SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

37. Innocent Little Girl.
You just can't ignore street children when visiting Nepal. You find them in every city, although it is hard to tell how many of the children begging and peddling in the streets have a home to return to at night.
Almost 90 per cent of the street children in Nepal are boys. Girls are few in number and their task is usually to take care of the youngest ones. In a traditional society like Nepal, girls are, however, sent to serve as maids in rich households. They may also live at home farming and doing household chores until they are married, which in the countryside may take place before they turn fifteen.

195995_10150147794558158_540263157_6590398_4935186_n.jpg

38. The relationship between a tourist and a street child, someone from a rich industrialised country and a citizen of a developing country, is filled with tension.
It looks like a kind of trade. The child may do cartwheels or shine your shoes or even pose for your photo and then you will give them money for these tricks and services.
Few cents might be nothing for us, but what happen is that we have actually help to cultivate a begging culture which will finally ended up spoiling them instead of helping them.
I ask this particular little boy why he's asking money when we took his picture, I was quite surprise when he answer:
"You will sell my picture to newspaper, so you will get money and I get nothing"
Good entrepreneurial skill indeed :)

196274_10150147794628158_540263157_6590399_1410741_n.jpg

I'm also enjoying the beautiful and funny captures from everyone on this thread from KL (and Manila next week). Will try to catch up over the weekend.. for now, here's one of my memorable ones.

wkcheah, you were very quick-hand-quick-leg in capturing this shot.
So nice! Can see exactly where the runway was!

Happiest view of All

After so many attempts of trying to get to Lukla, the climax and most happiest moments of all in this trip was seeing the runway at Lukla airport through the cockpit of our plane...
Lukla

The runway is very, very short la.. can see the fence at the start of the runway and mountain at the end of the runway.. what an experience..

Limwhow, vngks & other Trekkers..
As for the screaming while landing on Lukla Airport!!!... cool la!!.. I wish I have company to scream with me when I landed after my no-name flight experience.. I was bumped from the 16 seaters to be in a 4 seaters Cessena 172. Only 3 passenger + 1 pilot!!!!.. the turbulances!!!!!.. the experience!!!!... I can re-live the experience with you lot when viewing the airport landing la... I want to travel!!!...

We all were too siao liao lah... waited for three days and took 4 attempts to finally made this landing at Lukla.
HAhaha.... too siao liao! Too siao liao! What a crazy team of travllers!

Hahaha Goose !!!!! i still have my year old underwear .. U wanna to taste ..hehe

I can guarantee you, JohnnyLCP, that the next round to EBC, Goose will gladly do that when we touch down at Lukla again! Hahaha...!

Bro limwhow, this is sooo hillarious, can't stop laughing. My colleague will think i'm crazy for giggling alone in the office hehehe
Dharei Ramro !!

Hahaha.... any how shoot one lah, Campoes!
Thank you thank you.
You know SARP style, right? Got scene, then just shoot lor... hehehe....

Some more... at Lukla Airport...

I remembered we stepped out of the plane onto the tarmac of the airport ground. We were all really a little lost and didn't know where to head towards nor what next to do. Must have been the total flooding of our senses by the flight and the landing.
But what I remembered distinctly was this solider who was very insistent on our getting out of the compound, out through a rusty gate to where many Sherpa porters were waiting for us outside, together with our luggage. Despite Adrian's pitiful begging, he still disallowed us the luxury of staying inside the compound to wait for the landing of our Team 2.

It must have been the clear air high up there at 2800m, for the sky was really a deep blue.

5579089010_e72a9b2090_b.jpg

... and just for us to remember by, this photo was Geotagged to this spot. But it was interesting when I looked closely and discovered that we were truly in the middle of the mountains, in a tiny airport of a tiny town.

5579110274_e70f08c846_o.jpg

woop! lovely photos guys!! too bad i dont have any left to share! oh if you guys were to visit phakding again, try taking the sunrise over the river. its truly enchanting! guess its pretty obvious who i am now! LOL but well still like to compliment the SGtrekkers for organizing such a memorable trip for most of us. esp the taking part of the holi festival on the day of our flight delay. super resourceful guides too!

woop! lovely photos guys!! too bad i dont have any to share! guess its pretty obvious who i am now! LOL but well still like to compliment the SGtrekkers for organizing such a memorable trip for most of us. esp the taking part of the holi festival on the day of our flight delay. super resourceful guides too!

Hey, don't you worry New Kid in Town!
Saw a reference to your comment on FB. Looks like you are quite ON for the greater trek all the way to the end yah...
Never worry. By then your new 1Ds will be readied for you and together with the new unbreakable, unfallable, un-screw-openable R-strap!

Hey, don't you worry New Kid in Town!
Saw a reference to your comment on FB. Looks like you are quite ON for the greater trek all the way to the end yah...
Never worry. By then your new 1Ds will be readied for you and together with the new unbreakable, unfallable, un-screw-openable R-strap!
oh yes.. Dr.. I see a lot of people with R-straps (seems like got some double straps).. care to give some comments on it's pros & cons (or comparsion.. with others)..

haha hopefully! i still havent sent the R strap on trail yet! nx time i better buy a tether strap to use with the R strap. well still waiting for you guys to post photos of the gorgeous landscapes we came across along our way up!

woop! lovely photos guys!! too bad i dont have any left to share! oh if you guys were to visit phakding again, try taking the sunrise over the river. its truly enchanting! guess its pretty obvious who i am now! LOL but well still like to compliment the SGtrekkers for organizing such a memorable trip for most of us. esp the taking part of the holi festival on the day of our flight delay. super resourceful guides too!

