SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

03. Stairs climbing

04. Cycle

05. And not to forget, regular "G" drinks to replenish the lost ions and minerals :)

Fwaaahhh! Campoes, you really very on yah!
Exercise until like that so crazy yah... no wonder both SereneXMM and I had to double up our walking speed to keep pace with you high up in the mountains!

Fwaaahhh! Campoes, you really very on yah!
Exercise until like that so crazy yah... no wonder both SereneXMM and I had to double up our walking speed to keep pace with you high up in the mountains!

hahaha limhow, even after all these exercise I'm still panting behind you while doing the ascend to Namche Bazzar... you and SereneXMM are still super fit :thumbsup:

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 3 - The Holi Festival

It was truly a blessing in disguise that we could not fly on Day 3, for it was the Eve of The Holi Festival in Nepal, The Holi Dhana.
In Nepal, the Holi Festival is celebrated in a big way, as big as the Diwari Festival.
Here, courtesy of Wikipedia, is a summary:

Holi is a spring religious festival celebrated by Hindus. It is primarily observed in India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and countries with large Indic diaspora populations.
The most celebrated Holi is that of the Braj region, in locations connected to the Lord Krishna: Mathura, Vrindavan, Nandagaon, and Barsana. These places have become tourist destinations during the festive season of Holi, which lasts here to up to sixteen days.

The main day, Holi, also known as Dhuli Vandana in Sanskrit, is celebrated by people throwing coloured powder and coloured water at each other. Bonfires are lit on the eve of the festival, also known as Holika Dahan (burning of Holika). The bonfires are lit in memory of the miraculous escape that young Prahlad accomplished when Demoness Holika, sister of Hiranyakashipu, carried him into the fire. Holika was burnt but Prahlad, a staunch devotee of god Vishnu, escaped without any injuries due to his unshakable devotion.

Holi is celebrated at the end of the winter season on the last full moon day of the lunar month (February/March), which usually falls in the later part of February or March.
In 2011, Holi was on March 20 and Holika Dahan was on March 19.

So there we were, right smack in the middle of the Holi Festival Eve.
We arrived at our Hotel Vaishali after a disappointing morning of No Flights. And Goose, Johnny, ZY and wkcheah were one of the first few brave ones who ventured out of the Hotel compound onto the streets of Kathmandu, knowing jolly well that they were asking for it (it, as in having coloured powder smashed on their faces and bodies).

I slowly plucked up my courage and walked to the hotel gate.
To my utter shock, I saw for the first time in my life, wkcheah running so fast back into the hotel ground!!!

5567877775_957c06c892_b.jpg

The Holi Dhana (Holi Festival Eve) continued...

When I scanned the street behind wkcheah, what I saw was something that totally blew my mind. It was nothing like what I have ever seen before. Although deep down inside, I knew that Holi Festival was a festival of jubilation, but the sight of masses of Nepali with coloured faces and clothing walking down, smiles hanging on their faces, coloured powders at the ready in their palms, and water bombs in their hands... was simply too overwhelming for my uninitiated brain to come to grasp.

So I ran back together with wkcheah into the hotel ground. Hehehe...
But not before I took some more shots...

Here, we saw a couple of Ang Mohs who got totally bombarded. From afar, I couldn't even tell that they were Ang Mohs until they walked nearer...
5571220275_0b505eb22e_b.jpg

... and a Japanese/Korean-looking man, also totally bombed out...
5571810694_1aa8949cfc_b.jpg

... and an unsuspecting Ang Moh lady who may not have remembered that today was Holi Festival Eve...
5571811612_5dac57ac18_b.jpg

... and another Ang Moh lady who may have realised that it was Holi Festival Eve too late...
5571812766_84ff7b2a48_b.jpg

Wowww.... nice color combination you have in your photos bro Limwhow, superb :thumbsup::thumbsup:

We thought that the hotel ground was safe.
But we were totally wrong.
On Holi Festival Eve, no where in Kathmandu was safe from the Happy Holi-ing crowds...! Hahaha...

Here, cnleong attempted a last minute burst of fire before retreating further...
5571225083_922c273ae6_b.jpg

... and our poor AmelG... she really kena bad bad from the Holi revelers... left, right and from on top... Heheh..! Some more right in the middle of our hotel car park!
They really never give chance yah! The cuter the XMM, the more she kena-ed...
5571816168_50ac3c0fcf_o.jpg

Wowww.... nice color combination you have in your photos bro Limwhow, superb :thumbsup:

Thank you very much, Campoes! I anyhow hum tum one lah...
You also saw that scene - and we all know that on that day, everything was colourful! Hahaha...!

The Holi Dhana continued...

So at about 2pm, the decision was made for the whole team to walk out onto the streets of Kathmandu to experience first hand for ourselves the Holi Festival, led by our good guides Mahesh and Baboo, on the pretext that we would be walking all the way to the Durbar Square of Kathmandu.
Now that was really something.
Because for the first time in my life, I felt as though I was a photo-journalist in a War Zone, shooting photos of soldiers running in zig-zag fashion for their lives, taking cover beneath shelters, dodging water bombs and colour-powder bullets...
Phew... it was really an experience, for me, as much as I am sure it was for every one else on the team.

