S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

lastboltnut said:
Ha! My son....waiting for him to learn to sit by himself....then can shoot and shoot;)

Din see you post in the gallery with your 350D pic...
hahaz.. didnT haf much time to practise wif my 350D. too much work already.. neways, too new to e setup. dare nt post.. :embrass:

Hello again,

My NTU series part 3. I am not good with architecture and is learning, please bear with me and give me your comments...thanks.

#1 Admin Building
204902926_b7244be896.jpg

#2 LT2
204902931_261bd813d5.jpg

#3 Structure
204902934_6264387cdf.jpg

Heres my take on a 16:9

face1wi5.jpg

iboey said:

face1wi5.jpg
I like the composition, how the eyes are staring away. Would have looked even better with a clear background, like the sky, or a tree that is more even. Cannot help that, unless you chop the tree away. :)

A-10 Thunderbolt II

I got this pin from Asean Aerospace a long time ago. It is about 2cm from wingtip to wingtip. I used a 100W bulb to shoot this.

206565971_61b0ac4dd9.jpg

206565970_e57392be7c.jpg

The DCR-250 can be a pain to use, since the DOF is really thin. I had to use f8 with an exposure of 1/10. Will try this out again with two lamps, so I can get rid of the shadow.

Hi cerebrus, think the first pic is in the shadow (the lamp is at the back), so many details are under leh....the 2nd pic is ok as the lamp is in front...:)

The pin looks old, which year aerospace?

cerebrus said:
A-10 Thunderbolt II

206565971_61b0ac4dd9.jpg

Very nice composition like cerebrus said....if only the trees could be blurred with shallower DOF, since cannot chop them away.

Another way is PP if you dun mind. My suggestions on PP the tree:

Blur them
Motion blur them horizontally, then the pic looks like the face is staring fiercely ahead with the horizontal blur line guide the direction.....like comic hor?

Very good pic to play with, you have here...:)

iboey said:

face1wi5.jpg

lastboltnut said:
Hi cerebrus, think the first pic is in the shadow (the lamp is at the back), so many details are under leh....the 2nd pic is ok as the lamp is in front...:)

The pin looks old, which year aerospace?
I will try this again with two lamps, so less shadow. Also need to get some sort of diffuser for the lamps, so that the lighting is less harsh. Keep on getting blown highlights.

Think I got it about 6 to 10 years ago!

The following picture (100% crop) was taken with my new S3 at Labrodor Park. One hand had to hold the branch so that it did not sway with the wind. With shallow DOF, it was difficult to have sharp focus on the insect. Anyone knows the name of the insect? It is around 5mm long.

Rgds

IMG_0174.jpg

biped said:
The following picture (100% crop) was taken with my new S3 at Labrodor Park. One hand had to hold the branch so that it did not sway with the wind. With shallow DOF, it was difficult to have sharp focus on the insect. Anyone knows the name of the insect? It is around 5mm long.

Rgds

IMG_0174.jpg

This insect looks scarry!! hahahaha!! Does it fly? I wouldn't dare to shoot insects at such a near distance.

Maybe you could try to increase the colour saturation and do some burning to make the picture look more impactful...

It sticked to the branch even when red ants were crawling over it. Didn't see it fly though it seemed to have a set of wing. It looks scarry when amplified, but it is actually very small.

This image was shot with default colour saturation. It was merely cropped to get the digital zoom. Thanks for your tip to enhance the photo. I usually do not try to enhance the photo unless it is really bad. I prefer natural color and that is why I prefer either Canon or Nikon cameras as both brands tend to produce balanced and natural color straight off from the camera.

Thks

Oic....since 2000, I have been at the AA every 2 years....:)

cerebrus said:
I will try this again with two lamps, so less shadow. Also need to get some sort of diffuser for the lamps, so that the lighting is less harsh. Keep on getting blown highlights.

Think I got it about 6 to 10 years ago!

That's strange.....Gecko afraid of insect....:bsmilie:

GeckoZ said:
This insect looks scarry!! hahahaha!! Does it fly? I wouldn't dare to shoot insects at such a near distance.

Maybe you could try to increase the colour saturation and do some burning to make the picture look more impactful...

Hi, was it a macro shot or a tele shot?

biped said:
It sticked to the branch even when red ants were crawling over it. Didn't see it fly though it seemed to have a set of wing. It looks scarry when amplified, but it is actually very small.

This image was shot with default colour saturation. It was merely cropped to get the digital zoom. Thanks for your tip to enhance the photo. I usually do not try to enhance the photo unless it is really bad. I prefer natural color and that is why I prefer either Canon or Nikon cameras as both brands tend to produce balanced and natural color straight off from the camera.

Thks

Hello,

4th part of my NTU series. Please do comment:

#1 Holiday Season
207114595_704a456fc2.jpg

#2 Holiday Season2
207114598_5cb1230d9e.jpg

Thank you.

biped said:

Rgds

IMG_0174.jpg
looks like treehoppers to me..

lastboltnut said:
That's strange.....Gecko afraid of insect....:bsmilie:

tt kind of insect not my type mah, criminals also afraid of police one. :bsmilie:

lastboltnut said:
Hello,

4th part of my NTU series. Please do comment:

#1 Holiday Season
207114595_704a456fc2.jpg

#2 Holiday Season2
207114598_5cb1230d9e.jpg

Thank you.

hmm.. 7/10? :think: I like the B/W!

Actually that insect looks abit like those in the Pokemon cartoon.:bsmilie:

How was the SFF shoot yesterday? I went last min and reached Esplanade Waterfront 8:57pm! Then no place, as expected. Then can only shot behind the esplanade....not good view...show your pic leh.

GeckoZ said:
tt kind of insect not my type mah, criminals also afraid of police one. :bsmilie:

Thanks, I was aiming for a pass only....:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

GeckoZ said:
hmm.. 7/10? :think: I like the B/W!