Price for Sony A77 or A65 in Singapore and the best price to buy it

Hmm, what prices are you guys getting from Harvey Norman? HN Jurong Point quoted me the full SRP. It was some youngster ah beng type who was reluctant to provide proper customer service =.=

yeah HN Northpoint same SRP also plus uncle gave me the ah beng shop ustomer service attitude lolz guess HN hire ppl w/o any customer service training... Very bad not good for business. Or maybe we look like we cant afford this new shiny toy =)

oh, hi, i'm not a sony user, but came across at sony shop at tampines 1...A77 can molest with i think ?16-50?f2.8 attached
nice LCD, nice viewfinder!with superimposed horizontala nd vertical level like jet fighter dial like that...
Burst mode like machine gun....
the screen can really tilt/twist but seems not so useful?as canon one..
But mode dial...like what Kai say on digitalrevTV, when you turn, APSM..seem there is a lag, when turn scroll wheel for adjusting stops...oso got lag..the click does not correlate real time to change of stop like canon....

Now that u had mentioned it..

I think it does happen on A77. Don't feel any lag in other DSLR when the dial is turned.

Now that u had mentioned it..

I think it does happen on A77. Don't feel any lag in other DSLR when the dial is turned.

What firmware version? I think this was greatly improved in 1.03.

Maybe we're seeing a downside to giving a camera so many features. :P

I know many has advised that there is some lag in this camera, even with the new FW1.03, there are still noticeable lag, though much improved over 1.02.

I had tried Bro Rashkae's test unit (FW1.02) before and really the EVF lag is quite noticeable and possibly missed the chance of taking a shot. FW1.03 however reduces this lag, but lag is still there. Even when I turn the EVF to manual, it still needs to turn on when i put my eyes near it (not sure why it can't be permanently turn on like LCD).

As for the lag on the mode dial and command dial, although it's not as instant as any other DSLRs in the market, I feel it's not going to affect me much as I normally will try to dial in the appropriate settings even before I take a shot. In actual fact, unless we are trying to find bones in a egg, the performance is fast enough for most operations.

Sometimes when I press the MENU button after taking a shot, the camera also has a 0.5s lag before the menu is shown, so I guess this FW1.03 is just a temporary measure as the rumors out there saying FW2.0 is coming by next month or so.

OK, enough of "bashing", now here's some good stuff of the camera which others dun have:

- The EVF is fantastic, definitely bright enough for most scenerios and sharp and clear, it's almost near to OVF imo.
- With the EVF, I can stick my eyes to the eyecup permanently while shooting and changing settings in menus.
- There is live histogram within the EVF/LCD, and its so good as I can know the exposure in realtime even before I take the shot.
- As much as 7 buttons on the camera can be configured to different functions!

What I did to help me was:
- Configure the AF/MF button to function as Metering Mode.
- Configure the back command dial to perform EV compensation in AP/SP mode.

So, with histogram turned on, I can almost shoot without my eyes leaving the EVF, with Metering, EV compensation, ISO, Aperture all within reach of my fingertips. :thumbsup:

What firmware version? I think this was greatly improved in 1.03.

Maybe we're seeing a downside to giving a camera so many features. :P

Is on version 1.03.

The lag on the EVF switch is ard 0.5 sec which is still acceptable. The slightly slow response (sometimes) when turning the dial could be abit irritating, as u would expect the dial to be in-synch with the response shown on the screen.
Beside this "flaws" shooting and focusing of the camera is blazing fast.

I know many has advised that there is some lag in this camera, even with the new FW1.03, there are still noticeable lag, though much improved over 1.02.

I had tried Bro Rashkae's test unit (FW1.02) before and really the EVF lag is quite noticeable and possibly missed the chance of taking a shot. FW1.03 however reduces this lag, but lag is still there. Even when I turn the EVF to manual, it still needs to turn on when i put my eyes near it (not sure why it can't be permanently turn on like LCD).

As for the lag on the mode dial and command dial, although it's not as instant as any other DSLRs in the market, I feel it's not going to affect me much as I normally will try to dial in the appropriate settings even before I take a shot. In actual fact, unless we are trying to find bones in a egg, the performance is fast enough for most operations.

