Canon User Group (CUG)

alamak for me too ! Can't you guys arrange it on Sat or Sun ?

restricting to canon users will be preaching to the converted
openly invite users of other brands :)
there is no need for the [my brand is better than yours] stuff
that is for 15 year old adolescent kids
other brand users can discuss and understand why you think
a certain camera is good.

we are humans. cameras are merely tools.
we humans use tools to create things, in this case photos.
do not let the tool's brand define the human.
some of us identify too closely to the brand
when someone says some aspect of that brand is no good, wah! war breaks out :bsmilie:
extreme reaction. no need lah.
use everything that is good. whatever the brand.
there are some good things in every brand.

but also don't be afraid to say why you think something is lousy sensibly without calling people names
once you are afraid to voice your opinion, you are already half-dead.

ya true loh, the other group i often go to have users who owns other cameras come in to chit chat as well....

and if limiting to only canon camera user, then guess i have no choice but to throw away all my canon stuffs liao... canon scanner, printer, etc....

:what:

Well... I find the NUG pretty friendly bunch... ;) .. me canon user as well...

It need not be an exclusive to Canon users, how else will other users know whether Canon products are good if there is no place where they can go see and find out more from Canon users??

Anyway I won't be able to attend the first gathering, so hope that there will be a fruitful discussion.

my 2 cents worth ... everyone has a free choice ... if you dun think that e purpose of the group is to your liking, either start a new group or dun join ... think that we should respect the thread starter's intention to create some buzz amongst the Canon users ...

Personally, I would prefer a Canon-only gathering where I can pick up some more info regarding Canon-related eqpm or the like ... I can always pop into Club-snap for general enquires ... :)

As far as the gathering is concern, it is for Canon users to get together to know each other for peer support. I doubt the purpose of this gathering is to "convert" anyone. This gathering is to develop a self-help Canon community and also for the Digital Lab as a proxy for Canon to be in the ground with their customers.

no the group should be for canon users only otherwise might as well call it any tom/dick/harry group ie the word "CANON" in the name of the group is not there for nothing

quekky said:
ya true loh, the other group i often go to have users who owns other cameras come in to chit chat as well....

and if limiting to only canon camera user, then guess i have no choice but to throw away all my canon stuffs liao... canon scanner, printer, etc....

:what:

Bro,

Let me know where you going to throw ? :bsmilie:

Friday nite 7pm,should not be a problem.So ,where is the meeting place cos later I need to fetch my wife after work.

user111 said:
no the group should be for canon users only otherwise might as well call it any tom/dick/harry group ie the word "CANON" in the name of the group is not there for nothing
I'm not sure if u're dying for a hail of bullets, but if u are, tell me, I'll gladly send a hail to u... All headshots.

jsbn said:
I'm not sure if u're dying for a hail of bullets, but if u are, tell me, I'll gladly send a hail to u... All headshots.

huh :think:

Signs of stress showing. :D

paradigm said:
my 2 cents worth ... everyone has a free choice ... if you dun think that e purpose of the group is to your liking, either start a new group or dun join ... think that we should respect the thread starter's intention to create some buzz amongst the Canon users ...

Personally, I would prefer a Canon-only gathering where I can pick up some more info regarding Canon-related eqpm or the like ... I can always pop into Club-snap for general enquires ... :)

Precisely, there are already so many user group outings organised by respective brands. We even have NUG and SEED for example. Hence, what's the point of forming another group if this group does the same thing as others. Simply a waste of time, right? Therefore, having this newly created group should be strictly meant for Canon Users. I am not discriminating other brand users but you all must understand its objective(s). If you want to learn photography for example, you can always join SEED or NUG or even other outings initialed by fellow Clubsnappers. Right from the start, we know that we will not get 100% positive repsonses, so if you don't like such arrangement, etc, you can always joing other outings. There are so many of them, you know. This is not compulsory.

TechMage said:
As far as the gathering is concern, it is for Canon users to get together to know each other for peer support. I doubt the purpose of this gathering is to "convert" anyone. This gathering is to develop a self-help Canon community and also for the Digital Lab as a proxy for Canon to be in the ground with their customers.

There is no need to 'Convert' anyone. Canon products speak for themselves. If they are good, they are good. There is no need spread Buy Buy Buy virus.

user111 said:

I am glad that you have seen the light. If this new group is not different from others, then what's the point of creating it. Might as well stick to exisitng outings. We Canonians must be dare to differ.

I think you should be more specific about the equipment requirements.

"Canon users only" is quite vague. Does it mean that a person must use nothing but Canon equpment before he can join the group? How about someone using 300D with a Sigma lens and Vivitar flash? Where do you draw the line?

If someone can join the group as long as he uses at least 1 piece of Canon equipment, then can someone join if he uses the Canon 250D close-up filter but everything else in his system is non-Canon? How about if someone owns a Nikon system but wears a Canon vest?

What about if someone owns more than one camera system and not all are Canon systems? Can he be allowed to attend and if so, must he bring along only the Canon system to attend the gathering?

How about limiting the class of Canon equipment? Can someone using a Canon P&S join the group, or must he own a Canon SLR?

Even though it should be obvious that this group is suppose to talk about photography, but let's not take chances. Can someone join if he owns a Canon photo printer? How about Canon film scanner?

I think it is important for you to spell out the entry requirements and rules and guidelines for the group clearly otherwise there will be confusion and possibily unecessary argument as to whether or not a person with only partial Canon equipment in his system can join or not.

The basic question is - what is the definition of a Canonian? If this is not clearly defined then it is difficult to "dare to differ" because one would not now for sure if he or she should "dare to differ". So I suggest you use the following questions to help define a Canonian:

- What type of Canon equipment must a Canonian own or use?
- What type of non-Canon equipment must a Canonian not own or use?

Just my 2 cents. I hope this contributes in some way to the success of the Canon-only user group.

Hrm.... pardon me, but since when the canon users become so particular about brands? Unlike the N..., Isn''t it born in Canonians to be humble and always stay low? ;p

Irregardless of whatever decision that you guys make....

There will always be a BUY BUY BUY Virus.

agape01 said:
Irregardless of whatever decision that you guys make....

There will always be a BUY BUY BUY Virus.
SELL SELL SELL

As far as I'm concerned, a user group is usually set up to faciliate those that do not know much abt it system and thus people within that group can help by sharing info etc etc etc to better use of their equipments.

The question now lies with it is.. what define us as being able to join? I rather those that have problems with their system to just speak up or join SEED.