Infrared Photography

eawtan said:
Merry Xmas everyone, my first overlay IR shot ... wind was blowing and I was not fast enough, resulting in the clouds being messed up ....

DSCF5797_web.jpg

Hi Eawtan,
it kindof looks like those 3d images that needs special glasses to view :)
Btw, imho if you could crop away the building on the right, it will look better ;)

Did you PSed it? The clouds looks overexposed... Anyway its intresting... My cam gives a blue channel and yours is Red.

Hi Pablo, merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you and all the IR fanS. Unfortunately, both the sites have error ... couldn't access them.
Funny thing, there is no IR filters available in Ipoh ... not sure if KL has stock or not. But I hope my friend from Sg can get it for me. What would be a good IR filter to use for a Canon EOS 300D?

37851654.jpg

A very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all IR forumers here. :)

Some Photos taken today....
Please comment hor :)
All using Program mode, handheld.

DSC_0896.jpg

1/8s - F/3.5

DSC_0922.jpg

1/10s - F/3.5

DSC_0924.jpg

1/10s - F/3.5

DSC_0937.jpg

1/20s - F/3.5

The rest are here

Thanks for sharing ark, very nice and sharp shots. :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Can tell your EXIF?

Hi guys, its tomorrow's Chinese Garden Shootout still on?

tomcat said:
37851654.jpg

A very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all IR forumers here. :)

Merry Christmas to you too tomcat. Your shots never fail to amaze me.

teerex said:
Thanks for sharing ark, very nice and sharp shots. :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Can tell your EXIF?

Thanks Teerex :)
Have edited thread to include shutter speed and aperture values.
Still restricted by 52mm R72.... :(

Max 2.8 said:
Hi guys, its tomorrow's Chinese Garden Shootout still on?

Hi Max 2.8,
It's still on, just hope weather is good ;)
Want to meet for prata first?

Btw, did you buy the adapter for A80?
I can lend you tomorrow if you need it.

Yep still on. Will be there.

ark19 said:
Hi Max 2.8,
It's still on, just hope weather is good ;)
Want to meet for prata first?

Btw, did you buy the adapter for A80?
I can lend you tomorrow if you need it.

Hi Ark19, I'll be using Olympus 5050 as my A80 have been sold. Thanks anyway. Marine Parade got nice prata meh? What time?

I like your shots, you really take care of the composition. not just simply shoot for the effects.

See you guys!

Max 2.8 said:
Hi Ark19, I'll be using Olympus 5050 as my A80 have been sold. Thanks anyway. Marine Parade got nice prata meh? What time?

I like your shots, you really take care of the composition. not just simply shoot for the effects.

See you guys!

Thanks Max 2.8,
I try to compose the scene as much as possible, since i'm shooting blindly :sweat: If not, have to use PS to crop...

Ooo Olympus 5050 good camera. I used to have a C700UZ ;)
Will makan at the coffeeshop at around 0745 or so, sms me if you wanna meet :)

Ark, this is a nice shot.. your composition is slick and good.
ur IR shots without "noise".
DSC_0924.jpg

I don;t know which one is your number, because I selling stuff in B&S got alot of unknown number, can sms me again? But I am going there earlier because invited a friend (non-CSer) to join in to shoot. See you guys inside.

Ark's camera is good man... but too bad its not a SLR cam... What you guys think of S3 pro? When is it coming? How much isit? Good for IR, like ark's?

acrylonithrill said:
Ark's camera is good man... but too bad its not a SLR cam... What you guys think of S3 pro? When is it coming? How much isit? Good for IR, like ark's?

I think Ark used D70 to shoot those images. By the way how's your experiment with the red hot grill?

The flames disappoint me man... But i don't have a toaster here... Those with heated wire... I was wondering that red-hot stuff can do the trick...

If thats D70, compared to S3 pro, which is more worthy to get?

hi guys, bad over cast almost ruin our day, but we managed to try out some filters, conventional and unconventional.

Most tests are done with my Olympus 5050, we found out this digicam is capable of coloured "near-infrared" effect images while Minolta's 7D is not capable of IR images so far, due to its custom white balance not being able to be set through any of our Infrared filters.

Olympus 5050's effect on different IR filters:
(I pushed the saturation setting in my camera to max to achieve best coloured Near-IR effect on Olympus 5050. The rest of post-processes are Auto Contrast, Swapping Channels and resize)

Vortex's Cokin P007 creates the best result with Olympus 5050 producing (the world's first? :dunno: ) "Coloured Near-Infrared" images that resembles how a canon or nikon digicam's IR image looks like (taking Nikon & Canon's IR effect as a benchmark for Near-IR effect on Digicams :sweat: ).

Acrylonithrill's Old Hoya inner cap creates that Tomcat's Kodak Ecta...something effect where trees foliage are red or dark red effect. Alot of potential with this old cap, if only we can get a glass version or a clearer and scratchless version. WB needs to be set with a orange filter or orange transparent plastic to achieve effect.

Hoya R72 with Olympus 5050, after pushing the saturation to the max, and 50% more in post process, is only able to reveal a very faint coloured images. Most of the time a greenish monotone image is created.

That's all! Hopes this will help whoever wants to try IR with their Digicams.

The images are here, just clicked here!

:cheers: Max 2.8

Yar, really bad day for IR :( The weather like playing hide and seek...
Anyways, managed to squeeze some IR Pics out...

My favourites:
DSC_1086.jpg

DSC_1044.jpg

DSC_1052.jpg

The rest are here