To Kill a "Singing" Koel

yeaps, when one gets too close to 'their' trees.

and on top of that, aerial bombs and sonic wave attack. free KTV at its best, i tell u.

thats like Luke Skywalker dropping a torpedo into Deathstar... if u kena, really suay, or the force is strong with the kukubird...

i believe we can call this 'too much complaining'. there's no need to entertain these things... :bsmilie: :thumbsd:

can someone explain to this fella that the world doesnt revolve around him. :thumbsd:

http://catwelfare.blogspot.com/2006/11/st-10-11-06.html

Friday, November 10, 2006
ST (10-11-06)

Our authorities ARE very efficient - the problem is that as with a parent who bows to a child's every whim and fancy, you end up with a very spoilt child who cannot do anything for himself or herself except cry when things don't go his or her way.

This doesn't mean of course that we don't want the government to help people who are truly in need - but it DOES mean not pandering to every single complaint, no matter what it is. There needs to be a sense of ownership and responsibility. Responding to every single complaint and bending over backwards so that people don't complain does NOT foster this sense of responsibility.

If a resident comes to you with a stupid complaint, or something they can easily do something about, the TC or government agency should just tell them to go handle it themselves! That will make people more self-reliant, give the agencies less work, and actually promote a greater sense of community.

SITNews: Stop whining and whingeing, be gracious, MPs urge
by Lim Wei Chean

SINGAPORE is becoming a nation of complainers who do not take ownership of their problems and who are wanting in humility, thoughtfulness and graciousness to boot.

Dr Mohd Maliki Osman (Sembawang GRC) said the Government's famed efficiency in taking on and solving problems had become a double-edged sword.

It has become such that when lift landings are dirty, people call their town council. When they have a problem with their neighbours, they go to the Housing Board.

He asked: 'Are we turning Singapore into a nation of people whose problem-solving skills solely rest on the mechanism of asking someone else to solve their problems?'

And by making their complaints - 'giving feedback' - to government agencies, many adults are bad role models to their children, he said.

He urged Singaporeans to take greater ownership of their problems rather than expect the Government to solve them - be 'problem solvers' instead of just 'problem identifiers' or 'problem referrers'.

Their children will learn by example and grow up more resilient, he added.

Mr Lim Biow Chuan (Marine Parade GRC) also urged Singaporeans to be more considerate, humbler and kinder. Ten years ago, then prime minister Goh Chok Tong called for a more gracious society.

But this has failed to materialise, said Mr Lim, citing examples of his countrymen's boorish behaviour.

Calling for more tolerance and civility, he noted that people are quick to complain, demand their rights and condemn others for not showing care, but are slow to extend a helping hand to those who fall.

He said: 'What makes a country great is not just the laws of the country, not just the efficiency of the system, not just the meritocracy or beautiful buildings. What makes Singapore great is the people of Singapore and the values of its citizens.'

dun send letter up to complain, then wat?

send lawyer's letter ah?

march down the street and protest ah?

Do something instead of just complaining

1) Such as the crows that irk you. Start with not leaving leftover on tables in hawker centres so that the birds are not attracted and become targets of complainants. If you see anyone throwing food down to feed birds,tell them the consequence of complaints will be either the birds will be shot or poisoned.

2) Advocate for humane method of keeping crows away. Do a google search on such methods and suggest these to the town council instead of chopping the trees or shooting the birds, instead of just complaining and whining.

The world doesn't revolve around any individual.

We are all inter-dependent. By failing to see this, we, the "dominant race", are killing this home called Earth. Use our "iintelligence" to promote harmony, not to destruct.

story.jpg

"The World Without Us"

What would the earth look like if humans suddenly disappeared? An audacious new book imagines a people-free planet, and restores our sense of awe.

Paradoxically, it's the fact that Weisman envisions the Earth enduring that becomes motivation for us to change our ways. The twist, of course, is that his imagined happy ending for the Earth only comes about because mankind is absent. Yet this isn't depressing, as one might think, but oddly inspiring. Weisman concludes that many of those happy endings are possible even if humanity doesn't disappear -- as long we curb our appetites and our population. And even if we end up causing our own extinction, it is profoundly reassuring to think that the Earth will not only survive, but flourish.

By restoring our sense of awe about the Earth, and our connectedness to it, Weisman takes us out of the merely political and into a deeper realm. His book is a kind of time bomb: Its surface cheeriness conceals a much deeper pessimism. But in the end that pessimism, too, is transformed by a force even stronger than geology: hope.

