OFFICIAL: CANON EOS 5D Mark III - User Thread - Part 4

Easy guys... I'm sure that dtwatson was just trying to help in his own way. Let's show some love, after-all he is a brand new poster and perhaps a little inexperienced in how we do things around here. Give him time and we may all learn from him one day. :)

Congrats technica! I hope that you enjoy the 5D3 as much as the rest of us. The 16-35 will also be a great addition. Post some photos with that combo.

damn, i ordered the 16-35L from technogadget. don't know what happened to me, i go choose paypal!!! argh! should have done bank transfer!

spend another $65 for nothing! :(

tecnica said:
damn, i ordered the 16-35L from technogadget. don't know what happened to me, i go choose paypal!!! argh! should have done bank transfer!

spend another $65 for nothing! :(

Ah crap! Actually can't you just choose not to proceed when asked to confirm, and send them an email stating you wish to pay by bank transfer instead?

cause' i was at 'make payment' page where i can choose the payment mode, then redirected to paypal website, then brought back to the 'order confirmation' page before the 'make payment' page.

i thought when at 'make payment' page, i can choose bank transfer again but once i click 'make payment' the paypal transaction just went through.

shucks man, i think difficult to revert the transaction liao cause' need to call the bank to stop it. :(

tecnica said:
cause' i was at 'make payment' page where i can choose the payment mode, then redirected to paypal website, then brought back to the 'order confirmation' page before the 'make payment' page.

i thought when at 'make payment' page, i can choose bank transfer again but once i click 'make payment' the paypal transaction just went through.

shucks man, i think difficult to revert the transaction liao cause' need to call the bank to stop it. :(

Why not give it a try? Bank service centre should still be available no? Don't try won't know dude.

i just called, the CSO told me they cannot stop it for me, must ask technogadget to stop it. :(

i email tony liao, waiting for reply.

damn, how stupid was i. :(

tecnica said:
i just called, the CSO told me they cannot stop it for me, must ask technogadget to stop it. :(

i email tony liao, waiting for reply.

damn, how stupid was i. :(

Crap! Hope it works out man!

woah, Tony did a refund for me through paypal! thumbs up!!! :heart:

tecnica said:
woah, Tony did a refund for me through paypal! thumbs up!!! :heart:

Wow! Excellent service as always from Tony! Cool! Please don't make the same mistake again. Hahahaha. Glad you got it sorted out though.

glad you've gotten your refund, you're gonna love that lens man :)

been ranging in the streets more and more with the mark 3 under the rain recently

tecnica said:
wah, now the trend is other people dictate how i should shoot my photos?

do you even know the difference between these 2 lenses?

go buy your TS-E 24L for macro la. what's more, it got a very chio hood!

I'm sorry, I should not make suggestion before I know about your usage. I just personally have been using the 16-35 II, and will go for the 24-70 ii now(I gave up the TS-E). I don't know about your lens combinations, please ignore my advice.

i honestly do not like the 24-70 focal length. to me, it is neither here nor there, because it does not go wide enough nor reach out far enough.

i like it ultra-wide or zoomed in, which is why my choice of lenses are the 16-35L and 70-200L.

i am coming from 7D + 10-22 + 17-55 + 70-200L. i sold off all my EF-S lens + 7D already.

when i had the 17-55, yes i must admit it was a fantastic lens. but due to my preference, i use the 10-22 most of the time.

the 17-55 is usually reserved to shoot photos of my niece, i do not bring it out for weekend shooting, unless i know i need it.

90% of the time, i bring the 10-22 and 70-200L out only.

now that i moved to 5DMK3, i do not plan to replace the mid-focal range, which is why i chose the 16-35L over the 24-70L.

been ranging in the streets more and more with the mark 3 under the rain recently

Wow, you're brave! That's an expensive piece of equipment to allow to get wet. Do you use it completely naked to the rain or do you cover it up to protect it while shooting? Is the lens you're using also weather resistant?

Just naked, it's always raining the past few days..
Once after about an hour plus in the heavy downpour, the on/off switch was no longer responsive.. but was working well the next morning!
I had confidence with the built although it's not entirely rain-proof, was using my 200 f2 :)

I simply love this body, I had 2, but recently sold away 1 to fund for superteles..

Kiwira said:
Just naked, it's always raining the past few days..
Once after about an hour plus in the heavy downpour, the on/off switch was no longer responsive.. but was working well the next morning!
I had confidence with the built although it's not entirely rain-proof, was using my 200 f2 :)

I simply love this body, I had 2, but recently sold away 1 to fund for superteles..

That's definitely the way to use this camera! Not to pamper it and leave it in the drybox.

Its funny to see ppl buy weather seal as a feature to use but feel that its too expensive to risk it using under rain or even light rain.

weather sealing to me ah, is for preventive measure like "wah heng ah, lucky my camera got weather sealing, kena a bit of rain nvm..."

it is not a reason for you to shoot in the rain like "eh, your MK3 got weather sealing, later raining we all go out and shoot photos la...?"

:confused:

tecnica said:
weather sealing to me ah, is for preventive measure like "wah heng ah, lucky my camera got weather sealing, kena a bit of rain nvm..."

it is not a reason for you to shoot in the rain like "eh, your MK3 got weather sealing, later raining we all go out and shoot photos la...?"

:confused:

Agree. The weather seal of a 5D3 is good but why go all out to push your luck? Weather seal is not the same as weather proof.

Besides, even if the camera is weather sealed, there are other reasons why one might not be so keen to shoot in the rain. Getting drenched is one...

esoeij said:
Agree. The weather seal of a 5D3 is good but why go all out to push your luck? Weather seal is not the same as weather proof.

“If you play it safe in life, you've decided that you don't want to grow anymore.”