Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread (Season II)

Just got myself the fantastic A7R, and I have a noob question.
Searched through the manual and Googled, can't seem to find any answer:

I plan to do long exposures with this camera, so figured I'll be using Bulb mode.
For Bulb mode, you start the exposure by pressing the shutter button, and stop the exposure by releasing.

Is there any way where you can start by pressing and releasing, then stop by pressing and releasing again?
Something like the Olympus OMD's Live mode? I can't imagine pressing down the button for >10 minutes.

Or is there a better way to do this?

You can get the wireless remote RMT-DSLR2 for this.

Thanks for the replies.
I just tried Playmemories on my Android phone, it can only do up to 30". Even when I set it to Bulb on my camera, it changes to 30" once Playmemories remote is connected.

So looks like I need to buy the remote?

Thanks for the replies.
I just tried Playmemories on my Android phone, it can only do up to 30". Even when I set it to Bulb on my camera, it changes to 30" once Playmemories remote is connected.

So looks like I need to buy the remote?

You can buy a cheap remote such as Phottix from tk or some brandless one from ebay. Got the former for about $10(?) for my Nex6.

Should work the same for an A7. No sweat. It's been a great buy.

Thanks, Richie.

Can I confirm that these remotes will allow me to press and release the shutter button to start Bulb mode, then press and release again to stop Bulb mode?
I just don't want to press and hold.

The RMT-DSLR2 definitely can. I am using it.

Thanks, Richie.

Can I confirm that these remotes will allow me to press and release the shutter button to start Bulb mode, then press and release again to stop Bulb mode?
I just don't want to press and hold.

I believe that's how the IR remote would work. For cabled remotes, you'll need to hold the button.

If you have an android phone with a IR port, can try DSLR Remote. Works great!

I believe that's how the IR remote would work. For cabled remotes, you'll need to hold the button.

If you have an android phone with a IR port, can try DSLR Remote. Works great!

yeah. DSLR remote works great. press once to start bulb mode..press again to release. no need press and hold. bad thing is no counter. trigger trap (http://triggertrap.com/) bulb mode include a counter and alot more features , but u need to buy cable.

Thanks everyone for the very helpful replies.
Unfortunately for me, my Sony Z1 phone doesn't have IR, so that's a no-go. Decided to go get a Phottix IR remote.

Thanks everyone for the very helpful replies.
Unfortunately for me, my Sony Z1 phone doesn't have IR, so that's a no-go. Decided to go get a Phottix IR remote.

Hey man that's exactly why I got the IR remote.. Haha so I can tell you it works.

Only thing to note is that you have to hold the remote somewhere in front of the cameras IR sensor, and not have your hand caught in the image if youre not fast enough. You'd work it out soon enough so dont worry bout it.

sony USA now has the best bundle deal. get US$650 off RRP when u buy the A7/A7R with FE lens and Flash. (24-70 excluded though)

seems like a great deal if you buy even if kena gst!

http://store.sony.com/-cms-page.bundle.alpha.lens.flash

4zb9.jpg

Attachments

• $4zb9.jpg
    $4zb9.jpg
    28.5 KB · Views: 11
Time to remove the CV35 1.2 II off from your signature liao bro... Time for you to BBB... LOL

Buy from usa ? Who can help ? =p
2470z not included leh

Buy from usa ? Who can help ? =p
2470z not included leh

don't buy the 24-70 la...

imagine. buy the a7r+ 55mm+ hvl60m. less $650 as i shown just nw is 2250. convert sgd is 29xx! such a bargain

opps edit. my maths abit wrong. The US$2899 already reflects discount of $650.

and the a7r seems to be out of stock now at sony US can only add a7 and a7kit for bundle.

don't buy the 24-70 la...

imagine. buy the a7r+ 55mm+ hvl60m. less $650 as i shown just nw is 2250. convert sgd is 29xx! such a bargain

With A7r combo is usd3199 leh...
Ps. Still cheaper than sony sg

hehe US have higher income tax rates though to fund the healthcare and welfare system. So maybe net net sama if u are us resident. better to get ppl tompang order or vpost

Haiz SG promo sucks....let's migrate to US?? somemore if you don't like the item can return :-)

hehe US have higher income tax rates though to fund the healthcare and welfare system. So maybe net net sama if u are us resident. better to get ppl tompang order or vpost

Yeah true bro I have an American friend and he works here he still required to pay US tax on top of his Singapore Tax.

he only needs to pay the differential between here and there... keke...