Canon User Group (CUG)

I remembered... when Nikon Council/Nikon User Group started out, a lot of Canon users jeered saying that we (NC/NUG) spend time wanking, brand bashing and that we're wasting time not shooting by sitting down.

Also remembered Canon users claim they shoot more than they sit around to talk.

So why the sudden interest for a User Group? :dunno:

*smirk*

u sure they are the same canon users?

varf said:
u sure they are the same canon users?
Do you differentiate me/NUG different from other Nikon users? I guess not.

I remembered... when Nikon Council/Nikon User Group started out, a lot of Canon users jeered saying that we (NC/NUG) spend time wanking, brand bashing and that we're wasting time not shooting by sitting down.

Also remembered Canon users claim they shoot more than they sit around to talk.

So why the sudden interest for a User Group? :dunno:

*smirk*

Hi espn.

Even though I as a Canon user (not speaking in the capacity of a Mod) may not be in favour for the forming of CUG or whatsoever, I do not appreciate you to come here to make unnecessary, sweeping remarks as such (now speaking as a Mod).

Please let it go ... let the guys here figure it out.

Hi, don't know whether is it right to say it. If i have said something worng, pls accept my appologies.

Can Nikon/Fuji/KM or whatever camera users, but are canon printers/scanners users join this? haha.. just trying to act cute here. ( I know not very cute lah):bsmilie:

Do you differentiate me/NUG different from other Nikon users? I guess not.

:dunno: what does that have to do with anything? i don't stereotype XX-brand camera users with XX-type behaviour, so don't jump to conclusions. :nono:

dsky said:
Hi, don't know whether is it right to say it. If i have said something worng, pls accept my appologies.

Can Nikon/Fuji/KM or whatever camera users, but are canon printers/scanners users join this? haha.. just trying to act cute here. ( I know not very cute lah):bsmilie:

Techmage earlier post did say that CDL does welcome more than canon's photog only.

I dun understand why ppl keep thinking this is exclusive. :dunno: :dunno: Darren have aptly summarised the objectives and the concerns.

While I do not know if Canon users in general shoot more than Nikon users, I do know that there are people who posts more than others (hint: look at the number of posts).

Does shooting more means better picture/photographer? Or shooting less lousier picture/photographer? I think I shoot very little and also a lousy cameraman, so which is which?

CYRN cool down.... Still remember me? :)

hey guys... relax....

btw, wanted to go for the CDL invitation on 6 of May but will be overseas...
guess just have to wait for the next one.. hehe

theITguy said:
CYRN cool down.... Still remember me? :)

yup I remember u and your JBP slides... got more to show? especially after the few 36frames @ 50mm outings. ;p

I'm cool, juz quite fustrated trying to steer the thread clear of the "concerns" Darren mentioned... some post here are not exactly helpful and are self defeating for the cause and purpose of forming this group. :flush: It seemed that some minds are set in concerete :(

dsky said:

seriously...just come. i dont think usm will stand at the door and demand you display a canon dslr before admitting you. :sweatsm:

Adam Goi said:
Hi espn.

Even though I as a Canon user (not speaking in the capacity of a Mod) may not be in favour for the forming of CUG or whatsoever, I do not appreciate you to come here to make unnecessary, sweeping remarks as such (now speaking as a Mod).

Please let it go ... let the guys here figure it out.

In that case, please tell your fellow moderator the same thing.

togu said:
Unlike the N..., Isn''t it born in Canonians to be humble and always stay low?
Please don't use the excuse that it was spoken as a member, especially in such a touchy subject. Expectation of prefects or policemen are higher regardless if they are in or out of uniform.

varf said:
:dunno: what does that have to do with anything? i don't stereotype XX-brand camera users with XX-type behaviour, so don't jump to conclusions. :nono:
I do agree. But well, see post #138...

Watcher said:
In that case, please tell your fellow moderator the same thing.

Please don't use the excuse that it was spoken as a member, especially in such a touchy subject. Expectation of prefects or policemen are higher regardless if they are in or out of uniform.

First of all, please note that I'm not the moderator of the Canon forum. And no, it's not an excuse, but I AM just a ordinary member in here. So please feel free to put your high expectation on anyone else except me. As a canon user, I don't see why I can't post in the canon forum like anyone else.

Anyway, I can't help it if you fail to understand what my ;p face in the earlier post meant.

