SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

5574165089_355eaba9b7_b.jpg

Wa so many medal award to give each time we went back to hotel.
Nice post, one cher for melvin

Stevewhy said:
I like this one too Dr... :thumbsup:
Leong is Sembahyang too and our dear Goose get himself drunk in sorrow... Kekeke
Hahaha.. Stevewhy, you have observed close and well- no one can beat a Macro shooter like yourself- yes, Cnleong was saying his prayers and Goose Goi was really gone with his drink!!! Hahaha...

campoes said:
Good observation Stevewhy :)
Please post the landing video in "nearby Lukla airport" can't wait too see it heheheheh
Yupe... Yupe. Stevewhy's video is the most tok gong one!
Dinosour said:
Goose is having his FOURTH welcome drink from Hotel Vaishali...
Yah, Dinosour! Why didn't I think of that??!! That WAS our forth welcome drink in Vaishali! Hahaha... Like that we drink Vaishali will go Pok-gai from welcome drink too!!! Hahaha...

Wind 450D said:
Wa so many medal award to give each time we went back to hotel.
Nice post, one cher for melvin

Hahaha... I never thought of it this way- haha... So funny the way you say it, Ah Wind!!!

T R A V E L O G U E

Our troubles continued...

At this point in time, all kinds of thoughts were in every one's mind.
And every body was thinking of very different things.
But Adrian and Melvin still had one last fighting chance to pull the whole trick together...
5574151181_b86d085742_b.jpg

Tough job, man, these two brave men.

I never realised that everyone looked so moody that day... hahaha..
Adrian & Melvin, as I have always said - no matter what happens on an sgtrekker trip, in the end, everyone goes home HAPPY!! :) :)

30. Another funny incident in airport.
After Jack wear the pants once, washed and ironed it, now only he realized that the sensormatic RF security tag still attached.
Johnny tried to remove the tag by using his foldable cutting fliers....this scene attracted everyone attention including the aiport police....oops ;p

31. After Johnny managed to remove the tag, the police asked him to checked in the cutting plier.
In between he told me "No still photography in airport premises"

190108_10150145311328158_540263157_6583508_4902511_n.jpg

32. Johnny trying to tell that we already checked in our baggage and it's just a survival kit, he didn't mean to use it for other purpose.
Again this attracts everyone attention, luckily our local guide Mahesh come to rescue and problem solved.
"No people are harmed or arrested during this incident and we became close friend of the airport police hehehe
Yaha.... that was really an unforgettable experience too.
But I think I just woke up when it happened, so I was a little blur blur to fully comprehend the whole incidence.... hahaha...

I never realised that everyone looked so moody that day... hahaha..
Adrian & Melvin, as I have always said - no matter what happens on an sgtrekker trip, in the end, everyone goes home HAPPY!! :) :)

Haha... yah, wkcheah, VERY VERY moody, from what I saw in the photo!

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 5 - Kathmandu to Lukla

After so many days of suspension, even the most excited traveller also will become sian-one-half liao already, that is if we really still fail to fly on Day 5.
Thus, on this day we all Fell-in, dumped our luggage, dropped ourselves onto the bus seats, waited at the Kathmandu domestic airport, and just hoped for the best.

Kathmandu domestic airport's security isn't the most fantastic.
Acpical and I were able to sneaked past the security guards to reach the grounds of the outside.
... and to snap a sunrise shot of Kathmandu - my very first Kathmandu sunrise shot.

5576003069_8acd4a7304_b.jpg

Adrian seemed to have discovered a better way of making heaps of money rather than doing this high risk job that he is currently doing...

5576015087_66cb6f3501_b.jpg

Just before 8am, we got news that Mahesh, our main Nepali guide, had banged some tables and switched us from our original airline to SITA Air.
This was done for the greater interest of the whole group as SITA Air was able to fly us off really quickly instead of being pushed ALL the way to a much later flight.
Of course, he seemed to have conveniently forgotten that the very last mishap in October 2010 that occured at Lukla Airport involved a plane from SITA Air...

5576036609_072a2bf30c_b.jpg

Whatever it was, the choice was not ours.
If there was a chance to land at Lukla, we would just grab it.
And here, was a record shot of us doing just that...

5576625566_0d6fa0a0e8_b.jpg

One of Our Most Exciting Flights... ever.

As if being squeezed into a single-row-each-side teeny-weeny one-propeller-on-each-side plane was not nerve-wrecking enough...
The fact that we could actually see what the Pilot and the Co-pilot was doing was no barrier (door) between the passengers and the cockpit was an eye-opening experience (if not more nerve-wrecking as we approached the mountain valleys and the runway) in its very self!
5576055177_1864902e19_b.jpg

By now, we all have acquired some Nepali terms already.
And most of us know that Dharei Ramro means 'Very Good'!

