Canon User Group (CUG)

Huh,still debating for forming 'CUG' user
So how,izzi still want to form 'CUG' user

~Arcanic~ said:
man.... :bsmilie: this cracks me up sia...

any news for 'CUG' gathering?
:think:

OK, I admit I have nothing constructive to say. Just to add that it is by far short sighted to allow only Canon users to attend. Probably if I am to go there as a Canon user, most of you cannot help at all because I shoot film only and perharps 9 out of 10 are shooting mainly digital. I would think that the group name with an intention, can be something like Canon Resource Group, or Canon Imaging Resource etc, where the intention is to provide information, be it to Canon users or Nikon users or even just quitted Canon users.

Of course now the mindset is already set to be Canon User Group (CUG) because, in particular Nikon (NUG), has already got one similar now. Not to lose out to Nikon "in ruling out non-Nikon user", The Canon User Group (CUG) name will simply make me wonder, on first thought, that you are engineers or people who work in IT industry (like **** lol) or someone who have deep pockets for a full system of lens.

No offense, but that is what I felt. What will make you guys difference from (NUG?) is that you make the difference in integrating non-Canon users into the group that seeked information and pass on informed, responsible information. Otherwise it is yet just another equipment collector/seller "club".

ricohflex said:
is techmage out of hospitality giving us
curry puff and cakes teh and kopi? beer? ;p
after meet got liang seah street lots of good food

Maybe not this time round :sweat: , if there is going to be regular meeting of Canon users (which I hope to see it happen), I can make a request to Canon to allocate some resources or some kind of support to cater for these events organised ;)

I hope to see at least 1 meeting or event per month if more the better. :bsmilie: Don't have to be the same person organising. I hope every event is organised by a different person. If you think you have an idea, please do come forward and we'll see how best to support it.

I think we should stop the arguement of defining what is "canon user". I think is more useful to talk about what can kind of events we can organise.

We can organise session that are canon only and we can also organise that are open to all. Naturally we the digital lab, as part of Canon, want to make our customers feel exclusive, so they will continue to support the Canon branding but we also want to welcome new customers to join our community.

Lets not assume and make things as if it is fixed and inflexible. After all Canon's philosophy of Kosei is harmony for all. I hope the get things moving forward. Let us meet and get to know each other. Whether you use a PnS or D/SLR , you are most welcome. (BTW, I use both film (over 15 years) and digital so those using film don't feel left out please do come forward also).

6th of May at 1900hrs @ the Canon Digital Lab

Aiyoh... haven really start already kena left-right-center (internally somemore)... :sweat: :bsmilie:

Let it be lah... there are all kinds of ppl here (in CS)... from purist to generalist. At the end of the day... it's about someone wants a gathering ... juz like SEED or what ever gathering...want to go, go lah... dun wan, then juz ignore loh.... There are also all kinds of gathering for the respective type of ppl.

Techmage is offering CDL as a gathering place only mah. What ever the gathering will become, who knows the future, tho it depends a lot on the group composition.

Put it in another prespective (imagine only, dun flame me hor)... what if Techmage offer CDL for canon users to hang out and chit chat? I'm sure CS'ers dun mind, do they? :think:

hi organiser , so when is the confirm date and time ??? alot of pages already see until i @~@ ... maybe u can update the confirm details on yr first post so that people like me interested can go and plan first ?

TechMage said:
so CYRN are you coming? :cool:

Yes, definately ;p ...

if I don't get stuck at my work, that is :sweat:

Well, let's start the list as usual..
Since we yet to have a name...lets call it "CDL invitation" - if Techmage (or USM) dun mind.

1. CYRN
2. ??
3. ??

*edit* ummm...not too sure if here's the right place to start a gathering list?

