Pentax Luna New Year Promotion - K-7 for $13xx, Twin WR Kit Lenses for $439SGD!

Newbie to CS. Have been researching to buy a camera for about a month and would have bought EP2 last week, until I saw this thread. So hold back and now seriously considering to get K7. My son has a very old G5 that had not been working for a while, so there is an old camera to trade in.

Problem is I am worried if I am able to confidently used this camera. I am 57 year old. Those who have used Pentax can advise? Next, what lens to get first?

You can get the 18-55 WR as a start to go along with your K7. Your next purchase will depend on what kind of pictures you would like to take.

no problem, we pentaxian are always there to help others... you can join us for an outing this weekend and i am sure you will go home more confident at the end of the day... btw welcome to the dark side...:bsmilie:

Newbie to CS. Have been researching to buy a camera for about a month and would have bought EP2 last week, until I saw this thread. So hold back and now seriously considering to get K7. My son has a very old G5 that had not been working for a while, so there is an old camera to trade in.

Problem is I am worried if I am able to confidently used this camera. I am 57 year old. Those who have used Pentax can advise? Next, what lens to get first?

no worries my fren. I am not that young either. (just young at heart!).
if you are not confortable with changing settings, Autopict mode will allow the camera to make all the decisions for you and you only need to point and shoot. In "P" mode, you get to change some settings like aperture, WB and ISO. Choose whatever mode is comfortable for your familiarity level. For starters the kit lens offer best bang for buck. After you become "poisoned", then you choose what primes you want. :)

Went down to OP at sim lim...they say it will be 1380 with trade in and 1390 without trade in...and i think im quite unlucky as the sale person has the 'no way u can bargain below this price' tone when i ask her for more infor...=(

anyone can advice me of where to get my k7?
I ask a shop in simlim at lvl 1 and he quote 1250 without gst for the body(still have a chance of bargaining)
Or should i get from OP instead?

Thanks in advance! :)

Went down to OP at sim lim...they say it will be 1380 with trade in and 1390 without trade in...and i think im quite unlucky as the sale person has the 'no way u can bargain below this price' tone when i ask her for more infor...=(

I ask a shop in simlim at lvl 1 and he quote 1250 without gst for the body(still have a chance of bargaining)

lets go together,we try bargain lower price if we take 2 at 1 time.;)

$1380 is already a very low price, I really doubt they can go lower.
But $1250 + GST is $1338 if you really can get that price, I wouldn't hesitate.

pls lah, we earlier generation ppl get the body for almost $1800 ok..don't compren and just buy :bsmilie:

That's why I wanna cry now... 500 less is quite serious already... :(

well.. early adopters always have that problem

i also got the k20d at slightly higher price. :)

Ya I agree, $1380 already a very good price for a semi-pro weather-sealed body with so much capabilities. If this promotion is on 2 weeks ago, I would be an owner of the K-7 liao!

For those who are interested in getting it, dun make things troublesome for yourself for $10 difference lah.

$1380 is already a very low price, I really doubt they can go lower.
But $1250 + GST is $1338 if you really can get that price, I wouldn't hesitate.

lets go together,we try bargain lower price if we take 2 at 1 time.;)

limhansheng : 1390 without trade in ?
You mean can just buy without trade in ?

nik34 : lets go together,we try bargain lower price if we take 2 at 1 time
Can I join you ? When ?

just buy from OP... 10 no much, i also buy my K-x at 10 more than SLR Revo, lazy to make my way to funan... nowadays its quite hard to bargin from OP, their price is already very good, not many places offers better deals...

the most i can get from them is $2 discount... :bsmilie: plus a free screen protector...

Wah, it's only a temporary promotion ah? The price will go back again?

The familiar catch phrases "Book early to avoid disappointment", "For a limited period only" and "While stocks last" come to mind...
Quick buy, buy, buy... :bsmilie:

Can I find out what is the equivalent Canon/Nikon for K7 and their price range.

err... i dun think can compare like that... but if u ask me, i would say K-7 slots in between D90 and D300... but the price of K-7 is close to D90 for now...