Official Canon 550D User Thread Part II

img3314e.jpg

img3320a.jpg

just received it today! muahahaha. tested it out, feel ok to me tho.. this model is friend recommend to me becos they tried original canon ones and this, no difference.. just branding. i seriously forget exactly where i get it from, will check it out and get back to you guys.

From the packaging with the DX, i guess it should be from dealextreme.com

Did a search, the link http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.27996

I search the eBay and found the same model at http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=110434730136

Purchase it at S$8.82 (after the paypal conversion). I think it is also so cheap, so not have imitation lah...

From the packaging with the DX, i guess it should be from dealextreme.com

Did a search, the link http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.27996

I search the eBay and found the same model at http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=110434730136

Purchase it at S$8.82 (after the paypal conversion). I think it is also so cheap, so not have imitation lah...

yeah you got the same model? feels the same right? since it does the same function! :sweatsm:

they never mention it was for 550D

Yeah cos 550D is a new model. But i did research. 500D and 550D shutter release button is using the same jack, thus i ordered and it came. I tested it and it work :)

mine is Di622 leh.... I am using TTL currently, never try other function

Anyone got the RC-6 wireless remote compatible for our 550D? Where to buy and how much?

Does anyone know whether RC-5 is also compatible? If not, what third party wireless remote do you recommend?

Thanks for the polite and helpful responses :)

I'd got my Canon RC-6 from Orient Photo. It does not need a receiver.. all u need to do is just press the remote, it straight shutters ! I love it.. and it's not expensive... $37 !

Quicktime MOV format
• 1080P (1920 x 1080) Full HD video capture at 30/25/24 fps up to 12 min clips
• 720P video capture at 60/50 fps up to 12 min clips
• 4:3 standard TV quality (SD) video capture at 640 x 480 pixels and 60/50 fps up to 29 min and 59 sec

quoted from http://www.digitalreview.ca/content/...ikon-D90.shtml
can someone verify tis. TIA.

Quicktime MOV format
• 4:3 standard TV quality (SD) video capture at 640 x 480 pixels and 60/50 fps up to 29 min and 59 sec

verify whether it can record up to the time limit?

Quicktime MOV format

1080p n 720p recording time per clip is maximum 5min?

One thing about the movie clips is so darn big !!

What do you guys do with it? No experience with video clips...well...long ago. Forgot what to do with them le :sweat:

I'm pretty sure I need to process them using some software I probably had in the graveyard of softwares...LOL!

And shooting in raw is starting to hog my HDD...I wonder how many do the pros actually keep..or they are really strict with themselves and really delete and keep ~10 per shoot of 200? LOL.

One thing about the movie clips is so darn big !!

What do you guys do with it? No experience with video clips...well...long ago. Forgot what to do with them le :sweat:

I'm pretty sure I need to process them using some software I probably had in the graveyard of softwares...LOL!

And shooting in raw is starting to hog my HDD...I wonder how many do the pros actually keep..or they are really strict with themselves and really delete and keep ~10 per shoot of 200? LOL.

Can u try the video mode. The 1080p HD can only record a limit of 5mins?

Anyone got the RC-6 wireless remote compatible for our 550D? Where to buy and how much?

Does anyone know whether RC-5 is also compatible? If not, what third party wireless remote do you recommend?

Thanks for the polite and helpful responses :)

I got a third-party remote from an ebay trader. Got it when they were quoting in USD, think was < USD4 shipped. This is their current listing:
http://cgi.ebay.com/IR-Remote-Contr...mAccess_RL&hash=item20b0b768f0#ht_2411wt_1137

I think it is similar to the RC-6 (I haven't tried a RC-6), but it will fire the shutter, also has 2-second delay button. Have to enable infra-red remote control on the 550D for it to work. It also has zoom buttons which is suppose to work for other Canon cameras such the G11.

They have other remotes too, I think one looks like a RC-6. I am not bothered

Can u try the video mode. The 1080p HD can only record a limit of 5mins?

Where you get this from? I think the 12 mins is probably correct. I have recorded clips more than 5 minutes, but so far have not hit 12 mins. If you are getting the recording terminating early, it is possible that the SD card is not fast enough. (But if it can tahan for 5 minutes I think it very likely that it is ok.)

yeah you got the same model? feels the same right? since it does the same function! :sweatsm:
Bro, how much did you pay for that? less than S$10?

I'd got my Canon RC-6 from Orient Photo. It does not need a receiver.. all u need to do is just press the remote, it straight shutters ! I love it.. and it's not expensive... $37 !

$37 is a good price!

Wired shutter release button?

No bro, it's wireless just like the RC-5.

Bro, how much did you pay for that? less than S$10?

$37 is a good price!

No bro, it's wireless just like the RC-5.

yeah less than 10.

the wireless one works fine on 550D? we have an infra sensor in front of the cam, which means we have to stand in front to use that remote?