Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread (Season II)

Wanna check with owners here. A7r worth the upgrade over a7?

depends on how you'll use the cam. There are specs that A7 beats A7r like for example AF speed (since A7 using Contrast and Phase detect). A7r only one thing I choose it over the A7, it has no AA filter :-) I don't care about AF speed or less Magenta cast of A7 against A7r (using RF Wide lenses) coz I am mostly using MF SLR lenses. I don't even have FE native SF lens right now :-)

My suggestion or advise is go through the spec sheet of both cam and decide how you planning to use the cam coz each bodies (A7 and A7r) has it's good point and bad points :-)

depends on how you'll use the cam. There are specs that A7 beats A7r like for example AF speed (since A7 using Contrast and Phase detect). A7r only one thing I choose it over the A7, it has no AA filter :-) I don't care about AF speed or less Magenta cast of A7 against A7r (using RF Wide lenses) coz I am mostly using MF SLR lenses. I don't even have FE native SF lens right now :-)

My suggestion or advise is go through the spec sheet of both cam and decide how you planning to use the cam coz each bodies (A7 and A7r) has it's good point and bad points :-)

Thanks for the quick reply. Appreciate it! I'm mostly using it for travel and small events like birthdays, new year celebration or makan sessions with my family. Have a a77 if I'm out for serious shooting although most prob selling it soon. Was set on the a7 with the 55f1.8 untill I read ppl saying a7r have better focusing at times..... had a fuji mirroless last time but got rid of it due to poor AF performances

Tks bro rko for deflecting the OT banter around here... I was using the Fuji XE1 and upgraded to the A7, currently using FE 55/1.8 and its an amazing lens for it. I dun find A7R focus better or faster than the A7, as I have tried some of my friends'. It should be enough a setup for common gathering and travel shootings. If you need a hands on session, I am more than happy to let you try my A7 with the FE 55/1.8.

Here the Poison God come liao haha

No point upgrading.

Besides the *much* better image quality and super fine resolution that you can only find in a D800E and not in a A7, it can maximise the superb resolution that 55FE is capable of, but not A7.

Is the different in price worth it for just THESE 2 key benefits?

You figure out.

DON'T UPGRADE. GO STRAIGHT TO BUY THE A7R.

No point upgrading.

Besides the *much* better image quality and super fine resolution that you can only find in a D800E and not in a A7, it can maximise the superb resolution that 55FE is capable of, but not A7.

You figure out.

I agree... not worth upgrading too... the difference is pretty superficial unless u print A1 to view the output... :vhappy:

haha the A7 should focus faster then the A7r, not the other way round :)

i upgraded from A7 to A7r for the extra resolution and better high iso performance. One thing i miss from the A7 is definitely the more silent shutter! this A7R is one loud machine hehehe

Tks bro rko for deflecting the OT banter around here... I was using the Fuji XE1 and upgraded to the A7, currently using FE 55/1.8 and its an amazing lens for it. I dun find A7R focus better or faster than the A7, as I have tried some of my friends'. It should be enough a setup for common gathering and travel shootings. If you need a hands on session, I am more than happy to let you try my A7 with the FE 55/1.8.

No point upgrading.

You figure out.

I agree... not worth upgrading too... the difference is pretty superficial unless u print A1 to view the output... :vhappy:

Bro RKO as per our two bros ZoomZ and Thoth A7 is already good enough for most folks :-) but still the decision is up to you. There bros here who move from A7 to A7r I am not sure what's their rational behind but there are happy camper at A7 and also happier campers at A7r lolz

PS. just kidding on the happier camper on A7r what I mean there are happy campers on A7r also

haha the A7 should focus faster then the A7r, not the other way round :)

i upgraded from A7 to A7r for the extra resolution and better high iso performance. One thing i miss from the A7 is definitely the more silent shutter! this A7R is one loud machine hehehe

there you go Bro rko one happier A7r camper coming from A7 :-)

I have been using A7R since day 1. For the 2 important features stated in my input, the price difference is very much well worth to get the A7R. So my comments is for you to think, if the much better IQ is more important to you. To me, these 2 key differences, especially if you are into IQ and resolution, is worth more than double of the price difference.

Coming from regular updating/changing of cameras, it is better to go for the best one if you can afford. Don't do upgrading later.

If you are getting a A7 with 35FE (or even 55FE), might as well get the RX1R.

If Sony has just launched A7, I would have just use my RX1-R. No temptation to buy. A7R is a different story.

Conclusion:

DON'T UPGRADE. GO STRAIGHT TO BUY THE A7R. No regrets after that.

Bro RKO as per our two bros ZoomZ and Thoth A7 is already good enough for most folks :-) but still the decision is up to you. There bros here who move from A7 to A7r I am not sure what's their rational behind but there are happy camper at A7 and also happier campers at A7r lolz

PS. just kidding on the happier camper on A7r what I mean there are happy campers on A7r also