LX3 Users Discussion.

Bro, what filter size does the LX3 uses? And how much does the LX3 adapter costs?

Hi, yes and I do believe I'm not the only one using this cos when I purchased my LX3 adapter:thumbsup:, it was the last piece...:sweat:as I need this in order to screw-in my B+W Filter/s;) Also, can use Cir-Pol. if not how...leh...:bsmilie::cool:

Bro, what filter size does the LX3 uses? And how much does the LX3 adapter costs?

For the filter size is 46mm on the Original-Pana-Adapter and was quoted $40:bigeyes:initially (since I bought quite alot of other items/stuffs at the same time[:bigeyes:7-items altogether actually], hence, I got it at a very special:thumbsup:price:cool:):)

Hi, yes and I do believe I'm not the only one using this cos when I purchased my LX3 adapter:thumbsup:, it was the last piece...:sweat:as I need this in order to screw-in my B+W Filter/s;) Also, can use Cir-Pol. if not how...leh...:bsmilie::cool:

Where did u purchase ur adapter from & for how much? Is it the usual 3rd-party 52mm adapter?

So for the official LX3 adapter, its around $40? And how much can I get a B+W 46mm filter for? Do I need to get a new lens-cap after using the adapter coz the diameter is 46mm liao?

For the filter size is 46mm on the Original-Pana-Adapter and was quoted $40:bigeyes:initially (since I bought quite alot of other items/stuffs at the same time[:bigeyes:7-items altogether actually], hence, I got it at a very special:thumbsup:price:cool:):)

Where did u purchase ur adapter from & for how much? Is it the usual 3rd-party 52mm adapter?

From Cathay and I can only reveal/state as 'special price' as agreed, hope you understand ok:)

As I'd already mentioned above Original-Pana-Adapter, so definitely not those 3rd-party 52mm-adapters...yah;):cool:

So for the official LX3 adapter, its around $40? And how much can I get a B+W 46mm filter for? Do I need to get a new lens-cap after using the adapter coz the diameter is 46mm liao?

Yes:cool: If I remembered correctly, I was quoted about $76 or $75...(FYI, not the UV-MRC but Neutral-MC...:think:) as I didn't get this cos I'm using my existing 58mmUV-MRC & 62mmCir-Pol. with step-up rings:bigeyes:and most importantly, no vignetting...yeahhh;)

Well, that depends on whether you wanna use the exact size filter which is 46mm or gonna get a/some bigger sizes of filter/s. :)

...As I'd already mentioned above Original-Pana-Adapter, so definitely not those 3rd-party 52mm-adapters...yah;):cool:

Not to worry, as actually I merely wanna get the price of the 3rd-party 52mm version for comparison sake(I have been using it for some time since I purchased it over eBay, but just wish to know how much higher is the price locally).

If I'm not wrong u got the smaller 46mm original Panasonic one, so the price probably wun satisfy my curiosity anyway...;)

Not to worry, as actually I merely wanna get the price of the 3rd-party 52mm version for comparison sake(I have been using it for some time since I purchased it over eBay, but just wish to know how much higher is the price locally).

If I'm not wrong u got the smaller 46mm original Panasonic one, so the price probably wun satisfy my curiosity anyway...;)

Oh well then, great to learnt that:)

Yup, that's right, mine is the 46mm original Panasonic one:cool:

Bro u means if I use the original 46mm adapter and use 46mm UV filter, I will get vignetting? My main purpose is just to get a good protective filter in front of the lens. What is the difference between UV-MRC and Neutral-MC? Which is better?

And what if I use 46mm filter, then I can use back the original lens-cap that comes with the camera?

Yes:cool: If I remembered correctly, I was quoted about $76 or $75...(FYI, not the UV-MRC but Neutral-MC...:think:) as I didn't get this cos I'm using my existing 58mmUV-MRC & 62mmCir-Pol. with step-up rings:bigeyes:and most importantly, no vignetting...yeahhh;)

Well, that depends on whether you wanna use the exact size filter which is 46mm or gonna get a/some bigger sizes of filter/s. :)

Bro u means if I use the original 46mm adapter and use 46mm UV filter, I will get vignetting? My main purpose is just to get a good protective filter in front of the lens. What is the difference between UV-MRC and Neutral-MC? Which is better?

And what if I use 46mm filter, then I can use back the original lens-cap that comes with the camera?

