outing for lens trial with a7/r (poison session)

Thanks Bro Thoth posting pictures to compare..
The pentax 50 is sharper and smoother bokeh which mc rokkor's bokeh is quite different
Thanks for your effort

I think it's better to use portraiture shooting distance and appropriate background to test the Bokeh's smoothness. In my own photos from the Rokkor 58/1.2, the Bokeh is definitely buttery smooth that melts away yet the focus point is pin sharp (on her eye) as below...

Absolutely correct Minolta colour signature with Sony sensor seems more 'colourful' which was why I said for colour shot, the Minolta works well with Sony sensor. Its just too bad I shoot B&W so cant really use the colour. I am getting old and I adjust my Ricoh colour to even fainter than the Pentax/Sony photo above so the Pentax colour appeal to me more but both dont appeal to me if I were to shoot although I admire the Sony/Minolta colours. A bit chim rite? I oso dont know what Im talking about muahahhaa

I understand bro... but seriously, I love Fuji's colour the most! Sony/Minolta combination is second to Fuji's... Waiting for Fuji's FF cam can wait until the cows come home...

sell away ur Fuji lah.. get more lens for ur new love :bsmilie:

Look at the price now... LOL... I m keeping as my 2nd body... LOL

Fuji 2nd hand price still better than sony , sony 2nd hand drop drop drop... my nex 6 + sony zeiss lens nobody want lol

Just keep lo... pass to the next generation... :bsmilie:

Too bad. Would have loved to be there but i need to work. Oh well~~

Bro coolhirako

Hi just sharing, bokeh is over-rated in many situation. The background is more important rather than the bokeh 'per se'. A completely out of focus image has bokeh but it is acceptable? For 1.2 images, most bokeh will do as long as the background is not too distracting. The important thing is the image that u focus on must be sharp first and foremost, then we talk about the formation of the bokeh. Why do u think the 58mm f1.2 Nikon NOCT cost so much? if it is bokeh, the Rokkor 58mm f1.2 will surely cost the same but it is not. The ultimate is sharp where u focus and bokeh is secondary else might as well settle for soft focus lens and get all the bokeh u need. So choose your lens carefully and how u want to do it to achieve the picture that u want.

Cheers and happy shooting.

Spot on.

Unlike the vast majority of fast glass, the 58mm f/1.2 Noct-Nikkor's contrast and sharpness are already near-optimum wide open, and nearly free of coma. Shoot something with points of light near the corners of the frame and the difference is easy to see. Even an otherwise excellent lens like the 50mm f/1.2 AIS pales in comparison--until f/2.

It commands a ridiculous price because there are people who either need it or want it for shooting in the situations in which it excels. For what we've seen illustrated in the photo thread, the Rokkor is quite a bargain in comparison.

Too bad. Would have loved to be there but i need to work. Oh well~~

Shall we move d venue to yr Starbucks cafe at Terminal 2 instead?? Haha

Spot on. Unlike the vast majority of fast glass, the 58mm f/1.2 Noct-Nikkor's contrast and sharpness are already near-optimum wide open, and nearly free of coma. Shoot something with points of light near the corners of the frame and the difference is easy to see. Even an otherwise excellent lens like the 50mm f/1.2 AIS pales in comparison--until f/2. It commands a ridiculous price because there are people who either need it or want it for shooting in the situations in which it excels. For what we've seen illustrated in the photo thread, the Rokkor is quite a bargain in comparison.

Now u r making me itching to test d Noct Nikkor 58/1.2. Haha. Bet its another heavy bulky piece of glass like d real Leica Noc.

Poor ppl like me can only afford such a bargain piece of glass like d Rokkor. M contented for now.

Reason is because Fuji not have any cam full frame like sony.