Photos from 8D7N Hanoi Halong Bay & Sapa Valley Photography Trek

limwhow #148
Here, this is my version of the mist.
4700595966_6b628e10f6_b.jpg

Somehow this photo struck me in awe. The mist appears to frame the subject. Nicely taken and good representation of the weather we gone thru.

Local Hmong's young and old

1)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-05062010%200016.jpg

2)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200070.jpg

3)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200076.JPG

4)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200078.JPG

As pet or meal ??

5)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200087.JPG

T R A V E L O G U E ~ Day 5 - Y Linh Ho Village - Lao Chai Village - Ta Van Village

We visited a Black Hmong family's abode, and photographed an old Hmong lady in her natural home environment.
Many of our members would have had very good shots of her, and I will leave it to their good hands to share with the community.
Lunch was of the highest priority when life brought us to this far-away land....
[/IMG]

It'll be a waste. Share your photo also lah.

contu.. of the series

6)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200088.JPG

Checking for holes

7)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200095.JPG

8)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200097.JPG

9)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-07062010%200177.JPG

Notice her shaved eyebrows and forehead

By now, most would realise that in this team, there are many superb landscape photographers.
And indeed my fellow team mates have demonstrated their landscape prowess with their photo postings.
Me, I am but a record shooter.
But I was just thinking, maybe I also 'scalp hard hard' put up some landscape shots for ciriticism.
I dare not choose those classic style for, like acpical has stated, that has been well explored by the experienced photographers already.
My attempts are through a slightly different perspective.

limwhow #151
In the heart of Lao Chai village.
My team mates are way ahead in front.
Me.... sigh, have to take care of an extremely slow-moving wife. Thus I always see things from their back side... haha...

4700885500_413cd727df_b.jpg

limwhow #152
I was walking just behind Adrian when we stumbled upon this classic scene.
I spied Adrian half-squatting and taking a shot of this.
"Such a quaint house, with the fairy-tale-like curving road leading up to it. Really like in a story," I told myself.
So I also gave this scene a try, albeit from a slightly different angle.
I'm sure Adrian's shot was better, because he was shooting from really low down.

4700281243_487f931992_b.jpg

limwhow #153
Classic Sapa style terrace farming.
Wonderful structures they were with an ingenius system of irrigation.
We were very fortunate this time of the year as the farmers have planted a new crop.
Thus we were seeing a vast expanse of green, instead of bare patches.

4700924606_d17b4bab72_b.jpg

limwhow #154
This photo was one that I told myself I must share with everyone in my team.
This was a very familiar flight of steps leading up to the hotel.
We walked up and down this flight over the couple of days while we were in Sapa.
The Sapa steps were unique - wet and slippery and every step has an interesting slight downward angle.
I think they were constructed with the travellers in mind.

I was the first one to take a fantastic slip and to suffer a dramatic fall here.
Over the period of the next two days I would enjoy another fantastic fall, but none as fantastic as my good friend on the last day of our stay in Sapa. (hahaha....)

4700223127_1a01d2a34d_b.jpg

Like your this shot, especially the plastic sheet sheltering her head

Thanks for sharing and also where is the shot of me in the rain chasing after the dog

Ice pack was discovered by them

By now, most would realise that in this team, there are many superb landscape photographers.
And indeed my fellow team mates have demonstrated their landscape prowess with their photo postings.
Me, I am but a record shooter.
But I was just thinking, maybe I also 'scalp hard hard' put up some landscape shots for ciriticism.
I dare not choose those classic style for, like acpical has stated, that has been well explored by the experienced photographers already.
My attempts are through a slightly different perspective.

limwhow #151
In the heart of Lao Chai village.
My team mates are way ahead in front.
Me.... sigh, have to take care of an extremely slow-moving wife. Thus I always see things from their back side... haha...

You're being very humble..doc.
Pretty good landscape pictures you have there and I especially like this one with the sharp foreground. Probably stamp/clone away those wires in the blue sky.

