SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

very exciting event Holi Festival

5568305935_b25e3231b9_b.jpg

My share of Holi shots...

1) Wai Kit & Mario retreated after discovered some assault at the front line. Our brave Wee How decided to stay firmed on the street & continue shooting.

DSC_2301 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

2) Look up & watch out for water cannon!

DSC_2311 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

3) Female tourists seem to be their primary target.

DSC_2330 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

4) Sherwin: you can run but you can't hide...

DSC_2336 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

5) Mahesh: I told u to protect & waterproof yr equipment!
Shah: Not to worry, my D3S is dustproof & weatherproof.

DSC_2346 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

hahaha... you caught the comical side of me very accurately... :)
Thanks!

Hahaha... don't thank me, wkcheah! We are all like veterans on the battlefield.
I could still remember how I approached the field with my heart in my mouth... apprehension but yet with a sense of excitement.

1) Wai Kit & Mario retreated after discovered some assault at the front line. Our brave Wee How decided to stay firmed on the street & continue shooting.

And Dinosour! Your this shot of all the brave photojournalists on that afternoon is a great catch!
I can finally see where I was in. I didn't realise that there was still so many Nepali revelers behind me!
Had I known, I would have started running harder together with wkcheah and Campoes! Hahaha...!

HAhaha...! Absolutely agree with you on that!
The Nepali Holi revelers have a knack for being naughty on innocent, cute, unsuspecting little female subjects!!
Big guys like us would just kena the brunt of the bombs - SMACK and run! Hahaha..!

Back tracking a little to Bhaktapur...

InfraRed rendition of a carving on the Pashupatinath Temple, in Bhaktapur. The temple features erotic wood carvings engraved throughout the support beams, also known as “tunala”. Erotic artwork is a common theme across many temples in the Kathmandu valley.
There are many myths on the status of such erotic arts on Nepali Temples. One of them is –‘According to the Hindu Myth, goddesses of lightning is very shy virgin, who would not strike upon temple with such erotic carving”. It looked like one of the way to protect the Holy temple from natural Disaster.

DSC_0467 by wkcheah, on Flickr

Another IR rendition of temple at Bhaktapur (600nm)

DSC_0463 by wkcheah, on Flickr

wkcheah! You are the only other person in the team who hold an IR camera.
And these two IR shots are lovely!
Especially the two men sitting on the steps of the temple. Very nice IR shot!

Some very nice candid pic posted on the Holi.

Not to take any credit away from you guys, this Indian has won the 2009 Travel Photographer of the Yr. Portfolio Cat. for his Holi pics. Really awesome pics. He must have already soaked his body in colour to move in. You guys never thought of that meh?
http://www.desinuts.com/2009/04/06/celebration-of-colors-captured-by-poras-chaudhary-28-pics/

Haha... divinemoment, those pictures are really in-the-face in-the-body totally wild Holi Festivals! Ours in Nepal was not so wild.
But still it was enough to made us palpitate quite a bit while walking on the street!

Divinemoment - those holi pics are awesome.. SG Holi not so wild la :( ... no sure about the ones in Nepal.. maybe linwhow & gang can eleborate more.. :)

p.s. Divinemoment - it is also not so easy to wash away those coloured powder (someone mentioned you should apply coconut oil on body before you get powdered).. will likely stay with you for a few days!!.. not sure if they want to look coloured in Nepal for a few days.. hehehheee..

Well, ClemC, it took quite a bit of rubbing on my face before the colours would start to come off.
And we realised that one of the most effective means of removing them was to make use of an indigenous form of soap bar that they provided in the hotel toilet that smelled a little wierd.
Still, it was Stevewhy who finally discovered that the coloured powders were made from cow dungs! Whuack...! hahahaha...!

i would love to play with them haha... hopefully my trip to BKK next mth for songkran will be as fun as this.

I am sure it will be, sinned79, I am sure it will be!

hope the weather be kind... BKK now is unusually colder then it should be and southern Thailand had floods. :( oops i off topic already :x

My best shot of theTrip .. Even better than shooting Everest !! Presenting The other side of Melvin .. Mauahaha
5570725192_1c67b4a230_b.jpg

Wait for me....i'm still on the 1st day ;p

16. Swayambhunath's worshippers include Hindus, Vajrayana Buddhists of northern Nepal and Tibet, and the Newari Buddhists of central and southern Nepal. Each morning before dawn, hundreds of pilgrims will ascend the 365 steps that lead up the hill.

206514_10150136474153158_540263157_6575694_7263398_n.jpg

17. Again I roam around the area trying to find a nice angle to frame the stupa, but this time my attention drawn to this painting shop and have chit-chat with the owner of the shop (from Melvin I came to know that her name is Shiva or Shiwa). The most amazing thing is that almost all the painting in this shop is drawn by her.
I didn't purchase any painting from her, but she allows me to take her photos :)

207878_10150136474298158_540263157_6575696_5496816_n.jpg

18. Life in Kathmandu is quite relax and laidback without any stress, so I'm just wondering whether this guy thinking about doing suicide or just want to enjoy the scenery hehe.

207218_10150136474603158_540263157_6575702_2838591_n.jpg

My best shot of theTrip .. Even better than shooting Everest !! Presenting The other side of Melvin .. Mauahaha

Welcome, JohnnyLCP, Welcome!
Finally have you on board the thread.
Steady lah, you!
First shot already killed the Subject die die liao... Melvin this time round cannot even lift his head up high in public already!
Gone case, him... gone case!

hahahaha bro johnny, u really make my day !!!
nice nice nice....

Wahahaaa...excellent capture, Johnny! I love the sense of movement and the pose. A good job in capturing the expression...:thumbsup::bsmilie:

2) Look up & watch out for water cannon!

DSC_2311 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

4) Sherwin: you can run but you can't hide...

DSC_2336 by KC_Tng, on Flickr

5) Mahesh: I told u to protect & waterproof yr equipment!
Shah: Not to worry, my D3S is dustproof & weatherproof.

DSC_2346 by KC_Tng, on Flickr
@Dinosour, wow what a great shot! Wonderful post.

Holi Festival...

Hehe... some of the shots of our fellow team mates that SereneXMM and I captured, collated into a simply montage.

5573210845_077000cba4_o.jpg

Of so many handsome fellows, the one on the lower right hand corner is of course, none other than our Nepali main guide - Mahesh.