For your use of the original 46mm adapter and use 46mm UV filter, since I'm not using this configuration/set-up thus will not be able to tell whether or not you'll get vignetting you see:) Perhaps have to check-it-out with those who have use this set-up...alright...?:cool:

As for the difference between :bigeyes:this 2-types of filters are one is with UV-cut and the other is just a Multi-coated-Protector(neutral, I call it) that's all. Need not worry:nono:too much as to which to purchase, as I think the main diff here would be the price(should be slightly more exp$$ for 46mm cos not too common/in-demand perhaps:cool:

Thanks for the info bro!:)

so, does it mean that if i use a 52mm lens adapter, i will get a vignetting?it seems that most of the 3rd party lens adapter in the market are in 52mm.

Im using the 52mm adaptor and it does not cause any vignetting. dunno abt the others...

By right it'd not:nono:cos the diameter is bigger than a 46mm, :bigeyes:unless it's(the 3rd-party 52mm)much protruded/longer, then that might be possible in vignetting, right??;)

Hey what bag/pouch u guys use to carry your LX3 around? I bought the 46mm original adapter (DMW-LA4) and is thinking of putting it on permanently with a filter to protect the lens. But it protrudes out quite abit after putting on the adapter. Is there any small pouch you guys can recommend that can accomodate this setup? I dunwan a big bag, prefers a smal pouch which I can carry around easily.

Does anyone here also put the adapter and filter permanently on the camera?

Hi bro I am a new owner of the LX3 and was looking through this thread and saw ur advice on turning down the sharpening and NR of LX3. I am looking through the menu and saw that the default value of these are 0 already. When u said reduce you mean value of -1 or -2 is it? Could you recommend an optimum settings?

turn down the sharpening. And you'll see quite a bit of improvement in your ISO 800 pics. :)

By right it'd not:nono:cos the diameter is bigger than a 46mm, :bigeyes:unless it's(the 3rd-party 52mm)much protruded/longer, then that might be possible in vignetting, right??;)

i am using 3rd party 52mm adaptor that protrudes out, no vignetting observed.

btw, is there any adaptor that does not protrude? pls let me know the link or where to get, will be good in saving up space :)

Hey what bag/pouch u guys use to carry your LX3 around? I bought the 46mm original adapter (DMW-LA4) and is thinking of putting it on permanently with a filter to protect the lens. But it protrudes out quite abit after putting on the adapter. Is there any small pouch you guys can recommend that can accomodate this setup? I dunwan a big bag, prefers a smal pouch which I can carry around easily.

Does anyone here also put the adapter and filter permanently on the camera?

I'm using a small cam-bag, not really a pouch but look like...aiya...dunno how to describe the appearance of it:embrass::) Ok, will show you a pic of it when I got the time(cos till next week rather buzy for me again...) It can accomodate this setup very nicely I'd say and as well as the cam-strap(will show pics when more free ok, bro:cool:)

Ohh yah...the brand I use is "i-cube" bought it at Carrefour ever since I was using S2-IS then G7 and now it's sharing between my G7 and LX3:thumbsup:

Btw, yes here I'm using the adapter and filter permanently on the camera(just like using my G7 with its own adapter+filters way...;))

i am using 3rd party 52mm adaptor that protrudes out, no vignetting observed.

btw, is there any adaptor that does not protrude? pls let me know the link or where to get, will be good in saving up space :)

Good to hear that no vignetting observed when using 3rd party 52mm adaptor:thumbsup:(by right it'd not show up as it's bigger than 46mm which already doesn't cause vignetting)

If ever, there's one Iwon't hesitate to buy it...:bsmilie:but I really doubt so lah...:bsmilie::(

Ok thanks bro! So the brand of the cam-bag is called i-cube? Roughly how much does it costs? Is it still available at Carrefour?

I'm using a small cam-bag, not really a pouch but look like...aiya...dunno how to describe the appearance of it:embrass::) Ok, will show you a pic of it when I got the time(cos till next week rather buzy for me again...) It can accomodate this setup very nicely I'd say and as well as the cam-strap(will show pics when more free ok, bro:cool:)

Ohh yah...the brand I use is "i-cube" bought it at Carrefour ever since I was using S2-IS then G7 and now it's sharing between my G7 and LX3:thumbsup:

Btw, yes here I'm using the adapter and filter permanently on the camera(just like using my G7 with its own adapter+filters way...;))