Samsung EX-1 Review

Here is an example of a IMHO good EX1 picture:

Exif Data: ISO 80, 1/350 sec, f3.9, --1.3 EV, Full Size

To bring out the pros and cons of EX1, you have to show the appropriate photos for comparison right? If the photos are taken without the correct settings of EX1, how can we do the comparison? I just meant that the photos posted here are not good for checking the pros and cons of EX1 because I suspect that they were taken using the inappropriate settings.

sorry, that is only half true...... have you not read the disclaimer earlier in the thread that these are just regular pics and not scientifically executed and to wait for other reviews that accurately measure speeds/response rates , CA, distortion etc etc etc

Earlier images in this thread have shown 100% crops shot at
- various ISOs from lowest to highest
- various levels of Saturation settings
- various f-stops

The pros and cons here are mostly on things like
- usability
- ergonomics
- ease of user interface
- handling issues
- how ridiculously short that charging cable is
- using reote flash triggers on slave flash units etc etc etc

You can trash my images posted , really dont care, but please do be mindful of your patronizing comments of images that other CSer's have uploaded to share.......... you are bordering on being plain rude

(comments deleted)

Again, this thread is supposed to be a neutral review of the EX1 discussing both its good and bad points (pros/cons) .......... if the pictures are not up to your standards or do not fulfill your desire of a comparison.... well, sorry brother.... perhaps another review elsewhere in the Web would be more appropriate for you?

Chill out, man ...... its just a $500-$600 camera

sorry, that is only half true...... have you not read the disclaimer earlier in the thread that these are just regular pics and not scientifically executed and to wait for other reviews that accurately measure speeds/response rates , CA, distortion etc etc etc

Earlier images in this thread have shown 100% crops shot at
- various ISOs from lowest to highest
- various levels of Saturation settings
- various f-stops

The pros and cons here are mostly on things like
- usability
- ergonomics
- ease of user interface
- handling issues
- how ridiculously short that charging cable is
- using reote flash triggers on slave flash units etc etc etc

You can trash my images posted , really dont care, but please do be mindful of images that other CSer's have uploaded to share.......... you are bordering on being plain rude

I noticed that you're in the process of selling your EX1 ..... or you have sold it. Do not attempt to prompt this thread in your desired direction of 'prettty' pics so that you can off load your EX1 at a better price .

Again, this thread is supposed to be a neutral review of the EX1 discussing both its good and bad points (pros/cons) .......... if the pictures are not up to your standards or do not fulfill your desire of a comparison.... well, sorry brother.... perhaps another review elsewhere in the Web would be more appropriate for you?

Chill out, man ...... its just a $500-$600 camera

I think you have got me wrong. Very wrong indeed. Maybe my language is not good to express my opinions.
My intention is very simple - just to let the readers here know that there are better photos taken by EX1 on other websites, which can help the readers understand more about the potential and ability of this camera. Nothing wrong right?
If my intention is to offload my EX1 like what you said, I swear I will be killed by car accident tonight when I walk out of my office.
If you upload your photos here but cannot accept criticisms, then I will apologize to you to make you feel better.
If you cannot accept criticisms, you won't improve further. When you see the good quality photos from the link, don't you feel the urge to know more like how they manage to shoot such a nice photo using EX1? The urge will definitely help you to learn more about photography and EX1.
For my case, I wanted to sell because I'm very keen to move into DSLR after spending many days learning about photography, but have no budget to get one unless I sell my EX1. It has nothing to do with the quality of EX1. In fact, if I afford to have a Nikon DSLR and EX1 at the same time, I would be the happiest man in the world.

....ok, whatever.... peace .......... have removed my comments about your intentions with your cam.... that is not a fair comment

NOBODY is asking for praise for the pics posted... just sharing pics based on our present level of ability, and if its not the best representative and others elsewhere can do a better job , all power to them.

If there are 'better' images that demonstrates the cam's ability , please just list the links without the secondary comments. Fair ?

Lets stay on topic and keep this discussion going.

