Photos taken by a Pentax camera for tech. discussion - Season 0

To me 1.4 is already good enough ...

Even sometimes so little diff the shutter also dosen't change speed ...

But if 0.95 maybe you can consider :bsmilie: (but pentax don't have such a lens :cry:)

ah?
1.2k is still worth the money for a manual lens?
omfg.. then should i buy it?
To me, its worth every cent. I personally rate it higher than the FA77 in terms of both built and optics. Manual is no cons for me anyway. To add, remember the saying that the FA31 is "the best AF lens money can buy"? AF is the key here. What it means is that some of the best lens money can buy are MF!!!

To me 1.4 is already good enough ...

Even sometimes so little diff the shutter also dosen't change speed ...

But if 0.95 maybe you can consider :bsmilie: (but pentax don't have such a lens :cry:)
Only Leica have leh. Heard the max f-stop for the k-mount at 50mm is f1.2 liao. But that 0.2 stop diff is where the real magic comes in. i've tried both the FA50/1.4 and A50/1.2 and there sure is a lot of pixie dust coming from the 1.2 or is it just psychological? :dunno:

1.2k is not worth it imo (no big deal new or old)
Probably $750 to $850.

In terms of DOF if you look at a dof calculator, its the same between a 1.2 and 1.4.
Lens design may give some difference in rendering characteristics, but I have never brought myself to justify paying that sort of money for pixie dust.

For me, I'd rather get a 77ltd for the money.

Try out on my IR cam during my offuce lunch break..
4677652519_7c629d9f79_b.jpg

Only Leica have leh. Heard the max f-stop for the k-mount at 50mm is f1.2 liao. But that 0.2 stop diff is where the real magic comes in. i've tried both the FA50/1.4 and A50/1.2 and there sure is a lot of pixie dust coming from the 1.2 or is it just psychological? :dunno:

Canon also f0.95 have but in the old FD mount ;p

6june10voihtlander036-1.jpg

6june10voihtlander019-2.jpg

uncropped and PPwith picassa. took these with voigtlander macro and PKA extension tube with flash light mounted.

marcus

This is a nice magnification.
How close are you to the subject with this setup?

This is a nice magnification.
How close are you to the subject with this setup?

The first shot was cropped about 60 percent off leaving the centre images.

The second shot was the original shot almost 1:1 mag. Probably 6 to 7 inches away.

6june10voihtlander020-1.jpg

This was taken the same day as above and PP with picassa, uncropped. Usually, you need to be swift to capture it. I find it diffucult personally to capture spiders:) Taken with voigtlander lens macro.

marcus

82dc3cee.jpg
a3fde035.gif

first time shooting a S-League match at Jalan Besar Stadium at night. Used Continuous Mode, Tv (1/400) and Tamron 75-300.

Take note its already at iso 3200 and F/5.6 so is there any way to give better contrast /brightness?

Thanks.

82dc3cee.jpg
a3fde035.gif

first time shooting a S-League match at Jalan Besar Stadium at night. Used Continuous Mode, Tv (1/400) and Tamron 75-300.

Take note its already at iso 3200 and F/5.6 so is there any way to give better contrast /brightness?

Thanks.

Unfortunately your image is not pin sharp and crisp and the player's white shots is blown out.
You want better contrast, get a faster and better lens. Seriously.

Unfortunately your image is not pin sharp and crisp and the player's white shots is blown out.

he is a pro u know... dun play play...

looks like its unavoidable then. Thanks.

The first shot was cropped about 60 percent off leaving the centre images.

The second shot was the original shot almost 1:1 mag. Probably 6 to 7 inches away.

This was taken the same day as above and PP with picassa, uncropped. Usually, you need to be swift to capture it. I find it diffucult personally to capture spiders:) Taken with voigtlander lens macro.

marcus

Thanks for sharing.
6-7 inches away is quite a bit of distance, which is nice. I must see your setups in person one day :)

I'm still fiddling with what is a good setup. Reversed 50mm seems to give the best 'balance' between focus distance and magnification (at least for non too shy Jumping Spiders), but its a bit of pain to use.
I got hold of a cheap 2x teleconverter with aperture control, hope to try to remove the lens to convert it into an auto extension tube (but only ~20mm). If its successful, I might try to stack a few of them.

BTW, I read a bit on a reversed lens + macro lens stack. Does such a setup give auto aperture since the macro lens is mounted normally?

This one is from the reversed 50mm. On-camera flash at -2Ev diffused at a DIY white foam padding diffuser.
4697421605_cd388774e6_b.jpg

BTW, I read a bit on a reversed lens + macro lens stack. Does such a setup give auto aperture since the macro lens is mounted normally?

doesn't make a difference as the reversed lens still will have no aperture control... so u still need to set at the aperture ring on the reversed lens at f8/f11/f16... but its gonna be very very dim unless there is sufficent light... so most ppl will have a led to light up the subject else its so dim i dunno how to see... thats why i dun favor reserved lens cos my eyes not so good... extension tubes with aperture control on the macro lens is better for me, but its adds to the weight though....

there is a solution for some aperture control on reversed lens for N/C where there is an adapter that can be mounted on the reversed side and "open" the aperture blades, it will close when u press the shutter...but the adapter is expensive so i dunno it makes sense at all...

Just saw this thru.. sighz..
last few secs number bumped like mad..

a50-2.jpg

a50.jpg

this explains my qs and interest in a50 1.2 previously..
wonder how a pentax k 50 1.2 compete with this 1?

It's a f1.2 of course the price will jump like mad in the last few seconds/minutes...:devil:

Just saw this thru.. sighz..
last few secs number bumped like mad..

this explains my qs and interest in a50 1.2 previously..
wonder how a pentax k 50 1.2 compete with this 1?

K version means you can only use M mode.
With A version you get to use all auto exposure modes. More versatility.
If you're looking for the K version, make sure got no haze on some elements as some copies appear to have this issue.

Best bang for the buck is the A 50mm f/1.4. You can get one used and save about $500 compared to the A 50mm f/1.2 version. The A f/1.4 version is also better built than the A f/1.7 version, which feels pretty cheap in comparison.

but.. but.. but..
where to hunt for a good copy of a50 1.4?

doesn't make a difference as the reversed lens still will have no aperture control... so u still need to set at the aperture ring on the reversed lens at f8/f11/f16... but its gonna be very very dim unless there is sufficent light... so most ppl will have a led to light up the subject else its so dim i dunno how to see... thats why i dun favor reserved lens cos my eyes not so good... extension tubes with aperture control on the macro lens is better for me, but its adds to the weight though....

there is a solution for some aperture control on reversed lens for N/C where there is an adapter that can be mounted on the reversed side and "open" the aperture blades, it will close when u press the shutter...but the adapter is expensive so i dunno it makes sense at all...

Thanks for the clarification.
I had thought the reversed lens is left wide open while the normally mounted lens will control aperture.