Christmas Super Deals on K5 - $12xx from Shops Now!

May I know the model of canon and nikon which is compared the the k-5?

Its the D7K; D60; D7K.
Its not as exact as you'd think, cause Pentax has only 2 DSLR models; and the other 2 have a spread of 3-4 models.
So a K5 is Pentax's highest end model, while in theory the D7K sits below their D300 and FF D700, D3s series.
7D is the highest APS-C model for Canon ATM, and D60 sits somewhere below it.

Hi, everyone:
Just want to check, when you buy your camera body, did you check the "bad pixel" in the shop or bring back then check? If the body has bad pixel, would they exchange for me?

New user...

You don't need to. The bad pixels can be mapped out in the menu.
Bad pixels will develop on any brand camera (imagine 16million pixels for it to o 'bad') over time.
But the good thing with K5 is that you can map it out yourself via the menu.
Some of the others, you need to go to the service center to have it done. ;)

You don't need to. The bad pixels can be mapped out in the menu.
Bad pixels will develop on any brand camera (imagine 16million pixels for it to o 'bad') over time.
But the good thing with K5 is that you can map it out yourself via the menu.
Some of the others, you need to go to the service center to have it done. ;)

From one professor, he said "You can only map it out in JPEG format. In RAW format, the bad poxel still have and RAW format is common used in DSLR..." A little bit scare, hehe~~
Anyway, thx for your help! Btw, Pentax have service center in Singapore, right?

bigturbo said:
It's d7000 and supposedly 60d...7d uses an earlier generation sensor

7D and 60D have the same sensor.

your facts is wrong.

k-5 same s nikon d7000 not 60D

the only good thing about the 60D is the articulate screen.. image quality and etc, performance is a notch below the 2 mentioned beasts.

K-5 > D7000 > 60D

Frontiers said:
your facts is wrong.

k-5 same s nikon d7000 not 60D

lol, what has the D7000 to do with the Canons?

Frontiers said:
no idea leh. u r talkin about sensor size ma.

they are different.

I didn't talk about sensor size and I didn't even mention the D7000, I was talking about the 7D and the 60D sensors.

I didn't talk about sensor size and I didn't even mention the D7000, I was talking about the 7D and the 60D.

haha apologize. i misread :)

7D uses 2xpro where 60d is 1

haha paiseh.

i think you mean 7D use 2 processors while 60D have one...

is it worth to get the bundled deal with 18-135WR standard kit or just the body?

or should i go for a 3rd party lens?

i'm a newbie with no lens to start with

is it worth to get the bundled deal with 18-135WR standard kit or just the body?

bundle it coz is pretty worth it.

but if budget,

get the K-5 body + 18-55mm DAL lens ($60) for temp usage

local price for kit with 18-135 is overpriced imho. body no stock islandwide tho. i m pulling hair out, if no stock by feb im going with something else haha.

why is the lens overpriced?
imho: u can always buy e kit n sell e lens off.

i think the bigger problem is no stock rather than uncompetitive price. the K5 is has very good price:performance ratio. compared to the competing DSLRs in the same range, its very good value for money.

if u dun like the 18-135, buy with 18-55WR lor...

i think the bigger problem is no stock rather than uncompetitive price. the K5 is has very good price:performance ratio. compared to the competing DSLRs in the same range, its very good value for money.

if u dun like the 18-135, buy with 18-55WR lor...

U dun like 18-135 can buy whole set then GIMME the 18-135 la

The K5 + DA18-135 combo is a great combination. I have used the K5 with DA*16-50 F2.8 and the DA18-135 and both give me great results. I got the DA18-135 in June 2011 and used it with my K7 and I do get great results with the combination too.

Comparing the combo with the other brands, Pentax is still the most value for money brand.

Depends on what you shoot and your shooting style. You can buy the K5 with DA18-55WR or with DA18-135WR. Cheaper zooms are the Tamron 17-50 F2.8, the Sigma 17-50 F2.8 and the Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.0

Why not buy with the DA18-55WR first and once you know what your shooting style is, upgrade your lenses to others.

Depends on what you shoot and your shooting style. You can buy the K5 with DA18-55WR or with DA18-135WR. Cheaper zooms are the Tamron 17-50 F2.8, the Sigma 17-50 F2.8 and the Sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.0

Why not buy with the DA18-55WR first and once you know what your shooting style is, upgrade your lenses to others.

seldom see stores hv stocks for 18-55 with k5.

i m willin to take e 18-135 off anyone hands @ $500 :)

seldom see stores hv stocks for 18-55 with k5.

i m willin to take e 18-135 off anyone hands @ $500 :)

not sure abt seeing... its always better to call and ask.

as for the 18-135, u can always post a WTB and see if u can close with anyone for that price... no harm trying right?

the $19XX with 18-135 is a major turn off imho. body is almost a steal at $12XX, i was planning to pair it with a nice tamron 17-50. Another alternative i'm looking at is shipping the body from china via my contact who goes there monthly. SGD11XX with sd card and a couple of neat gifts, plus warranty in china for 2-5 years depending on the distro/shop heck i think i'll do that local stores don't seem very much interested in selling it anyway these days. there's no stock for the kit with 18-55 in case anyone's interested too. AP, SLRR, OP all state they don't know when stocks will come in. Anyway i guess im to blame also for taking so long to make up my mind.