....ok, whatever.... peace .......... have removed my comments about your intentions with your cam.... that is not a fair comment

NOBODY is asking for praise for the pics posted... just sharing pics based on our present level of ability, and if its not the best representative and others elsewhere can do a better job , all power to them.

If there are 'better' images that demonstrates the cam's ability , please just list the links without the secondary comments. Fair ?

Lets stay on topic and keep this discussion going.

Btw, anyone got any other case/pouch other than the one given by samsung??
Is there any 3rd party case like the lx3 type(dun know how to say)??:sweat:

I searched in Taipei and HK last week......... no luck..... they had tons of leather screw on cases for G11s and LX3's ......... common comment was that this model is too new and to check back in a couple of months time.

hai, :dunno::dunno:

what i want to say i posted liao.

still hoping for a EX1 owner to come out with peterpan1975 & me to do a side by side comparison.:lovegrin::lovegrin:

For my case, I wanted to sell because I'm very keen to move into DSLR after spending many days learning about photography, but have no budget to get one unless I sell my EX1. It has nothing to do with the quality of EX1. In fact, if I afford to have a Nikon DSLR and EX1 at the same time, I would be the happiest man in the world.

Don't hold the Ex1 because of bad comment. Always treat is as business, nothing personal :)

For those that may be interested. I took a chance and tried my Quantaray QB-350A with the PT-04TM even though the flash has a high trigger voltage. 270v. It works like a charm and no damage so far after 50 photos. It is a smaller flash and therefore easier to hold, lighter to carry around. It's a little weaker compared to the Sunpak 383. I usually have to set aperture to f2.8 or so when bounce from ceiling. I am able to use iso 80 for good image quality.
Here is pic of flash on the trigger:
http://g2.img-dpreview.com/B63DFBA945BF48F5A9848AFDAE7D20F3.jpg
Here are some samples with this flash and trigger with EX1
http://g4.img-dpreview.com/446F56540E7A4F16932466DE34A5C151.jpg
http://g1.img-dpreview.com/A008ED779AAD482EB91FC907C391E72B.jpg
http://g3.img-dpreview.com/CA30537F62D940DB8BCAE83BA757FA32.jpg
http://s3.amazonaws.com/masters.gal...931927&Signature=rNvWAbkW7uTuMjLBCEbk5jYQKU8=

I included the last photo in full size, but for some reason the full size images seem to become nonfunctional on this forum. I'm not sure if I'm violating a rule by posting full size photos. Someone let me know if I should not do it.

For those that may be interested. I took a chance and tried my Quantaray QB-350A with the PT-04TM even though the flash has a high trigger voltage. 270v. It works like a charm and no damage so far after 50 photos.

alamak, since u using pt-04 remote flash trigger, it doesnt matter as it is not mounted on the camera but the pt-04 receiver.

Yes, this is true.
It still was an unknown.......whether this PT-04TM receiver was capable of handling higher trigger voltages from the QB-350A flash.
Now I can say that it is capable, and a good way to use an external flash which one may already have, thus avoiding the purchase of a more expensive dedicated flash unit or a lower trigger voltage model.

apart from the older PT04, i have the PT04TM trigger and receiver too ..... yes it works too

too bad these 2 (PT04 and PT04TM) will not work off one another despite both being 2 channel triggers

Here is an example of a IMHO good EX1 picture:

Exif Data: ISO 80, 1/350 sec, f3.9, --1.3 EV, Full Size

There is no soul in the photo. Is this typical of Samsung?

incorporating 'soul' is the job of the photog... not a camera's responsibility , no ? :bsmilie:

If only I could pay for 'soul'..... :)

'soul' is the job of the photog... not a camera's responsibility , no ? :bsmilie:

If only I could pay for 'soul'..... :)

alamak, u both so wrong i dont know where to begin.

capturing soul is the job of the "reaper" and "1st & 2nd uncle" lar.:bsmilie::bsmilie:

Yes, It's no soul it's a cat :bsmilie:

I took this picture to demonstrate the sharpness of the EX1 and not to demonstrate my artistic skills.