille's heel is lens options. The kit lens is average at best, and the kit prime I recall not very good. With good lenses the NEX should do well though. Hope for better lenses and you can still shoot with the best of them.

For me I think the best balance is M43, APS-C mirrorless may have small bodies too but their lenses are going to be too big.

Accessories

Small flash unit
flash_FL-LM2.jpg
Just wondering, is this flash same as the one used in EPL3? also interested to see the bottom of the handgrip if don't use the battery grip is it sealed? I mean there are 2 piece grip, say I only use the single piece without the battery/vertical grip portion, are there holes exposed to the elements?

hanz170 said:
Just wondering, is this flash same as the one used in EPL3? also interested to see the bottom of the handgrip if don't use the battery grip is it sealed? I mean there are 2 piece grip, say I only use the single piece without the battery/vertical grip portion, are there holes exposed to the elements?

Not the same. This new flash is weather-sealed like the body.

How's this for a combo? ;p

14.jpg

alamak said:

This would b my fav setup. its just gets better looking by the day:)

14.jpg

Oh dear...so nice! Looks mean!!! In fact, at first, I thought it was the old OM camera in black....looks very real retro.

This one looks so "transformer" like....very industrial...Question is how would a black lens look on the silver body?

Thanks for posting these shots. Very helpful.

Not the same. This new flash is weather-sealed like the body.

This is a world first also, isn't it? A weather-sealed hotshoe flash unit? Just wish the FL600R is also weather sealed.