--- Apple iPad

Would you buy iPad?

It may be powerful, but it can't multitask.

It's an overgrown iPod Touch.

Nah, no point. It's even too heavy to be a nice ebook reader.

can't multi-task

means netbook> ipad.

just looks nice lor..... if got a lot of money you can buy :bsmilie:

at usd499, a netbook will have more space, can multitask... of course battery life maybe not as good.

there is a little accessory that can read CF or SD cards
i wonder if it can be used as a external storage device as well

not that great for space actually.... unless you buy more expensive ones.

on the other hand, netbooks have 250gb hard disk :D

iPhone draws much of the same critisms (missing this or that, just a fad) when it came out, but look where it is now.

I think we should hold our judgement until we have the product on our hands for testing.

iphone was different

i heard loads of people going

WOW APPLE IPHONE SO CHIO blah blah blah when it came out

this? i heard it for one day, most of it complaining that it was a big iphone. :bsmilie:

can't multi-task

means netbook> ipad.

just looks nice lor..... if got a lot of money you can buy :bsmilie:

Hmm I buy for functionality, speed and toughness, not looks when it comes to electronics :devil: Guess that's why I'm a mac free zone.

Wonders what's next from the apple orchard???

iCondom - protection for your apple product against the ravages of nasty viruses, only $399 for a 3 pack but they come in glow in the dark fluro colours.

iCrapper - toilet fun from Apple. A bit like having an enema but a touch of alleged class - an bum treat at just $489.58

iBath - an orange, black and pink rubber duck only $99.95 (cost of production $0.01c in Shenzen)

iBallz - look like mini sheep $hit, tastes like cheap caviar. Wait on it is cheap caviar in a fancy tin. A bargain at only $19.95 per 10g serve.

iSuk - Only available in Singapore. The all new sensation available in Lor 10-12 Geylang most nights $POA

iPhoney III - From the company that claims to have invented the mouse, personal computer, music, mp3s and everything else important here comes the iPhoney III a brand new set of qualifications from a non approved tertiary establishment in Kentucky or Arkansas. Choose from 1523 doctorates or 2100 degrees all printed on beautiful iPhoney paper with the most charming fonts. From $199 inc shipping.

iEnema (brain edition), what most Mac users need :devil:

iBath - an orange, black and pink rubber duck only $99.95 (cost of production $0.01c in Shenzen)

this one needs to include 2 buttons, one of which makes the duck quack, and the other makes it blow bubbles..... and steve jobs has to tell everyone that it's the most important thing he has done in his life for many months to hype it up first. :bsmilie:

i wonder what's it going to be like the next time, since he's already used up that line.

this one needs to include 2 buttons, one of which makes the duck quack, and the other makes it blow bubbles..... and steve jobs has to tell everyone that it's the most important thing he has done in his life for many months to hype it up first. :bsmilie:

i wonder what's it going to be like the next time, since he's already used up that line.

I hear it has 3, one to krap itself with too ;)

Ahh the next major flog job will be the thing he's always wanted to make line of hype. I wonder if it will be phallic shaped?

I think the Ipad will suit my needs on web on the go. Currently I can only surf on my petite 4.3" screen and navigation is a hassle. Size of the Ipad can fit nicely into my bag or NEW bag too heheheheh

the money will soon start flowing in from apple fanboys...

the ipad - $499

the ipad protective apple case - $99.99

the ipad screen protector - $59.99

extra apps for the ipad - $98.99

etcetcetc hahah

i've always loved macs, but its hit me recently... why are their prices so high? and why do so many 'creative people' use them... imho you can build up a PC with a spec thats about the same as a mac pro for like half the price hahah

well, you do pay for design, and aggressive marketing. same goes for cameras as well , i guess.. for the marketing part, since design isn't that much difference to be honest. not significant enough as it is for computers.

i suspect the "creative people" thing is just monkey see, monkey do sometimes. or perhaps "creative people" have a greater demand for aesthetics. who knows? :bsmilie:

You can also trust the fanboys to insist a product deficiency to be a great product feature.

No Flash support? Who needs Flash?
No USB? Firewire is king...oops etc. etc.

Along with popular myths as never kena virus, never hang...

the ipad - $499

etcetcetc hahah

it's a very subjective thing. For video producers/ multimedia producers, they need Final Cut Pro. Hence the Mac choice. Then the Aperture users etc. That's the only MAJOR reason. But yes mac's are overpriced, but these guys can afford it.

Some people just like Macs.

Some people use it because their school/college uses it e.g me and many of my buddies.

Some people who use it are 13 yr olds whose parents like to shove their arses with a PS3, a personal 4445555" TV, a 2 inch instrument, a guitar which they never play, a maid who does impossible chores like making their bed for them etc. I personally know about 6 or 7 of these guys who have a Macbook Pro, 27" iMac, iPod Touch, iPhone and millions of iAccessories.

I own both a PC and a Mac. Pure pwnage. :devil:

the ipad - $499

etcetcetc hahah

Using Xeon processors for half the price? Considering their cost, that's surprising.

This iPad is only a MID (mobile internet device) I have no use for it. For the price, i'll get a netbook, it is far more capable than this MID, at least its a computer where i can do many more things on it besides surfing the net.

My vote :thumbsd:
To me, iPad is a piece of crap

I agree. I fail to see how it can be deemed a revolutionary product. It's really just a larger iPod Touch. Besides multi touch which Apple has so cleverly patented for such devices (quite a hindrance to the progress of mobile tech in my opinion), existing, and even older pieces of hardware are already capable of doing much more than allowing you to "surf the web" and make email "easy". And 64Gb is really quite pathetic.

And unfortunately, the iPad just doesn't look too slick with its huge borders. Practically no merit in my opinion. Very disappointing keynote this time round.

icrap.jpg

Flash isn't really critical. Good to have, but not critical, from a technology standpoint.

Flash is used in many websites. If there is one reason why I do not buy the iPad, the lack of Flash support would be it. It is quite ironical that when Steve Jobs demoed the iPad during the launch, he showed the NYTimes website and could not display some Flash content. He was quick to get it out if the way but many noticed it.

One more thing... if we can't get iBook to work here similar to why Kindle is not here in Singapore, that would be another killer blow for the iPad. No Flash, no iTunes store, and no iBook store. That would be pretty lame.

after thinking about it for a while, i get it already

just watch, PC sales will start to drop in the future

Flash is used in many websites. If there is one reason why I do not buy the iPad, the lack of Flash support would be it. It is quite ironical that when Steve Jobs demoed the iPad during the launch, he showed the NYTimes website and could not display some Flash content. He was quick to get it out if the way but many noticed it.

I'm pretty sure Steve knew that the nytimes website has flash and he still used it in the demo. After all, Apple has not been shy of displaying their non-support for flash at all. I remember Steve Jobs saying flash is not supported because it is not good enough or fast enough on the iPhone. It's not surprising that they still won't support it in the iPad.

One more thing... if we can't get iBook to work here similar to why Kindle is not here in Singapore, that would be another killer blow for the iPad. No Flash, no iTunes store, and no iBook store. That would be pretty lame.

I agree with the iBooks thing. One of the reasons that I would buy an iPad is for reading ebooks. I'm using my iPod touch for reading ebooks now (using Stanza) and so having the ability to buy books directly from the device would be sweet. Though I doubt if missing iBooks can be considered as a killer blow to iPad. I can still read books on it on a bigger screen.

after thinking about it for a while, i get it already

just watch, PC sales will start to drop in the future

More like price of netbooks will dropped. I'll be waiting for iPad 2nd gen, I believe that is the real deal. Though I will not be buying the iPad, I don't think the iPad will flop.