And it's only natural that the instinct to preserve the moment for posterity kicked in, and Adrian and wkcheah, and every one else started snapping away almost non-stop while on this 30 minutes flight.
We saw the Himalayan ranges and the Middle Mountains. I am sure all my fellow team mates have plenty of photos of these beautiful moments. So I am eagerly awaiting their shots... Comes guys, post post!!

5576064419_bb11d889ba_b.jpg

On this day, we were in team one and we took off first. It was sheer exhilaration to behold the mountains coming closer and closer to our plane as we edge towards Lukla. But honestly, the runway of Lukla Airport came up quicker than we expected. I just managed to lift up my camera and the runway was already in sight!
Hearts thumping, hands cold and clammy, lips dried and cracking - we all sat with breaths abated...

5576080771_3c18da7bc4_b.jpg

And on this day too, the landing was perfect.
No jolts, no bumps, no turbulence, almost nothing.
Before we knew it, the Pilot and Co-Pilot have done a most wonderful job of landing us in Tenzing-Hilary Airport (for ease of remembering, we'd just call it Lukla Airport lah...).
EVERYONE was cheering, as though they have gone through a most life-changing experience.
Even Baboo, the guide, was cheering with us... Hahaha...
5576673272_8d04c07142_b.jpg

Jokes all aside, the Pilot and Co-Pilot were most professional in carrying out their duties. And I must say, it is with flight crew like this that the incidence rate continues to be low.
My salute to ALL the flight crew on the flights to Lukla!!

Hahahaha funny caption!
HAha... thanks brother!

haha, creative and funny captions both of you have here!!

yup, kudos to both Adrian and Melvin for making this eventful trip a success.
Thanks, brother! Yupe, it was Adrian and Melvin who really pushed the wrong thing through.
Otherwise we would have ended up drinking welcome drink in Hotel Vaishali for 10 days... HAhahaha...!

We all know Stevewhy has a High Definition Video of the landing of the plane at Lukla Airport.
And we are all awaiting eagerly his video.
Of course, Stevewhy and half of our team was on flight two.
Here is a small humble video shot from just behind the cockpit of the landing of flight one...

Landing of Flight 01 at Lukla Airport with all those crazy fellow screaming their lungs out...
[video=youtube;rrzRBvBNzj0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrzRBvBNzj0[/video]

Mingalabar people. This is Melvin sending my replies for this thread from Myanmar. I am enjoying all the updates from everyone. I am also waiting for stevewhy to post up his video on the infamous "lukla" airport landing!

More photos will be posted till my return from the friendly Land of smiles.;)

Nice nice nice!

Thanks Doc

Now I know. Ah Wind450D shoot this shot from the back of the pet and you shot from the front of the pet!
Great shot, Ah Hawk2846 Wong!

Doc the one Wind shoot is cow, mine is goat....hahaha....

I like this one very much... Like we all going to walk up to climb mountain like that!

And you are laughing too.......

Our 2 hamsum fellow trekkers Johnny and Goose did what they promised to do if we touched down at Lukla Airport - Kiss and lick the tarmac.

5563744238_1aaaaf8626_b.jpg

Johnny: Wat it taste like huh?

Goose: Think it'll taste like chicken. Wait I try.

Goose: < lick lick >

Goose: OMGWTFBBQ #%*&*^^%#$ Ptooooi! Gah, taste worse than your week old underwear!

JohnnyLCP, this is, as I have said before, truly a beautiful piece!
Wonderful portray of the way the trekkers walked!

Mingalabar people. This is Melvin sending my replies for this thread from Myanmar. I am enjoying all the updates from everyone. I am also waiting for stevewhy to post up his video on the infamous "lukla" airport landing!

More photos will be posted till my return from the friendly Land of smiles.;)
Yah, waited so many days for you aready.... hahaha..
But still I don't blame you, for after Yangon, chances are you will be out of touch (no internet access) for the next 5 days until your return...

And you are laughing too.......
Yah... laughing like siao!

Our 2 hamsum fellow trekkers Johnny and Goose did what they promised to do if we touched down at Lukla Airport - Kiss and lick the tarmac.

5563744238_1aaaaf8626_b.jpg

Goose: OMGWTFBBQ #%*&*^^%#$ Ptooooi! Gah, taste worse than your week old underwear!

HAHAHAHA... That is FUNNY!
Yupe! We were all waiting for this 'Kissing the Grounds of Lukla' shot!
I completely missed it... great shot, vngks!

And here's a shot of the infamous runway. The locals were probably laughing at us standing right behind the plane revving it's propellers for take-off. The draft was really strong and cold!

5563168363_7a3ff52224_b.jpg

I'm also enjoying the beautiful and funny captures from everyone on this thread from KL (and Manila next week). Will try to catch up over the weekend.. for now, here's one of my memorable ones.

Happiest view of All

After so many attempts of trying to get to Lukla, the climax and most happiest moments of all in this trip was seeing the runway at Lukla airport through the cockpit of our plane...
Lukla

ROFL! Vngks, my stomach still hurts from laughing at these captions... good one! :)