chanjyj
you will be suprised of how much can be done to a jpeg file
and the reduction in quality can only be noticed if you pixel peep
I second this
if the exposure is way way off, than very suay lor, anyway, the exposure is like that, raw also can't save until perfect.Corrections for Jpegs are only limited to so much, after-all, they are already reduced in quality.
i agree to disagreeWell. To each their own. After-all, I've paid for a camera which gives me solid RAW files which I can edit with to my likings. So why do I want to be limited to a jpeg compression which is all decided by the camera? I suppose each individuals would have their points somewhere.![]()
Cheers,
actually and personally, I dun find that exposure should be the main concern in shooting weddings leh.
If you are still unsure of what mode to use, I think you will not learn much by shooting wedding as most of the time you will be meddling with the technical issues.
I think concentrate on the wedding itself is better - composition, the people, the ceremony.
If you keep on thinking of technical issues, I dunno if you will enjoy the wedding itself.
Dunno if I am making sense or not. :sweat:
Just one more word of advise. Dun get too carried away with your new toy and shoot too fast. Else you may need to get a few more SB-800's :bsmilie:
gandalf quoting me... so nicei agree to disagree
gandalf quoting me... so nice
would like to know your preferred shooting mode for actual day weddings.
M-manual
A-aperture priority
S-shutter speed priority
P-program (are you sure you use this?)
actually and personally, I dun find that exposure should be the main concern in shooting weddings leh.
If you are still unsure of what mode to use, I think you will not learn much by shooting wedding as most of the time you will be meddling with the technical issues.
I think concentrate on the wedding itself is better - composition, the people, the ceremony.
If you keep on thinking of technical issues, I dunno if you will enjoy the wedding itself.
Dunno if I am making sense or not. :sweat:
so far, the pro photogs i spoke to in this forum shoots in RAW.
probably not... just mentioned it before in threads about involving some famous CSerswere you the one that coined this?
wow i am honored
i used to use alot of P mode. its a safe and reliable mode, although many here belittles this mode coz its seems amaturish.
nowadays i use all 4 modes almost equally.
manual for the tricky ones, especially dinner. set a relatively slow shutter to get the background up, and between f4-5.6, iso changes accordingly.
P mode for emergency situations when i die die must get the pic, forget abt style or art or whatever u call it.
S when i am at a bright enuff place and using a mid tele, like 85mm. set to appropriate shutter to ensure no handshake blur coz i got no IS/VR lens. this mode can be dangerous though, coz your pix can end up under if the place is too dim and aperture is already maxed out.
A mode used a little lesser, coz i felt its almost like M mode, unless i am using lens with big aperture. coz if using an f4 lens, not much aperture to play with in the 1st place, unless subject is far from background.
happy shooting
I think there are some very famous pro here that shoot in JPEG :sticktong
if you shoot for $, then jpeg.
you go, you shoot, you download, you burn to cd, you pass to clients, you get your $.