If my earlier posts sounds offensive to anyone, please report it to the Canon moderator and get it removed.

Man... i dun get it.. whats e big fuss all about?
why are some pp so "fixated" on the canon user thingy...? a specific group has its advantages and of cse the disadvantages and all, a canon group gathering would help to foster bonds and friendship (maybe can also borrow each other's lenses) :bsmilie: share knowledge and all.

so whats e big fuss anyway? the date is set, the location is firmed. those who wanna join in, just come. those who dun feel like coming, just don't lo. :) dun see why we are still debating on this stuff... and like mentioned somewhere in the previous posts, i dun think there be be someone who will guard the door and only allow canon cameras users into it right? :bsmilie:

lets just get on with it already~

Hi All,

Frankly speaking, while I do not see the need for a so called "CUG", but I don't object to the idea of having one, either. If the main objective is purely a sharing session to share tips and exchange ideas on how to optimize using your gear, or ask questions related to choice of gear etc., I think its alright to have such a user group. I just hope that these sessions do not generate an "elitist" attitude among attendees that their brand is the best etc. Lets all have an open mind. Also, welcoming other brand name users would be great, as long as they are interested to learn/share more about Canon photographic products.

And users of other brands, please don't come here to imply that C-users have passed negative comments about other brand user groups. You have your own user group(s) to indulge in, so why so concerned over whether we have one or not? :dunno: Everyone has freedom to form a group, whether you like it or not.

This refers to everyone across the board and not just the Canon Sub-Fourm

Honestly, stop it.

A handful of you here seem to have forgotten that the only reason why such groups are even sprouting out in the first place is due to the existance of Clubsnap.

No doubt each and everyone else here might have met up on other forums but thus far, Clubsnap has provided a reliable platform for every member to communicate, share, discuss and learn from each other. I dare say that there are a small handful of members here beginning to take Clubsnap for granted and treat it as their personal playground.

It must be pointed out that there are users here who are blatantly go against the grain and the spirit of this forum by choosing to post pointless, sarcastic and un-necessary remarks. For reasons known only to themselves, they seem to enjoy antagonising fellow members or users of a different brand/model.

And when asked nicely to refrain from doing so, these members would ask why is someone else doing it and they are not allowed to do so. I view this as being absurd and childish. This mentality of "I'm doing it because someone else has done it" isn't going to help this forum grow. All of you have seen how other forums are degenerating and members are being drawn into petty flamewars. I'm proud to say that Clubsnap has yet to become like that but over time, it might.

So, one way or another, a line has to be drawn somewhere. We simply cannot allow a slow denegeration to take place and have this forum fester until it starts to rot.

If an example has to be made out of the most obvious culprit, so be it. If it takes some form of action to have some people understand the seriousness of the Moderators & Administrators, then it shall be done. Do not start whining when action is finally taken and you start claiming that you were unfairly treated.

I hope everyone understands why we take such a firm stance against such behavoir and we seek your understanding in this matter.

This has got to stop.

Sigh...

want to come, juz come lah. Not say u muz bring ur Canon SLR, Canon DSLR, Canon Printer, Canon Lens, Canon *wadever* before u are allowed admittance right?

I believe everyone's matured enuff to know when to take things seriously and when the joke's coming. Nikon is Nikon, Canon is Canon. Joke say is say, say liao, luff liao and forget it. Dun harp on it like a broken recorder. And at da end of the day, if u use Nikon shiok, use Nikon. If u use Canon shiok, use Canon. If u use both buay song, den u got Fuji, Pentax, Leica, Panasonic, Sony, wadnots. ;)

Form groups or wad I'm pretty neutral abt it. But den as with human beings, there comes a time where the group gets big enuff and den there'll prolly be a Jedi Council of sorts and u get all da political bickering and silly things like dat instead of concentrating on photography. Dat's wad worries me most (since some of u mentioned things like forming committee or wad right?).

6th May shldn't be a problem. But I'll prolly be staying for juz a while. Never been to CDL even though I passed there so many times... hehehe... :D

madmacs said:
seriously...just come. i dont think usm will stand at the door and demand you display a canon dslr before admitting you. :sweatsm:

Maybe I'll get my security guard to do that...hahah... ;p :devil: :p :sticktong (just joking)

oh ya techmage, ot a bit here, can CDL help me check my shutter count?
or do i have to go to the canon service center? :)