Who think they gonna buy the new 24-105mm f4L IS

Will you buy the new Canon L lens and why?

very interesting range this new rumour lense have, with L quality and IS and constant appeture, if the lense zooming is to be internal zooming, then it would be perfect~!...

BUT~!... I still AI SHI XIAO BAI~!

RossChang said:
very interesting range this new rumour lense have, with L quality and IS and constant appeture, if the lense zooming is to be internal zooming, then it would be perfect~!...

BUT~!... I still AI SHI XIAO BAI~!

its not a rumor afterall, its REAL

Belle&Sebastain said:
its not a rumor afterall, its REAL

i was just talking to jsbn at work abt this lens. told him to sell everything except his 17-40L to buy this as his walkabt. (hope he's not reading this...) finally a decent walkabt, constant aperature lens.

hmm... mebbe its time i look for the canon2nikon convertor... :think:

nightwolf75 said:

No!!... it is time you buy the Canon again :):):)

nightwolf75 said:

i was just talking to jsbn at work abt this lens. told him to sell everything except his 17-40L to buy this as his walkabt. (hope he's not reading this...) finally a decent walkabt, constant aperature lens.

Come back to the Light Side lar...its calling you.....u must come... :devil:

nightwolf75 said:

Hey Sam, what are you actually using now? Hardly been to the Death Star (N forums).

for events i think its a great lens to use!

Garion said:
Come back to the Light Side lar...its calling you.....u must come... :devil:

no, my son... the dark side has consumed me. there's no turning back from the dark side... ;p

jokes aside - so, when u getting the 1dmkIIn, garion? :lovegrin:

gilbert - currently bet cams. i'm using a SLR now. yeah. i know... this is one heck of an event lens. if only got a nikon version, or a decent 3rd party one, i would really save a lot of weight when i'm shooting my wife's dance ECA or for red cross. :(

nightwolf75 said:
no, my son... the dark side has consumed me. there's no turning back from the dark side... ;p

jokes aside - so, when u getting the 1dmkIIn, garion? :lovegrin:

must be espn, the emperor

Belle&Sebastain said:
must be espn, the emperor
Yah lor the Emperor brainwashed him liao...he had christened him Darth Nightwolf75. :devil:

Sam: Not yet lar....no $$$ also. :cry: Wait for the 1DIIN come out first, and see how much it affects the price of the remaining 1DIIs. Will wait and see...

CYRN said:
yep. Anyway that's half of my story loh.

Pair it with 5D and 580ex... :lovegrin: ;p

Downside is that I gotta eat grass for a long long time :cry:
For full frame huh...then that's another story liao...:bsmilie:

No need to eat grass lah...just look for more assignments to cover loh...

RossChang said:
Eat grass also not enuf aahhh~~... singapore sooo lack of open space, where got place to grow grass?.....

got plenty at punggol. ;)

Virgo said:
For full frame huh...then that's another story liao...:bsmilie:

No need to eat grass lah...just look for more assignments to cover loh...

*looks ard* assignment where?:dunno:

Terence said:
If it's priced in the range of the 17-40, why not? You're probably looking at $2500 or more for a 2.8 and I don't think 1 stop is worth the price difference.

I'm always amazed at the people who lament the lack of a 2.8 stop, really, is it super neccessary? I see a case for argument between say f4 and f1.8 but really, 1 stop is not worth all this hootlah. Bump up the ISO or use a strobe, it's not too hard to overcome this slightest of limitations.

I have a feeling its gonna be priced just slightly less than wad the 24-70L is going for. Rob Galbraith site quotes its price at abt US 1249, my estimate is that it'll prob be going for SG$1800-2000? Def significantly more than a 17-40L . IMO, it's a good range to match a FF sensor ie. 5D somemore coupled with IS. but i intend to stick to 1.6FOV bodies for now..

user111 said:
not worth the price since its not constant 2.8

Agreed! This is a L, expect to have f2.8 and yet they put it as f4. Disappointed :thumbsd:

Shib said:
Agreed! This is a L, expect to have f2.8 and yet they put it as f4. Disappointed :thumbsd:
Don't be. you have options of the 24-70 F2.8L and the 28-70 F2.8L. the 24-104 F4L IS is more like a high quality general range light travel lens to me

RossChang said:
Don't be. you have options of the 24-70 F2.8L and the 28-70 F2.8L. the 24-104 F4L IS is more like a high quality general range light travel lens to me

Haha... as long as they dont design a 24-105 F2.8 IS that weighs 1+ kg like the 70-200 IS or the 35-350 can liao :bsmilie:

shadowmoses said:
I have a feeling its gonna be priced just slightly less than wad the 24-70L is going for. Rob Galbraith site quotes its price at abt US 1249, my estimate is that it'll prob be going for SG$1800-2000? Def significantly more than a 17-40L . IMO, it's a good range to match a FF sensor ie. 5D somemore coupled with IS. but i intend to stick to 1.6FOV bodies for now..

The IS feature looks very attractive but if price is ~SGD 2000, would it be more justified to get the 24-70 2.8L?? :think:

still no firm indication of local prices yet?

I guess it should be in the region of $1600. Anything less I would really be tempted... :think:

eAgles said:
The IS feature looks very attractive but if price is ~SGD 2000, would it be more justified to get the 24-70 2.8L?? :think:

Depends on wad u shoot lor, is 1 stop of light more important or IS? So far there's no review on the sharpness of the lens but shouldn't be too far from 24-70L. Then also depends on wad body u use. if using 1.6FOV body,why need such a long lens for a general purpose lens? might as well use a 70-200 to go wif 24-70 better haha.. Overall u muz evaluate wad lens will serve u better.