This isn't an ordinary picture but good compo that captured the essence of the stony track. I didn't capture any of such sort. Its good showcase at least for my wife telling her how we suffered walking thru such mudding track. Every step we took we have to look down for proper balancing, how to take photo.

• Stevepow - OK, you give SereneXMM a while. Your "Stevepow-chase-dog" picture is so very unique. She needs some time to bring out the best in them... hahaha....
  • Divinemoment - you are getting there now, my good man! Canon Rumour web site must employ you for having the latest sources in new Canon models!
  • Eh.... I begin to realise something about you all... Divinemoment, Stevepow and I - we're all catching a severe, incruable disease - ClubSNAPsitis!

Whose camera were we looking at?

I don't know... I just snapped away while you all were looking at Adrian.
Adrian lah... he was the one calling for everyone to gather gather gather mah, remember?

Anyway, acpical, your degree of ClubSNAPsitis is also almost quite up to the level already.
Just that you have a better chance of being cured as compared to Stevepow, I and now our good divinemoment liao.
Divinemoment initially I thought he guai guai like that... but now once he gets into the rhythm, wah... he is like Stevepow and I - addicted! HAHAHAHA....

Anyway, acpical, your degree of ClubSNAPsitis is also almost quite up to the level already.
Just that you have a better chance of being cured as compared to Stevepow, I and now our good divinemoment liao.
Divinemoment initially I thought he guai guai like that... but now once he gets into the rhythm, wah... he is like Stevepow and I - addicted! HAHAHAHA....

Its because of you and Serene tongue lashing commanding us to post mah.

Not us.
It was Encik Pow. He was the one rushing us to reach Sapa, remember?
Now he is rushing for his 'Stevepow-chase-dog' picture.... haha...
Not forgetting the poor Vietnamese waitress who had to be asked a few times for his beer... hehehe...

Anyway I am happy you are becoming a cartoonist.
Also happy that your wife saw how tough and siong a stroll in the park you had...

Not us.
It was Encik Pow. He was the one rushing us to reach Sapa, remember?
Now he is rushing for his 'Stevepow-chase-dog' picture.... haha...
Not forgetting the poor Vietnamese waitress who had to be asked a few times for his beer... hehehe...

Anyway I am happy you are becoming a cartoonist.
Also happy that your wife saw how tough and siong a stroll in the park you had...

Glad to see another series from your happy kakis after the IndoChina series. Very nice pictures and clearly an outing everyone enjoyed.

Somehow this photo struck me in awe. The mist appears to frame the subject. Nicely taken and good representation of the weather we gone thru.

Thank you, divinemoment, for your reaffirmation that I am a little more than a mere point and shoot photographer!
Anyway my place and date for this photo is incorrect.
sorry about that!

Local Hmong's young and old

2)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200070.jpg

Nice old lady!

stevepow said:
4)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200078.JPG

As pet or meal???
Yah... poor doggy.
Don't forget all the poor Buffalo-ey, poor Ducky, poor Piggy at the Bac Ha market too...
All kena slaughtered and to be had.

Glad to see another series from your happy kakis after the IndoChina series. Very nice pictures and clearly an outing everyone enjoyed.

Daoyin!
Good to have you here on board.
And thanks so much for your compliments.
This time round stevepow and I gave Junk Boat numbers instead of Old Vintage Car numbers... But so far no 'tiok' yet... sigh...

Daoyin!
Good to have you here on board.
And thanks so much for your compliments.
This time round stevepow and I gave Junk Boat numbers instead of Old Vintage Car numbers... But so far no 'tiok' yet... sigh...

Yes 'tiok jait'

yup, we are the group of ppl.....=)
the gal with the "siao" is my sister.

may I post some of my pics here too?

Thank you, divinemoment, for your reaffirmation that I am a little more than a mere point and shoot photographer!
Anyway my place and date for this photo is incorrect.
sorry about that!

Nice old lady!

Yah... poor doggy.
Don't forget all the poor Buffalo-ey, poor Ducky, poor Piggy at the Bac Ha market too...
All kena slaughtered and to be had.

I am a dog lover and also of all the other animals as well