K-30 Hands-on Review on Pentax Singapore Facebook ...

im starting to waver from sony to pentax. lol pentax sure does have some fine prime lenses! and this k-30! its a bundle of amazing wrapped in a tiny price tag. well.. relatively.

I am looking at the Nikon D600 rumours with very slight interest actually.. $1.5K USD for a FF camera that is half decent.

Then I think about the weight and my poor back during the last Paris trip and imagine the consequence of lugging a bunch of FF lenses and a FF body around to get the shots I want, think about the fact that I don't need the advantages that FF has over CF for now.. And I hug my K5 again. :bsmilie:

If we do get a FF camera, I hope that it follows the recent trends of having something manageably sized (and weighted). It's a boon for travelling!

I doubt the $1500 price point is true for a D600.
At best something like ~$2300 for D700 like camera.
Probably nerfed in some way.

Same conclusion for me. I looked at 5D, 5DII and D700.
In the end, they were always wants and not needs.
In fact, they were also lacking in some ways here and there compared to a K5. (All -size/weight/cost; D700 - 12mp only cannot tolerate my habit of cropping; 5DII - poorer DR and more noise at base)
In my most recent trip to Indonesia, my friend with D90 and a range of lenses was already complaining of shoulder ache.
I was thankful I had a K5; Sigma 10-20 and 2 small Pentax primes (FA35, M85)

If Pentax is to differentiate from the current FF offerings, then a smaller camera is a good way imho.

today i just bought A12 M MOUNT, since i already got the system... because i find using it stealthier, may i know where the best place to get the m42 adapter for GXRM Mount???

You might want to check with Bernard. I think you need to get the M-Kmount adapter 1st, then use the M42-PK adapter.
Personally, I think don't waste time with SLR lenses on Ricoh M-mount.
Go for the RF lenses. Far smaller than SLR ones.

Don't forget one of your non-WR Pentax cameras survived a 1m dive (for about 2sec or longer). That's really some quality standard I'd say. Yes, Pentax got its issues. But talk about general standards, it's really value for money :)

Check out here on a much more expensive camera w/ WR body which didn't even survive a mid-rain:

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/four...nts-critique-reviews-nots-41.html#post7935420

The weather sealed is a really cool!

I believe that Richo combine Pentax strength, experience and equipment will definitely bring Pentax to a new level of photography experience to consumers and maybe pro in future...

but for the moment anyone know where to get the the pk Mount adaptor?, I am itchy to use my pentax lens on the GXR

Paiseh... I'm a newbie in photography, so dunno how far non-WR can survive rain water for how long. Plus due to sudden heavy pouring makes my cam almost half wet. There's still lots of things to learn from seniors here. Thx for knowledge sharing, anyway... :)

I think my point is that sometimes the WR thing is a good to have - for peace of mind.

I think we have also seen so many instances (including Pentax cameras - you can choose to ignore it, or you can embrace the fact that weather sealing is never going to be perfect unless a waterproof, water-tight shell is constructed around the body and the lens connection point) where the camera fails because the person just happily shot in a torrential downpour. Weather resistance doesn't mean weatherproof. For most purposes where it is reasonable enough to shoot, the user will survive, the camera will be able to survive. None of my lenses are weather sealed but I've shot in light rain for up to 1-2 hours and nothing happened to the camera. Beyond light rain, when the rain gets heavy, you would also face a problem shooting, what with rain drops flying onto the lens, on you.. I'm sure you can see why WR doesn't exactly empower any photographer to shoot in all sorts of crazy conditions since EVEN if the camera can survive, you probably would not want to shoot. :bsmilie:

We are all learning from each other here. Cheers.

I doubt the $1500 price point is true for a D600.
At best something like ~$2300 for D700 like camera.
Probably nerfed in some way.

Same conclusion for me. I looked at 5D, 5DII and D700.
In the end, they were always wants and not needs.
In fact, they were also lacking in some ways here and there compared to a K5. (All -size/weight/cost; D700 - 12mp only cannot tolerate my habit of cropping; 5DII - poorer DR and more noise at base)
In my most recent trip to Indonesia, my friend with D90 and a range of lenses was already complaining of shoulder ache.
I was thankful I had a K5; Sigma 10-20 and 2 small Pentax primes (FA35, M85)

If Pentax is to differentiate from the current FF offerings, then a smaller camera is a good way imho.

I don't know, but I'm waiting to be surprised. After all, if it IS USD1,500, this is going to be good for everyone, right? With more mass market appeal, FF cameras can definitely be downsized also. I don't see why a FF camera needs that much more circuitry than a CF camera - maybe a larger battery to power the sensor? Not an electronics-inclined person though.

I think the main reason why I have not gone for FF and am taking the stand that FF is not something I need is because really, the real advantage offered by FF is high ISO performance. And I'm ok with what the K5 offers. Also, other things such as finer detail don't seem to justify the additional cost - I don't do large prints, and most of my photographs are posted web-size. Frankly speaking if someone could come up with a compact camera with 15mm focal length and a decent VF without losing any DR or functionality I would totally embrace it even. :bsmilie:

Of course in the future, if FF camera price drops, size is reduced... Things may change. These 2 main turn-offs will become less irritating and it will be at a more affordable price with an option to shoot with greater ease in low lighting (e.g. I'm really thinking about shooting cats at night :bsmilie:). Then why not? :)

Not sure If this info is posted. Amazon Japan release date for k-30 is 10 Jul... Check out the colours!

