SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

No lah... Out of this distance 150km is flight distance from Kathmandu to Lukla. Haha...

Hahah ok. So whats the total distance we trekked on foot (to and fro)? According to KC's iPhone App, it was about 31.2km each way, but not confirmed if it takes into account elevation.

I was talking to wkcheah even before this trip that we should, no matter how heavy it would be, bring our IR (infrared) cameras up to Everest Country and take back with us some IR shots of this beautiful land high up nearer to heaven. And here I found, at the view point towards Chaurikharka, my first IR opportunity.
Humbly, here is my 535nm IR shots, rendering this scene a dream-like, far-away appearance...

5579670769_409aed7b2e_b.jpg

Great IR shots. I like the way of yr framing:thumbsup:

Hahah ok. So whats the total distance we trekked on foot (to and fro)? According to KC's iPhone App, it was about 31.2km each way, but not confirmed if it takes into account elevation.
Ok I will give you the same report as we go along on various parts of the trek. I can't remember off handed. on this first day trek it was around 10km.

Great IR shots. I like the way of yr framing:thumbsup:
Thank you so much Dinosour!

This guy is carrying 120kg! These super human porters have my total respect.

5563169375_0a5f64fb20_b.jpg
Wah, this is what I liked to shoot - a close photo of a porter at work!
Good one, vngks!

can can can !!! Haha

double confirm !! Can can can

why cant I see the photo ah'''' while other said can and double comfirm
Yo Wind 450D, it was because they have BIONIC EYES!:bsmilie::bigeyes:

triple confirm!!! Can can can;)

Four times.... CAN CAN CAN CAN.
Yo yo brothers, 感谢您!:vhappy:

Ok I will give you the same report as we go along on various parts of the trek. I can't remember off handed. on this first day trek it was around 10km.

Thank you so much Dinosour!

Wah, this is what I liked to shoot - a close photo of a porter at work!
Good one, vngks!

Thnx WHow, but unfortunately his foot got cropped. I didn't move back fast enough :( I know, I know, technicalities haha.

Hi guys! Finally had time to look at my photos yesterday!
Great thread we have going here! I am awed (and intimidated!) by the awesome photos that you guys have taken!

Just gonna share my favorites from my camera....

Man selling coloured powder during Holi festival
IMG_7242 by sohpeekay, on Flickr

Lady in line to make offerings
IMG_7239 by sohpeekay, on Flickr

IMG_7226 by sohpeekay, on Flickr

I was talking to wkcheah even before this trip that we should, no matter how heavy it would be, bring our IR (infrared) cameras up to Everest Country and take back with us some IR shots of this beautiful land high up nearer to heaven. And here I found, at the view point towards Chaurikharka, my first IR opportunity.
Humbly, here is my 535nm IR shots, rendering this scene a dream-like, far-away appearance...

5579670769_409aed7b2e_b.jpg

Aiyohhh I think I kanna poison after looking at this photo, seriously considering to get 2nd hand body to be converted to IR :(:(. Some more got extra budget from the insurance claim....I need a jab to remove the poison doc :D

Yo campoes, this IR specialist is very good. His name is fatigue in CS. He's very fast and very good in removing poison. Please seek his consult asap.:bsmilie::sticktong

Great thread we have going here! I am awed (and intimidated!) by the awesome photos that you guys have taken!

Man selling coloured powder during Holi festival
IMG_7242 by sohpeekay, on Flickr

IMG_7226 by sohpeekay, on Flickr
Hello speekay, welcome on board! Great photos you've got.
Keep the good work coming...:):thumbsup:

Madi liao .. duno how many instant noodles i need to eat to save up for another trip and upgrade into more
deadliest equipments .. hehe

5575788690_243f30b95b_z.jpg

5575207493_937dd57de4_z.jpg

5575799374_6009f1c265_z.jpg

5575214401_4cb9a1d947_z.jpg

5575803044_7fe01e8cdc_z.jpg

Speekay, welcome aboard! And a great shot!
As we are slowly moving along to Lukla, Phakding and Namche, come share with us your mountain pictures too!

Awesome IR shot!!! Simply AWESOME!!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:
Gapman, my good friend! Thank you thank you!
Pai seh lah... any how snap one leh... hehehe...

Aiyohhh I think I kanna poison after looking at this photo, seriously considering to get 2nd hand body to be converted to IR :(. Some more got extra budget from the insurance claim....I need a jab to remove the poison doc
Thank you so much!
Haha... Campoes, aiyah you don't need the claim to get an IR camera lah!
IR is really quite an interesting field. Very dreamy, very out of this world kind of effect.

Madi liao .. duno how many instant noodles i need to eat to save up for another trip and upgrade into more
deadliest equipments .. hehe
No need to worry, Johnny my man. Just make sure you every day climb up and down 25 floors four times. When that time comes, I am sure ask you to summit Mount Chomolangma also no problem!
Nice flare on our constant trekking companion, the mules and the Dropkyos!

Nice perspective on the porters, JohnnyLCP!

And yes, a lovely Stupa at Benkar!

This is our point guide Binot (sp?) at our 1st suspension bridge from Lukla to Phakding.

5563745196_151d78cfb0_b.jpg

Yes, vngks.
This is the long suspensioin bridge at Thado Koshi. It crosses the valley of Thado Koshi where the smaller Thado tributary enters into the main Dudh Koshi (River Dudh) further ahead.

I'm also enjoying the beautiful and funny captures from everyone on this thread from KL (and Manila next week). Will try to catch up over the weekend.. for now, here's one of my memorable ones.

Happiest view of All

After so many attempts of trying to get to Lukla, the climax and most happiest moments of all in this trip was seeing the runway at Lukla airport through the cockpit of our plane...
Lukla

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: Great capture wkcheah, gives us the exclusive view of Lukla run way from top.

T R A V E L O G U E

We had been walking for close to three hours already.
And to be really truthful, there was certain parts of the track that was a little uphill and thus quite breathless for those of us who were less conditioned.
Although on this first day, the vast majority of the trek was down hill, the conditions of the track were essentially gravel and stone paths and steps carved out of rocks by hands over years, thus making walking not exactly that easy.
But of course, I was totally not qualified to comment on the track condition nor complain for I was one of the much less conditioned members of the team. Thus, as an excuse, I found myself shooting and shooting every few steps so as just to appear that I was slow due to photography.

Here is HamSum JohnnyLCP in deep thoughts up here in the mountains.

5580711757_ae674bbd9d_b.jpg

And HamSum Goose in his own deep thoughts, though the action of his deep thoughts was somewhat translated through his trekking pole to some poor soul standing in front of him... HAHAHAHA...!

5581108497_030b790a33_b.jpg

And Dinosour, Ivypin and SereneXMM made full use of every portraiture opportunity high up in the mountain tracks.

5581711390_331bcfa753_b.jpg

Here is my shot of the mountain from our plane, I think I push too much of contrast for the window marks:embrass:

Purely happy kids