Sometimes when I press the MENU button after taking a shot, the camera also has a 0.5s lag before the menu is shown, so I guess this FW1.03 is just a temporary measure as the rumors out there saying FW2.0 is coming by next month or so.

OK, enough of "bashing", now here's some good stuff of the camera which others dun have:

- The EVF is fantastic, definitely bright enough for most scenerios and sharp and clear, it's almost near to OVF imo.
- With the EVF, I can stick my eyes to the eyecup permanently while shooting and changing settings in menus.
- There is live histogram within the EVF/LCD, and its so good as I can know the exposure in realtime even before I take the shot.
- As much as 7 buttons on the camera can be configured to different functions!

What I did to help me was:
- Configure the AF/MF button to function as Metering Mode.
- Configure the back command dial to perform EV compensation in AP/SP mode.

So, with histogram turned on, I can almost shoot without my eyes leaving the EVF, with Metering, EV compensation, ISO, Aperture all within reach of my fingertips. :thumbsup:

Humm... i copy u... map AF/MF to Metering mode
maybe AEL map to AF type.

EV com already got a shortcut button mah... still not enuff ah? :D

pepsi330ml said:
Humm... i copy u... map AF/MF to Metering mode
maybe AEL map to AF type.

EV com already got a shortcut button mah... still not enuff ah? :D

Yes. But still its one more step to press the button.

By configuring the back dial, its instant changing of EV. :)

Since the back dial is "loboing" in AP and SP mode mah.

Closed both eyes and bought my A77 :-) now my A33 will be pass down to my daugther.

albertri said:
Closed both eyes and bought my A77 :-) now my A33 will be pass down to my daugther.

Welcome to the 77club. :)

Ouverture said:
Welcome to the 77club. :)

Thanks now I need to learn how this works lolz coming from A33 there lot and lots of new things and buttons lolz

the only button you need to remember is the 1) shutter release.... after you've set your camera to Auto Mode ROFL

kei1309 said:
the only button you need to remember is the 1) shutter release.... after you've set your camera to Auto Mode ROFL

See I told you I just use dslr as bling bling lolz

Anyway jus to share my experience k. The jog dial lag. As a action shooter it doesn't really affect me. It's like like a 0.5s lag (bot tat it's tats long) on the dial will affect me. If I am taking action I. Good lighting, setting to faster than 1/500 is it. I dun really adjust on the fly. Similarly for aperture shots, again if lighting is good I go with f4 to 5.6 and again do not need the fast adjustment. The traffics for this of cos is the ability of the to navigate my menu. Eg creative mode, iso, quality setting on the fly.

so far i dont notice very bad lag other than when you power down you need to wait for the last buzz before maybe doing anything e.g. removing the lens/memory card this is roughly arounf 3-4sec delay. This may have some real life effect e.g. your kid dont want to pose for you then you turn off your cam then suddenly your baby poses you need to wait for 3-4sec before you can turn on you cam :P I think this cycle time could be corrected by firmware update.

And also when shooting with auto photo preview is on it'll take around a second to display the photo you'll see the work "Processing" this is I think not cam issue coz using my Sony 50mb/Sec versus the 30mb/sec the 50 is slightly faster. what's happening here is you're cam is dumping the buffer to the memory card while your system is trying to fetch the photo for LCD display... I normally turn the auto preview off just press the preview button manually if I want to view the pix.

PS I always shoot Jpeg+Raw roughly this is around 30MB file =) the cam is trying to dump 30MB to the memory card if it rated 30mp/sec it'll take 1 sec to complete this task =)

so back to the topic...
Which shop still selling a77 below the SRP? (stock available)
looking A77 16-50mm with budget 2.4k

so back to the topic...
Which shop still selling a77 below the SRP? (stock available)
looking A77 16-50mm with budget 2.4k

call the usual recommended shops and ask... We are not the shopkeepers, cannot tell you who has stock or not. Also, don't forget the fact that some "RRP" shops like Juzz1 or the HN at Suntec offer discounts if you talk to them...

Thanks for Juzz1 & HN discount tips. How about sony style eg wisma atria? can i talk to get discount?

HN and Sony Style i dont think they would give discount I was at HN and they quoted me the retail price I asked for discount the uncle scolded me saying this is new realease noh??? then turn his back at me and walk away =(