Service Offered Section Not considered As Advertisers?

Chris Lim

Hi Guys and Mods, It has struck me a long time back to wonder about the advertising for service offered in the service offered section to be somewhat strange that the advertisers there are not required to pay for advertising their services.

The reason i am bringing this up is because i find it strange that for shoot organizers they are charged a fee for usage of CS as a business solicitation grounds. However the amounts involved are not even close to as being as high as those charging in the service offered section. Should there be a revision in this?

I highly recommend that this be looked into to help the professional scene too, as this serves as too good a platform for the industry to be diluted by freelances who are offering services at overly affordable prices thus affecting the balance of the market as well as creating a very huge screen that slowly but surely start to confuse the customers into knowing and understanding what it takes to create a good photograph as well as what it takes to choose a good photographer.

I hope the moderators will look into this issue.

Chris Lim

chill. i got warned for a joke. well, sometimes mod just takes things so seriously.

Hi Guys and Mods, It has struck me a long time back to wonder about the advertising for service offered in the service offered section to be somewhat strange that the advertisers there are not required to pay for advertising their services.

The reason i am bringing this up is because i find it strange that for shoot organizers they are charged a fee for usage of CS as a business solicitation grounds. However the amounts involved are not even close to as being as high as those charging in the service offered section. Should there be a revision in this?

I highly recommend that this be looked into to help the professional scene too, as this serves as too good a platform for the industry to be diluted by freelances who are offering services at overly affordable prices thus affecting the balance of the market as well as creating a very huge screen that slowly but surely start to confuse the customers into knowing and understanding what it takes to create a good photograph as well as what it takes to choose a good photographer.

I hope the moderators will look into this issue.

Chris Lim

I understand where you are coming from and my sentiment is similar about it too.

In fact many of these services offered even put commercial photography as one of the services offered :think: and yet smack right into personal services offered when there is a need to pay for advertisement or even for their software they uses (I won't be surprise that most even use educational license, instead of full license of abt $1k for CS4)

Yes perhaps admin could be highlighted on this. Afterall CS spent 10k on a server, and yet some ppl who earn $ from using CS is doing it from this platform free :think:

we could also remodel our services wanted section into something similar to Gebiz. =D

the trouble is that majority of cs is going to make up that "freelance" component, a lot of the people here use photography as a means to sideline on weekends.

the same happens for workshop/shoot organisers, but these are in the minority, and that's how it is. well, that's if you want an explanation. as to whether this will change in future is entirely up to the admin/mod team, of course.

So Any further recommendations? or contributions on this? In fact i think maybe CS might like to work with some professionals to conduct some workshop for the people interested in the business practices. Followed by offering a rebate or discounted advertiser fees if they would still like to advertise. Because from what i know. Even for the wedding and commercial industry clients come in here and look into the service offered section to look and fish for the cheapest deals. And as much as this has been debated on. That is a huge factor that is making things tougher across the board in the industry. I think and honestly feel strongly that it is high time we do somethings about it to make it a respected craft rather then just something everyone can do.

I understand where you are coming from and my sentiment is similar about it too.

In fact many of these services offered even put commercial photography as one of the services offered :think: and yet smack right into personal services offered when there is a need to pay for advertisement or even for their software they uses (I won't be surprise that most even use educational license, instead of full license of abt $1k for CS4)

Yes perhaps admin could be highlighted on this. Afterall CS spent 10k on a server, and yet some ppl who earn $ from using CS is doing it from this platform free :think:

very hard lah... remember the last time i did moderation there... kena up down left right everyday... maybe u ask nightwolf he will also give you the same reply... unless there is more support from members and admin, else a mod step in, people will just give you a comment, U MOD ONLY HAO LIAN SIMI... etc...

i think i brought it up before about the companies coming in... but its hard to constantly monitor who is freelance, who do weekend only, or who actually registered a company. Cos anyone can just register a nick, then post there, if we check 1 by 1, i think we can make this a full time job and our full time job become freelance. Remember, mods are not paid for the work done here.

chill. i got warned for a joke. well, sometimes mod just takes things so seriously.

really? what did you post... please share... i need a good laugh once in a while. :bsmilie:

i was once a forum murderer... now ex-convict...

why not as long as it is for money as a service offered. Charge advertising fees? cos as far as i see, almost all the post are offering services for a fee. And if there is really a need for photographers. let the consumers post in the service wanted thread. That way the service offered people can go mail the service wanted people themselves.

easier said than done... how would we know if its money offered? then how much to collect?

we just collect from advertisers ppl already say clubsnap money face... people don't understand from our point of view... and always think that admins and mods are paid so if we charge, they think we even more money face.

we did divert some of them to go apply for advertiser status, some ignore, we ban... kpkb and back again with another nick, restructured nicely missing the monetary part and quote us our terms and conditions and say that they're not wrong please refer to our own T&Cs again before warning them... do we have time to play with these people?

you mean you did not get your limited edition gold leica for your years of service?

easier said than done... how would we know if its money offered? then how much to collect?

we just collect from advertisers ppl already say clubsnap money face... people don't understand from our point of view... and always think that admins and mods are paid so if we charge, they think we even more money face.

we did divert some of them to go apply for advertiser status, some ignore, we ban... kpkb and back again with another nick, restructured nicely missing the monetary part and quote us our terms and conditions and say that they're not wrong please refer to our own T&Cs again before warning them... do we have time to play with these people?

Take away the service offered entirely? no money problems. no people problem. no kpkb problem.

you mean offer service with money exchange hands than must pay CS subscription to be Advertiser?

Ok, so can I ask people to pay me in

5 tin of 2kg Milo
10kg of Thai rice
5kg of sugar
2 cans of instant coffee
10 cans of .........

cool right? not against the law.... ;)

services wanted/offered sub-forum was originally designed to be a place for casual freelancers - ie, those CSers who offer photography services as an occasional sideline. but over the years, it has degenerated to the point that even commercial service providers are side-stepping the fee-payment in commercial services and posting in services offered. there is no way we can police this, short of shutting down the entire place and forcing people to pay in commercial services, even those who are genuinely doing sidelines. this kills the CSers who are not dependent on their sidelines to survive.

the admins are looking into this currently. lets see how it goes.

Something tells me that the topic of this thread has to do with my recent missing thread for monitor calibration service (see link on my signature below). Any updates on this matter?

By the way, Happy Mother's Day to all mothers :)

you mean offer service with money exchange hands than must pay CS subscription to be Advertiser?

Ok, so can I ask people to pay me in

5 tin of 2kg Milo
10kg of Thai rice
5kg of sugar
2 cans of instant coffee
10 cans of .........

cool right? not against the law.... ;)
you can pay as 2 cups of milo, 2 cups of coffee and 2 bowls of rice :bsmilie: