[ Rumor and kopitiam ] Olympus E-5 Speculation

Guys! Canon 60D lai liao... I hope the E-5 can trounce that cam hands down man! ='(

OOT: I actually first saw the picture of the 60D and thought it was a Oly E-40. :bsmilie: I think they copy Oly sia!!! hehehe...:sticktong
Isn't it already clear? Canon xxD is no longer in competition with Olympus next flagship dSLR. The level is up. It will be against 7D (or its replacement) and Nikon D300s' successor.

Go Japan for R&D work no kick la. Shud go to US & R&D for NASA. :bsmilie::lovegrin:

But 1st, someone needs to hand me a scholarship to Caltech to study QED. :angel: I'm a fan of the legendary Mr Feyman

Hahaha, who's Mr Feyman?

Guys! Canon 60D lai liao... I hope the E-5 can trounce that cam hands down man! ='(

OOT: I actually first saw the picture of the 60D and thought it was a Oly E-40. :bsmilie: I think they copy Oly sia!!! hehehe...:sticktong

Hahaha, who knows?

They said that they re-worked the ergonomics, finally.

Who is they? Olympus? If yes, I sure hope for E-1 ergonomics

i heard that there will be an olympus E-XXX5000

very good camera, ergonomics tip top, complete with a hello kitty head to hold on to.

Who is they? Olympus? If yes, I sure hope for E-1 ergonomics

They would be the Canon people. Since I held my first AE-1, I've felt that Canon has done things backwards. Maybe, the 60D is much better than even the recent bodies.

very good camera, ergonomics tip top, complete with a hello kitty head to hold on to.

No wonder I am moving to the Pentax camp. :bsmilie:

They would be the Canon people. Since I held my first AE-1, I've felt that Canon has done things backwards. Maybe, the 60D is much better than even the recent bodies.

Ah... I see... Well, who knows? We'll find out only when we hold it;)

I can see it now... Sales are off the charts!!! Sky-high records!! Women rushing and dying to own one! :o

u bring one out..
hysterical women rushing to surround u to get a feel..... :bsmilie:

either way, it cant come fast eno..

u bring one out..
hysterical women rushing to surround u to get a feel..... :bsmilie:

either way, it cant come fast eno..

Oooooo... surround me to get a feel? Gee... I'm a shy young man... :embrass:

i wouldnt know abt that..
but after a few times, u'd probably be going, "more! more! more!", juz like a friend after we intro the hitherto teetotaller to lotsa beer.. :bsmilie:

i wouldnt know abt that..
but after a few times, u'd probably be going, "more! more! more!", juz like a friend after we intro the hitherto teetotaller to lotsa beer.. :bsmilie:

:sticktong

Who knows right? First... You gotta get the ladies coming to me~ ;p

At any rate here's a quote from: http://www.43rumors.com/ft4-more-about-the-olympus-e-5/

"The first source that claimed to have seen and tested the E-5 with the 12 Megapixel sensor is sure that this was the final camera. The second source saw a prototype called E-P3 which has the new 15 Megapixel Panasonic camera. After long discussion we “agreed” that the first source is very likely to have seen the final E-5! “Source two” saw a prototype of a future FourThirds camera that could be announced in 2011. I thank both sources for beeing so kind to answer my questions!"

Interesting eh? =\

:sticktong

Who knows right? First... You gotta get the ladies coming to me~ ;p

At any rate here's a quote from: http://www.43rumors.com/ft4-more-about-the-olympus-e-5/

"The first source that claimed to have seen and tested the E-5 with the 12 Megapixel sensor is sure that this was the final camera. The second source saw a prototype called E-P3 which has the new 15 Megapixel Panasonic camera. After long discussion we “agreed” that the first source is very likely to have seen the final E-5! “Source two” saw a prototype of a future FourThirds camera that could be announced in 2011. I thank both sources for beeing so kind to answer my questions!"

Interesting eh? =\

Well, the top Olympus people said that they wouldn't be going past 12 MP for quite some time while they focused on reducing noise and improving overall image quality. They've done some of that, but have they reached their goal enough to use a more populated sensor?

Even if Panasonic has a more populated sensor ready, would Olympus choose the highest density for its top model in the chance that it might reduce image quality?

Well, the top Olympus people said that they wouldn't be going past 12 MP for quite some time while they focused on reducing noise and improving overall image quality. They've done some of that, but have they reached their goal enough to use a more populated sensor?

Even if Panasonic has a more populated sensor ready, would Olympus choose the highest density for its top model in the chance that it might reduce image quality?

Good point.

... or they didn't actually lose image quality, but got even BETTER!!!!!:o

Damn all this speculation. *sighs* Come out la E-5...

... or they didn't actually lose image quality, but got even BETTER!!!!!:o

Damn all this speculation. *sighs* Come out la E-5...

If Olympus comes out with an E-3 replacement that has a higher density (like 15 MP) sensor (from whichever company) and it has better image quality or even the same as the E-PL1 with the best parts of the E-1/E-3, I'll be praising them for all the times I've scolded them.

I hope Olympus will try something new like back-illuminated CMOS. It should allow for higher pixel density. Canon has prototyped a 120mp APS-H sensor so there is still alot of room for FourThirds to grow.

Erm.. A 120MP sensor is guaranteed to be very very expensive because of the yield issues.

If it works reliably and has good image quality. So far, they've only said that it works and not to what degree it works. :bsmilie: