Why pay to shoot models?

No lah, just try to pour water here before the flame starts mah. Moderators will definitely do their job lah but as members here, we also try to keep the peace mah. Some more, threadstarter is a newbie leh. Don't want him to go through what I went through lah. :)

shooter said:

I am pretty new to photography and just came to know about this interesting forum.

Can someone tell me why you would pay a non-professional model and shoot?? I saw some pics which the model can't pose nor pretty!!! I always think the models should be the one paying instead!!

Is it for the experience or fun or....?? :dunno:
Hmm, i guess there is no definate answer of why u need to pay and who need to pay... In is society, nothing is free... be it pro model or non-pro models... even if it's TFP... u still pay them with photo.. aren't that a kind of payment... :think:

if u want free model photoshoot, maybe can try those roadshows whereby got chio gals giving out flyers/brochures.... totally free one

shooter said:

I am pretty new to photography and just came to know about this interesting forum.

Can someone tell me why you would pay a non-professional model and shoot?? I saw some pics which the model can't pose nor pretty!!! I always think the models should be the one paying instead!!

Is it for the experience or fun or....?? :dunno:

Either the photographer gets paid or the model gets paid , in term of money / time / TFP / other resources.

nothing is really free. - Demand & Supply

Zeckson Chow said:
No lah, just try to pour water here before the flame starts mah. Moderators will definitely do their job lah but as members here, we also try to keep the peace mah. Some more, threadstarter is a newbie leh. Don't want him to go through what I went through lah. :)

moderator calibre...

Paul_Yeo said:
if u want free model photoshoot, maybe can try those roadshows whereby got chio gals giving out flyers/brochures.... totally free one

It is not totally free lar ... it is other pple cost center ... :bsmilie:

Where got free thing in life??? think about it... :bsmilie:

IMHO, I think some of us have provided you with some answers to your question as to why we need to pay to shoot a model. All of them are correct. I asked this question too when I first joined Clubsnap.

I was wondering why should we pay a model to pose for us to shoot. Why not just get someone to pose for us free? We had already spent a lot of money on our camera and accessories, why spend more on models so to shoot?

From my days here, I've got these answered. I have done a free shoot for someone too. I do not wish to talk details on this because I would like to keep the focus here. When we shoot a portrait of someone, we would want to make it as artistic as possible and we want to portray an image as close as what we have in mind from the result picture.

Although photography is just not about pretty faces or great heavenly bodies and with all these, doesn't spell good photographer, with experienced models or professional models, they will be able to know what photographers want, how to pose, how to smile and how to portray the look. All these are done without much supervision from the photographer and thus increased productivity and efficiency and quality. If the photographer needs to spend time telling the model how to pose, where to stand, how to smile, where to look, etc..., the photographer will not be able to keep focus on what is on his/her mind that he/she wants to portray in the picture.

No doubt, all these can also be done with an inexperienced person but much time and effort is spent on guiding the model than on the shoot. For a paid shoot, it may take 2 - 3 hours for one session. For inexperienced models, it may take much more. So most of the experienced photographers would rather pay a bit of money than to spend a lot of unnecessary time, which they may regard it as "a waste of time" with inexperienced models.

I have done a free shoot with an inexperienced model before, just a few shots only and it took me a long time to guide the model. Sometimes, the model's expression is not correct and I have to slowly guide her to change. Furthermore, inexperienced models are generally camera-shy and they are afraid of this and that, especially if they look fat on pictures, if you know what I mean. :)

Just to side track a bit as well, when we shoot a model, we would also want the model to as good looking as possible. It also has to give the effect that you can look at it as long as you want without getting tired of it. With a good looking face or an outstanding aura revolving around the model, it draws people to look at it too and admire your work.

Show 2 pictures to anybody on the streets, 1 with a normal person in it and the other with an outstanding model posing and ask the public to choose. Which will they pick? I think you have an answer to that question too. :)

Just sharing with you my humble opinion. Hope this helps. :)

maybe u can write in to volunteer yourself as a mod? :sweatsm:

Paul_Yeo said:

Hee hee hee... Actually, they are being paid to do this already. That cost is bounded by the company hiring them and photographs are just part and parcel of their job too. To the company, it could be free advertising. ;)

Zeckson Chow said:
...with experienced models or professional models, they will be able to know what photographers want, how to pose, how to smile and how to portray the look. All these are done without much supervision from the photographer and thus increased productivity and efficiency and quality. If the photographer needs to spend time telling the model how to pose, where to stand, how to smile, where to look, etc..., the photographer will not be able to keep focus on what is on his/her mind that he/she wants to portray in the picture.

geez man... do u always have to type that long... :sweat:

anyway... i'm not sure if others think e way i think here... usually, even if with experienced models, the photographer still have to guide e model along, unless e model has some special powers that can read the mind of the photog, how would she know what e photog wants to portray?? :bsmilie:

an experienced model means its easier for e photog to guide her along on what e photog wants to portray. (just my tots, others might think different) ;)

..because its cheaper and easier than bringing a pretty gal out for a date.

~Arcanic~ said:
geez man... do u always have to type that long... :sweat:

anyway... i'm not sure if others think e way i think here... usually, even if with experienced models, the photographer still have to guide e model along, unless e model has some special powers that can read the mind of the photog, how would she know what e photog wants to portray?? :bsmilie:

an experienced model means its easier for e photog to guide her along on what e photog wants to portray. (just my tots, others might think different) ;)

Agree with you, brother Arcanic, that's why I say "without much supervision" mah. Definitely must guide one but easier lor. As for the long passage, sorry har, habit liao. My job needs me to write long stuff one... :p

reno77 said:
..because its cheaper and easier than bringing a pretty gal out for a date.

But hor, your time is only restricted to the time allocated only wor... And also, you cannot do much except things that are related to the shoot... Like holding her hand or speaking softly next to her ear? :p

Paul_Yeo said:
i tried before.. they did this and said

NO PHOTOS PLEASE
:nono:

why pay for shoots?

basically its very difficult to find ppl to let you take their photos especially when they know your so so only skills probably wont yield great photos of them. thus there is no motivation for them to let you shoot their photos.

but besides models, there are a lot of ppl that one can shoot. family members to colleagues to friends.

however shooting models can be more satisfying cos they usually have a pretty/symetrically face and thus the level of skill required to make them pretty is much lesser than shooting your overweight and short colleague(just making a comparison la, no such person ah)

then again, when you can do a shoot for your friend that they love the photos so much that they wan you to shoot for them again, the feeling is dam satisfying man!

i started by begging ppl to let me take their pictures ans have had ppl who after once are no longer interested in me taking photo for them again. now, i have taken wedding photos ( not dayshoot but the wedding album kind) and it feels dam great when ppl see those photos and are willing to let me take their photos also.

the process and progress is definitely more rewarding that just shooting some models that may not even care if you capture them nicely.

one way i do to get pictures of ppl in the streets in each time out shooting, i tell myself that i will ask ppl to have their photo taken and only stop when 10 ppl have rejecting/scolding me. till today have never had to stop cos of this

Actually, I also got try that le but not on the streets lah. I approached my friends and told them about my intention and almost beg them to do a shoot with me. Sigh...

I also ask people from Friendster you know? So far only managed to get one to do only. Hee hee hee...

Zeckson Chow said:
Actually, I also got try that le but not on the streets lah. I approached my friends and told them about my intention and almost beg them to do a shoot with me. Sigh...

I also ask people from Friendster you know? So far only managed to get one to do only. Hee hee hee...

dun worry....

we know, we know....
we understand......