S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

lastboltnut said:
Hi GeckoZ,

He was refering to our S2/S3 cam, so just call SX loh.:)

Raynox .66 WC = Raynox brand 0.66 ratio Wide Converter. It's the WC that adds more perspective to the building.

It was some reflection, not zoom out effect. Actually boogle, can use a hood to eliminate this.

Oh.. I think I misunderstood on the zoom out effect. I think GeckoZ was referring to the clouds. Not the wide angle or the flares. That came about because I used long exposure time of 15sec and the clouds were actually moving. That combined with the perspective of the building due to the wide angle lens and camera angle prob gives an illusion of a "zoom out" effect.

Lastboltnut... I no budget and bag space for hood liao... :P some more is hood for the .66 raynox that I will need. :bsmilie:

Hi guys,

I will slowly post some shots I took from NTU, please comment. Thanks.

#01 Crossing Slopes
203991743_2b8001b263.jpg

#02 Curve of the Old n New
203991742_e672d98963.jpg

Thanks.

True lah, hood for the WC....:bsmilie:

boogle said:
Oh.. I think I misunderstood on the zoom out effect. I think GeckoZ was referring to the clouds. Not the wide angle or the flares. That came about because I used long exposure time of 15sec and the clouds were actually moving. That combined with the perspective of the building due to the wide angle lens and camera angle prob gives an illusion of a "zoom out" effect.

Lastboltnut... I no budget and bag space for hood liao... :P some more is hood for the .66 raynox that I will need. :bsmilie:

I think the star trail effects is due to lights flashing around the camera.
Very nice. The NTU shots well taken :thumbsup:
Any guys going to the SFF this weekend take fireworks ??

Thanks to you 2 for the precise explaination!! I din even heard of Raynox before lor! hahahaha!!

Boogle, I think you used "Evaluative" metering for the moon pic issit? It would give u a precise cresent moon if u used "Spot" metering instead. :thumbsup:

Thanks Static for your comment.

Think should walk up the Sheares bridge for good view......Ha! But I got no time.....how I wish I can go.:)

Static said:

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

#01 Crossing Slopes
203991743_2b8001b263.jpg

Thanks.

It might be more efficient if u show the cross (X) in this picture. :D

Static said:

Bro, I confirm going!! But i wanna look for a better place with a smaller crowd leh... got suggestion? :think:

GeckoZ said:
Thanks to you 2 for the precise explaination!! I din even heard of Raynox before lor! hahahaha!!

Boogle, I think you used "Evaluative" metering for the moon pic issit? It would give u a precise cresent moon if u used "Spot" metering instead. :thumbsup:

The moon pic was intentionally like that. If I make the settings give me the nice crescent moon, the building become ORH Tah Tah already... cannot see at all. So I keep adjusting to see if can see both (not too bright and not too dark). The result was what you saw. As for Raynox... don't hear mebbe is better. After I hear, I become few hundred bucks poorer.. :angel:

boogle said:
The moon pic was intentionally like that. If I make the settings give me the nice crescent moon, the building become ORH Tah Tah already... cannot see at all. So I keep adjusting to see if can see both (not too bright and not too dark). The result was what you saw. As for Raynox... don't hear mebbe is better. After I hear, I become few hundred bucks poorer.. :angel:

hahahaha!! okok!! :bsmilie:

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

Thanks.
Building is 5 min walk from where I am.... still have not been able to get some free time to go shoot it :(

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

Thanks.

I like the green and also the interesting lines for both pics.

For the crossing slopes, I thought if you stand slightly to the right such that the small trees to the left of the slope does not interrupt the curvy side barrier of the slope may be cleaner.

Hi, there is no "X", the most is "y" as the upper slope is blocked and cut off by the lower slope.:) But if I stand more to the right, the lower slope will be too high, as it's gradient is quite steep, and blocked a large portion of the upper slope....But never tot of that oso. Thanks for the tips.

GeckoZ said:
It might be more efficient if u show the cross (X) in this picture. :D

I am targeting at the WC too......the perspective view is very attactive on landscape/travel photo...will buy if my business trip is confirm....if not, save up 1st.:)

boogle said:

Wow you so busy ah? Go earlier in the morning, then shoot, then go to work loh. Good lighting in the morning too. I shooted in the afternoon, around 6pm, harsh light......

cerebrus said:
Building is 5 min walk from where I am.... still have not been able to get some free time to go shoot it :(

Hi boogle, if I move more to the right, the lower slope will be blocking the upper slope liao...the gradient for the lower slope is quite steep. But never tot of that oso. Thanks for the tips.

boogle said:
I like the green and also the interesting lines for both pics.

For the crossing slopes, I thought if you stand slightly to the right such that the small trees to the left of the slope does not interrupt the curvy side barrier of the slope may be cleaner.

lastboltnut said:
Wow you so busy ah? Go earlier in the morning, then shoot, then go to work loh. Good lighting in the morning too. I shooted in the afternoon, around 6pm, harsh light......
I posted the other reply @ 7.50 am from my desk....

Hey, actually I used to arrived at NTU at around 7am during my undergrads days.....but I was driving and young with nothing to do lah.....:) :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

cerebrus said:
I posted the other reply @ 7.50 am from my desk....

lastboltnut said:
Hey, actually I used to arrived at NTU at around 7am during my undergrads days.....but I was driving and young with nothing to do lah.....:) :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
Ahhhhh.... to be an undergrad again.....

Iv been OTing to long, need to post pics.