Here, Johnny our man cheong-ed through the Danger Zone... He already kena-ed one big red bullet on his forehead by then...
5571345605_edb577cd45_b.jpg

... and Ah Wind Tan follow tightly. At this point in time, he was still clean as he didn't kena any bombs yet... unlike our poor victims Goose Goi, Johnny and AmelG..
5571346907_644dd75120_b.jpg

... and who else but our Sherwn running through sheets of water from high above the roof. The Nepali are really good bombers... they have very accurate aims...
5571348283_17ccceaa35_b.jpg

... and yes, our husband and wife team.. Still clean and energetic..
5571349861_cd5cf76a42_b.jpg

And if any of our audience here was on that street at that moment on that day, this would be the scene that he or she would behold, with trepidation...
5571352629_4b270a9665_b.jpg

5571491243_51e2c2cd3a_z.jpg

5571492141_18d2178035_b.jpg

5572083146_4ebf7cd5c1_b.jpg

... and also this scene of Melvin running very very fast for his life! Hahaha....!
5571351189_62a301e48d_b.jpg

Cloudy Baktapur
5568152909_05ec8ed691.jpg

Nepali Temple in Baktapur's Durbur Square with Chinese influence architecture
5568723564_af7885ec56.jpg

Dancing (young) Divas in Baktapur
5568143281_b38db00711.jpg

Most photographed little girl. (Little Red Riding Hood)
5568743094_10c8bcf6ed.jpg

Back alleys of Baktapur
5568168277_e83c7e2901.jpg

A typical Street of of Baktapur

5568759908_0725159c8a.jpg

5568185303_ccb1f46e75.jpg

5568760668_d993972281.jpg

5568746648_acbd9fea9c.jpg

Hey, nice one, Dinosour! How come I didn't see that angle?!
You are really good, you know that, Dinosour?
Throughout the trip I think you are one of the more diligent and on-the-b*ll shooters for your camera gears are ALWAYS with you and we ALWAYS see you with your camera strapped tightly to your right wrist so that you never miss a chance for a good shot!
Kudos to you, Dinosour!

Thanks Dr! You guys are always so encouraging.:thumbsup:

To my utter shock, I saw for the first time in my life, wkcheah running so fast back into the hotel ground!!!

hahaha... you caught the comical side of me very accurately... :)
Thanks!

Back tracking a little to Bhaktapur...

DSC_7717 by wkcheah, on Flickr

Entering through the Golden Gate and behind the 55 Window Palace, we come across Taleju Bhavani Temple and the Royal Bath. Very obviously every city has a Taleju Bhavani Temple as She is believed to be the Protectors of the city by the orthodox Hindus. The Royal Bath yet looks glamorous with the image of the Serpent God in the middle of the sanatorium although the water- Spout has completely dried up. Late King Ranjit Malla was the last of the Malla dynasty to take a holy bath. The 17th century also saw the downfall of the Malla monarchy.

DSC_7725 by wkcheah, on Flickr

InfraRed rendition of a carving on the Pashupatinath Temple, in Bhaktapur. The temple features erotic wood carvings engraved throughout the support beams, also known as “tunala”. Erotic artwork is a common theme across many temples in the Kathmandu valley.
There are many myths on the status of such erotic arts on Nepali Temples. One of them is –‘According to the Hindu Myth, goddesses of lightning is very shy virgin, who would not strike upon temple with such erotic carving”. It looked like one of the way to protect the Holy temple from natural Disaster.

DSC_0467 by wkcheah, on Flickr

Another IR rendition of temple at Bhaktapur (600nm)

DSC_0463 by wkcheah, on Flickr

Streets of Bhaktapur (and its colors)

As if time slows down or stands still, you can sense the traditions and old ways of how life used to be in Bhaktapur.

DSC_7756 by wkcheah, on Flickr
Pottery is still one of the major industry in this ancient city. When I approached a craftman who is spinning the wheel and moulding a shape out of his ball of clay, whether I could take his photos, his answer was merely "Rupees".

DSC_7760 by wkcheah, on Flickr
Where else in the world would you be able to find a barber by the road side or in the middle of a square, doing his job?

DSC_7774 by wkcheah, on Flickr
Colorful fruits and vegetables vendors selling their goods on bicycles or laid out on the ground along the ancient cobbled streets...

DSC_7737 by wkcheah, on Flickr
And of course, the very fascinating Thanka painting school... :)

Some very nice candid pic posted on the Holi.

Not to take any credit away from you guys, this Indian has won the 2009 Travel Photographer of the Yr. Portfolio Cat. for his Holi pics. Really awesome pics. He must have already soaked his body in colour to move in. You guys never thought of that meh?
http://www.desinuts.com/2009/04/06/celebration-of-colors-captured-by-poras-chaudhary-28-pics/

Not to take any credit away from you guys, this Indian has won the 2009 Travel Photographer of the Yr. Portfolio Cat. for his Holi pics. Really awesome pics. He must have already soaked his body in colour to move in. You guys never thought of that meh?
http://www.desinuts.com/2009/04/06/celebration-of-colors-captured-by-poras-chaudhary-28-pics/
Divinemoment - those holi pics are awesome.. SG Holi not so wild la :( ... no sure about the ones in Nepal.. maybe linwhow & gang can eleborate more.. :)

p.s. Divinemoment - it is also not so easy to wash away those coloured powder (someone mentioned you should apply coconut oil on body before you get powdered).. will likely stay with you for a few days!!.. not sure if they want to look coloured in Nepal for a few days.. hehehheee..

Divinemoment - those holi pics are awesome.. SG Holi not so wild la :( ... no sure about the ones in Nepal.. maybe linwhow & gang can eleborate more.. :)

p.s. Divinemoment - it is also not so easy to wash away those coloured powder (someone mentioned you should apply coconut oil on body before you get powdered).. will likely stay with you for a few days!!.. not sure if they want to look coloured in Nepal for a few days.. hehehheee..

I think must prepare to write off the camera if you gonna to mingle with them. Probably worst then lor-ka thong, at least no coconut oil needed. ha ha.

i would love to play with them haha... hopefully my trip to BKK next mth for songkran will be as fun as this.