I believe that Richo combine Pentax strength, experience and equipment will definitely bring Pentax to a new level of photography experience to consumers and maybe pro in future...

but for the moment anyone know where to get the the pk Mount adaptor?, I am itchy to use my pentax lens on the GXR

Try chiif. Otherwise, eBay is your best answer.

Tks! I got it today, this is the first time i can use the external flash with manual lens spot on exposure... i am not sure if I got lucky or not..... this GXR M mount is so much fun, that I never had before.

I don't know, but I'm waiting to be surprised. After all, if it IS USD1,500, this is going to be good for everyone, right? With more mass market appeal, FF cameras can definitely be downsized also. I don't see why a FF camera needs that much more circuitry than a CF camera - maybe a larger battery to power the sensor? Not an electronics-inclined person though.

I think the main reason why I have not gone for FF and am taking the stand that FF is not something I need is because really, the real advantage offered by FF is high ISO performance. And I'm ok with what the K5 offers. Also, other things such as finer detail don't seem to justify the additional cost - I don't do large prints, and most of my photographs are posted web-size. Frankly speaking if someone could come up with a compact camera with 15mm focal length and a decent VF without losing any DR or functionality I would totally embrace it even. :bsmilie:

Of course in the future, if FF camera price drops, size is reduced... Things may change. These 2 main turn-offs will become less irritating and it will be at a more affordable price with an option to shoot with greater ease in low lighting (e.g. I'm really thinking about shooting cats at night :bsmilie:). Then why not? :)

I guess those camera manufacturers are not so easy to make a profit nowadays. They have to lower their prices (thus profit) to remain competitive, and most of them are losing big money. Camera phones are already very cheap (believe me, 90% 'photographers' in the streets are using phone cameras to take photos instead of using dedicated cameras).

I won't be surprised that some of those bigger players eventually stop making cameras someday...

4 seconds in the rain, most cameras should be able to survive lah...

my K20D laughs at their 4s of weather resistance. It does the same work as 1D in similar conditions just much much cheaper.

wow, silver color. those silver ed. k5 will not look that exclusive anymore

Hi Edu,

For me the main advantage of FF is Field of View and the bokeh, this is what I want for my photography style.

You can compare;
example: the FF with 200mm/F2.8 and CF with 200mm/f2.8 ---> to reach the same background bokeh, you have to use 300mm/F2.8 ( it means you have to buy more expensive lens, move back far, more shutter speed and raise the ISO to meet your metering), but the background are not same, the FF's background is wider.
Or...
If FF and CF is using the same lenses, let say 200mm/F2.8, to get the same FOV of the object, the FF have to shot closer to the object, CF has to shot more far, it means CF has to raise the shutter speed and ISO also, but the bokeh will be not same and the background also, FF will be better and FF will get more sharp and more accurate AF, more low ISO, because FF shot closer.

This is why, many people are loving FF camera for their photography's style, and I am waiting for the Pentax FF, also.

For my photography, I don't really need the high ISO, with DA* 60-250/F4, I did the model outdoor shot in the day light, the max ISO is about 400, and in the studio, most of us shot with ISO 100-200.

For me, high ISO is not very important.
I almost never doing model shot in the dark (did it only one time to have fun with friends).

All of these matter, it depend to the photographer's style.

But the weather seal is another story, it is very important, I did some model photoshots in the waterfall area, and believe me, you have to have WS gears or you will be regret.
Or...
Model shot at the beach, when you have to do low angle shots at the water level or wet sand, your hand will be very wet (sea water) or you have wet finger because of sweat, imagine what will happen with your shutter button, the wet will go to the shutter mechanic.

Here is one of the shot (shot with CS's friends last year), without the WS, not many confident to do the shot on the salt water.

K7+DA* 60-250/F4 @220mm
imgp9440resize.jpg

This shot is close enough the the water level with the some waves.

I saw many shutter button broken from non WS DLSR because of these problem, I agree with Rashid, because he met the worst situation with his gears, and me too.
I can live without the FF but I can't live without the WS camera, and I am glad to see Pentax is on its track with the WS DLSR.
Some reason I want K30 is (if I have a plan to buy) because its focus peaking, focus screen and the body color, I love the yellow one.
I hope... with DA* 60-250, the model pose will go straight and smile to my camera, always, because I am different.

Rgds,

Rusma

------------------

I am sorry Feng Wei with this long reply that nothing do to with the K30.

-----------------

Nice photo! I totally agree with WS. This should be the standard in DSLR. It is not earth friendly to lose many products to water. Not to mention unhealthy to the bank account as well.

PS, I would prefer a red swimsuit to have better contrast though, or choose a different background to bring out the purple swim suit?

Nice photo! I totally agree with WS. This should be the standard in DSLR. It is not earth friendly to lose many products to water. Not to mention unhealthy to the bank account as well.

PS, I would prefer a red swimsuit to have better contrast though, or choose a different background to bring out the purple swim suit?

Red Swimsuit??
I'd prefer none :D :D
Then for sure all attention will be drawn to model :D

As you wish and seal with kiss for Lightbulb from Artika :lol:

58037685.jpg

[remind me to Hallmark Poscard]