Mabbe Techmage, or USM might like to open the invite in the gathering subforum? (why USM? He started this thread loh ;) , Techmage? isn't it obvious ;) )

Since we yet to have a name...lets call it "CDL invitation" - if Techmage (or USM) dun mind

1. CYRN
2. scud

Since we yet to have a name...lets call it "CDL invitation" - if Techmage (or USM) dun mind

1. CYRN
2. scud
3. madmacs

how about Canon Focus Group?the primary focus will be on canon products and their relation to digital imaging.

ok my 2 cents. my preference is for the group to be open to anyone who is interested in knowing more about canon products, ie. potential canon users.

my wishlist:
- tech talks or discussions on canon products (e-ttl2 like someone mentioned, metering modes, custom functions, etc)
- discussions on digital workflow (from capture to print)

madmacs said:
how about Canon Focus Group?the primary focus will be on canon products and their relation to digital imaging.

ok my 2 cents. my preference is for the group to be open to anyone who is interested in knowing more about canon products, ie. potential canon users.

my wishlist:
- tech talks or discussions on canon products (e-ttl2 like someone mentioned, metering modes, custom functions, etc)
- discussions on digital workflow (from capture to print)

:think: :think: CFG :think: Sounds like a config file extension...hahahaha :bsmilie:

Joking only hor :sweat:

CYRN said:
:think: :think: CFG :think: Sounds like a config file extension...hahahaha

Joking only hor :sweat:

yes i know...was thinking that we can ConFiG the group as we go along ;)

madmacs said:
yes i know...was thinking that we can ConFiG the group as we go along ;)

I tink it's ok to start without a name loh... cuz the name dosen't make the character.

was tinking to meet up for chit chat first, name will naturally come once the character of the group is being formed. :think:

Zplus said:
I think its ok for DMH to support Canon users. As to what defines a Canon user, its best for DMH to decide.

My personal view is that a Canon photography / videography user is any one that uses a Canon device for such purposes... Thus this would include Canon video recorders and Canon cameras (P&S to DSLR to Film SLR).

Whether this is elitist or not, depends on its members. I don't see NUG being elitist, nor do I think this Canon user group will become one. Each system is unique... there should be nothing wrong to get together to dicuss the idosyncracies of their own unique system.

For example, Canon users can get together to discuss about its ETTL and ETTL2 system. Or compare the benefits of getting the various flavours of the 70-200 lens. The benefits of Zeiss / M42 lens on a Canon body. These are all unique to Canon anyway.

I don't think anyone in their right mind would gather just to bash another system - its a complete waste of time.

Just my 2 cents worth....

Btw, I use Canon DSLR, Nikon/Sony P&S, Sigma, Tamron, Canon lens... but I won't mind joining this group to talk about Canon.....
Hmm... Well, I do hope the entire thing dun get too high-browed dat average shooters like me get pushed out eventually as I'd seen such things happening, 1st-hand account. The entire big 'family' gets spilt apart due to internal politics and stuff like dat and gets torn asunder. Eventually, a new group is formed, but without the spirit of the old one.

Count me in for da meetup as well and we can learn frm each other. :D

I hope that I can get my 2 cents into this discussion as it been very heated.

The primary intentions of forming a User Group (whether it be for Nikon, Canon, Minolta, or whatever) is to
  1. provide an avenue for ppl who are interested in; or own that particular equipment to have discussions specific to their interests/equipment
  2. provide an avenue for ppl who are contemplating purchasing said equipment to obtain relevant and personal feedback from ppl who already use them
A User Group should not be exclusive to a particular brand or equipment but just to realise that the group gathers to discuss primarily on a particular brand/equipment.

We do not discourage the formation of such groups (proof point: we already have the Nikon User Group, the UW Photography Group, Panasonic Lumix User Group; now the Canon User Group and who knows what others will emerge) but we want to ensure that the discussions within ClubSNAP pertaining to User Groups do not turn into all-out flame-shoots between the different Groups. What happens externally may not be entirely within our control but we sincerely hope that by instilling civility online, it will translate into civility in real life.

1. CYRN
2. scud
3. madmacs
4. WoLoh

WoLoh said:

1. CYRN
2. scud
3. madmacs
4. WoLoh

Then how those who are not using canno DSLR,izzi ok to come

I remembered... when Nikon Council/Nikon User Group started out, a lot of Canon users jeered saying that we (NC/NUG) spend time wanking, brand bashing and that we're wasting time not shooting by sitting down.

Also remembered Canon users claim they shoot more than they sit around to talk.

So why the sudden interest for a User Group? :dunno:

*smirk*