So sorry to hear about the incident. But like Henri Cartier Bresson said "our eyes and brain are the greatest camera ever created". I'm sure you will not forget all the memories we had up there :)

T R A V E L O G U E

Some Data and Map for our Trip from this point onwards...

The problem with having too many flights and too much strenuous trekking (at least to some not so old ones of us) means that we often missed out certain important data that would make the trek and the trip much more meaningful.
And it is with this very aim that our good friend Dinosour gotten his iPhone4 loaded with a wonderful GPS App, and that I tried using my Garmin Oregon throughout this trip.

I have uploaded all the GPS information from my Oregon to Garmin Connect and it churned out some info for me. Here is some of the trip information of our Flight from Kathmandu to Lukla. The flight distance is 150km.
Our trek right after lunch from Lukla town to Phakding was almost 9.88km, according to my GPS, which I believe is very similar to Dinosour's EveryTrail App.
We rested at Namaste Lodge for lunch (which was at 2860m altitude) and walked to the small village Phakding which was at 2616m elevation.

5579613544_545da72993_b.jpg

If there are any mistakes that I have made, please Ladies and Gentlemen, correct me so that we would have as accurate information as we possibly can at the end of the day. Thank you all in advance!

The Map of our Trek from Lukla to Namche Bazaar
(and for some of us, all the way to Syangboche some more...!)

I have a small little map here which I have marked out our full trek up to Namche Bazaar from Lukla and back to Lukla, marked out with a thicker Red route (as can be made out below.).
This will be the map that I will try to refer to as we continue our Trek further north.

5576628410_20aa811973_o.jpg

View from our flight to nowhere...(suppose to be Lukla, but u-turn back to Kathmandu due to adverse weather condition)

_DSC6352 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

Aerial view of an unknown village.
_DSC6362 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

T R A V E L O G U E

Some Data and Map for our Trip from this point onwards...

The problem with having too many flights and too much strenuous trekking (at least to some not so old ones of us) means that we often missed out certain important data that would make the trek and the trip much more meaningful.
And it is with this very aim that our good friend Dinosour gotten his iPhone4 loaded with a wonderful GPS App, and that I tried using my Garmin Oregon throughout this trip.

I have uploaded all the GPS information from my Oregon to Garmin Connect and it churned out some info for me. Here is some of the trip information of our Flight from Kathmandu to Lukla. The flight distance is 150km.
Our trek right after lunch from Lukla town to Phakding was almost 9.88km, according to my GPS, which I believe is very similar to Dinosour's EveryTrail App.
We rested at Namaste Lodge for lunch (which was at 2860m altitude) and walked to the small village Phakding which was at 2616m elevation.

After reading all your GPS data, I think it is still better to get Garmin Oregon. That iPhone apps that I'm using simply can not make it. I'm going to get 1 Oregon before my next trip:thumbsup:

Happy Holi
IMG_2130-208 by g_wildcat66, on Flickr
This one captures the moment! Very nice job!

Our 2 hamsum fellow trekkers Johnny and Goose did what they promised to do if we touched down at Lukla Airport - Kiss and lick the tarmac.

5563744238_1aaaaf8626_b.jpg

Johnny: Wat it taste like huh?

Goose: Think it'll taste like chicken. Wait I try.

Goose: < lick lick >

Goose: OMGWTFBBQ #%*&*^^%#$ Ptooooi! Gah, taste worse than your week old underwear!

Kekekeke... I think the two of them Goose and Johnny they like the Sherpa cooking. Wahahaha!

I'm also enjoying the beautiful and funny captures from everyone on this thread from KL (and Manila next week). Will try to catch up over the weekend.. for now, here's one of my memorable ones.

Happiest view of All

After so many attempts of trying to get to Lukla, the climax and most happiest moments of all in this trip was seeing the runway at Lukla airport through the cockpit of our plane...
Lukla

WKCheah, your capture is beautiful and the runway is so clear here!

Campoes, I love the expression on her face!

Here is my shot of the mountain from our airoplane. The window has got marks so it is very hard to shoot. Don't know can make it or not. :sweat: :sweat:

SereneXMM #11
5579077119_273232c895_b.jpg

SereneXMM #12
Here is another Mountain when we flew in the airplane.
5579695632_81a6082b70_b.jpg

We started walking after we had some very nice lunch in Lukla and I shot this picture while we are walking. The road was flat andnice to walk. The second photo was the Google Map GPs showing where I shot the photo. Done up by limwhow.

SereneXMM #13
5579733170_f21f29eff9_b.jpg

SereneXMM #14

5579139941_5ea223ae53_b.jpg

The Dudh Koshi river is below the mountain.

Our 2 hamsum fellow trekkers Johnny and Goose did what they promised to do if we touched down at Lukla Airport - Kiss and lick the tarmac.

Johnny: Wat it taste like huh?

Goose: Think it'll taste like chicken. Wait I try.

Goose: < lick lick >

Goose: OMGWTFBBQ #%*&*^^%#$ Ptooooi! Gah, taste worse than your week old underwear!

wa I really miss this, lucky you had this shot. LOL

SereneXMM #15

Wherever we walk to we see many of this flower. It is the Rhododendron flower and has got many different types of colours.
5579164081_d442bcfc27_b.jpg

Here is my shot of the mountain from our airoplane. The window has got marks so it is very hard to shoot. Don't know can make it or not. :sweat: :sweat:

SereneXMM #11
5579077119_273232c895_b.jpg

Wow your shot was so much clearer than mine, nice