I concur, we've to take ownership of our problems. Let's start with CPF.

SINGAPORE is becoming a nation of complainers who do not take ownership of their problems and who are wanting in humility, thoughtfulness and graciousness to boot.

Dr Mohd Maliki Osman (Sembawang GRC) said the Government's famed efficiency in taking on and solving problems had become a double-edged sword.

1) Such as the crows that irk you. Start with not leaving leftover on tables in hawker centres so that the birds are not attracted and become targets of complainants. If you see anyone throwing food down to feed birds,tell them the consequence of complaints will be either the birds will be shot or poisoned.

2) Advocate for humane method of keeping crows away. Do a google search on such methods and suggest these to the town council instead of chopping the trees or shooting the birds, instead of just complaining and whining.

We are all inter-dependent. By failing to see this, we, the "dominant race", are killing this home called Earth. Use our "iintelligence" to promote harmony, not to destruct.

I totally agree.

Whinging like a spoilt brat doesn't solve the problem. Neither does killing.
Many Sporeans are complain cos they're 'well-trained' by the govt to do so ... use that brain of yours I say! Do something instead of sitting on your fat ass, whine & take the easy way out!

Live with it or move! Why should a birds & animals die because stupid selfish humans who see beyond their noses are losing some precious sleep!

It's just a bird, give it a break.

Come to think of it, the koel looks quite nice. :)

I'm sure our friends at the Rifle Range will be more than willing to accommodate haahaa
1 blast from dat 12 gauge shotgun would fill 'em with ball-bearings like makin' swiss cheese! ;p

The crow population needs controlling, and who better to control them than us? They are an introduced species which are not indignant to this area. And yet their spread was due to humans...

I concur, we've to take ownership of our problems. Let's start with CPF.
Wonders at the uncanny ability of some people who can really pull every single problem (their own or others) into a policy-questioning thread. :bsmilie:

The crow population needs controlling, and who better to control them than us? They are an introduced species which are not indignant to this area. And yet their spread was due to humans...

Just to clarify - You meant indigenous right?

ST Forum Online Story
Oct 4, 2007
Let’s pay more attention to animal welfare

I WRITE this as a concerned human and Singaporean.

Every Oct 4 is World Animal Day to celebrate animal life in all its forms and our relationship with the animal kingdom. And to acknowledge the diverse roles animals play as companions, et cetera, that bring a sense of wonder into our lives. As well as to thank animals for the way in which they enrich our lives.

This year, Acres (Animal Concerns Research & Education Society) will hold a three-day event (Oct 5-7, 10am-10pm) at the Atrium @Orchard (adjacent to Plaza Singapura). There will be photographic and other exhibits, music, dance and children’s activities.

There is a global ‘Animals Matter To Me’ campaign to petition support for a Universal Declaration on Animal Welfare intended for national governments to endorse at the United Nations. Signatures will be collected at this Acres-organised event. More information is available at www.acres.org.sg, http://animalsmatter.org and www.wspa-international.org

The intent is for the UN and humanity to recognise animals as sentient beings capable of feeling pain and suffering. And that animal welfare is an issue of importance in the social development of individuals, nations and humanity.

With global capitalism/materialism and violent terrorism, humanity seems to pale fraying in respect, empathy, sympathy and humility. These sentiments, in whatever tatters remaining, do not benefit non-humans much in terms of safety from violence and distress. Be it outright abuse (forced feeding, experimentation and beatings) and killing or deprivation from movement, sustenance and medical care (as livestock, for furs and for entertainment).

‘Charity begins at home’ that always stops at the door of non-humans is indefensible. There will always be humans bent on reproducing themselves unsustainably, demanding that other humans prioritise their succour - never attempting to meet aiders half-way by curtailing their reproduction. Animals that do so would be massacred en masse as ‘pests’.

As humans will always respond to other humans in need ad infinitum, there will never be a point of satiation from which to devote time and resources to non-humans in need. Those who still prioritise human needs charitably need to re-think.

‘I should only help members of my own species as they are more deserving’ - despite blatantly exploiting/bullying members of other species - doesn’t sound just, democratic, respectful nor humane - does it? Within our branded/socially ranked concerns, animals will always languish unless we question priorities - counter-intuitively. Would raising empathy for non-humans raise empathy for all species including humans? I suspect so.

Anthony Lee Mui Yu