Infrared Photography

ark19 said:
Thinking of getting the Manfrotto 190 ProB+486RC2... will :sweat: whenever I use my tiny Slik Sprint Pro. Is this a good combo?

I have the older Manfrotto 190 (non-pro, non-B) with the 308RC (earlier version of the 486RC2). The 190 is quite good (abit heavy, and large). I dislike the manfrotto 200PL QR system, there is too much play in the QR plates which make critical composition (during macro shots) a pain, the view before and after locking the head can be very significant. I am also too spoilt by tension control on a ball head, the 308RC simply flops down once you release the knob ...

Further reading : http://www.bythom.com/support.htm

I am using a Gitzo 1128 and a Markin M10 ball head.
Pretty expensive combo but gives stability and very lightweight.
I liked the Markin very much, the tension control and weight bearing is very good. Does not shift before and after locking.

teerex said:
I'm not familiar with the Manfrotto 190, but I'm using the 484RC2 on an old tripod. I replaced that tripod old 3 way head with the 484, I like it very much. Convenient and easy to position. Occasionally I use this head on a slik monopod. I do not invest in a tripod and head as I very seldom use them.

Watch your weight when using the ballhead, tend to tip when mounted with a camera with long lens. Unless you're ready to pay heaps, most cheap ballheads cannot support a long lens.

Dennis may be able to help with a good recommendation.

teerex said:
I'm not familiar with the Manfrotto 190, but I'm using the 484RC2 on an old tripod. I replaced that tripod old 3 way head with the 484, I like it very much. Convenient and easy to position. Occasionally I use this head on a slik monopod. I do not invest in a tripod and head as I very seldom use them.

Watch your weight when using the ballhead, tend to tip when mounted with a camera with long lens. Unless you're ready to pay heaps, most cheap ballheads cannot support a long lens.

Dennis may be able to help with a good recommendation.

Hi Teerex, eawtan and Dennis,
thanks for the info/comments, will check them out... but Gitzo and Markins out of range for me :sweat: Ok, dun OT too much :nono:

An excerpt from Hitch Hikers Guide to the galaxy

A Lullaby by Marvin the Paranoid Android :

Now the world has gone to bed
Darkness won't engulf my head
I can see by infra-red
How I hate the night

Now I lay me down to sleep
Try to count electric sheep
Sweet dream wishes you can keep
How I hate the night

Sorry guys it is overcast outside and I have the day off :bsmilie:

Oh well, overcast or not here are 2 from today :bsmilie:

13123IMG_3056.jpg

13123IMG_3083.jpg

Cheers :)

Pablo said:
An excerpt from Hitch Hikers Guide to the galaxy

A Lullaby by Marvin the Paranoid Android :

Now the world has gone to bed
Darkness won't engulf my head
I can see by infra-red
How I hate the night

Now I lay me down to sleep
Try to count electric sheep
Sweet dream wishes you can keep
How I hate the night

Sorry guys it is overcast outside and I have the day off :bsmilie:

Careful what you see in infra-red, especially at night :bsmilie:

It was overcast here too yesterday. I got out and got some shots, here're 2 to share.

Levels, no channel mix, USM and frame. f/3.3, 1/6sec, iso200.

View of City from Roberson Walk
DSC_4991-2800.jpg

River Boat Taxi
DSC_5003-2800.jpg

Pablo said:
Oh well, overcast or not here are 2 from today :bsmilie:

Cheers :)

Hi Pablo, I think the first one will be better if it's shot lower to the ground to show more of the merging rows of trees.

Teerex,
this sepia colour is great :)
First photo abit slanted... ;)

Envy u 2.. I'm still waiting for weekend....

Sepia toned is nice. Sometimes not all IR shots need to be in colour.
Good shots. :thumbsup:

Everyone here is putting up terrific pictures. Much better then I have, though I hope to get better. I love the look and feel of infrared. One quick question, how in the WORLD do you manage to focus!?

ark19 said:
Teerex,
First photo abit slanted... ;)

I told you, I "pa jiao" :bsmilie:

I use the camera (Nikon D70) autofocus, it is able to focus although you can't see anything. Otherwise can focus first than put the filter on. If you have lens that have the IR focus indicator than focus first and turn to the correct marking and put on the filter. All also can try and many of us are still learning. Join us and we can all share and have fun.

geek65536 said:
Everyone here is putting up terrific pictures. Much better then I have, though I hope to get better. I love the look and feel of infrared. One quick question, how in the WORLD do you manage to focus!?

geek65536 said:

Focus is not the difficult part, composition is. Come join us when we go shoot again, we'll share with you. Easier to explain to you in person.

Which camera are you using?

Dennis said:
Sepia toned is nice. Sometimes not all IR shots need to be in colour.
Good shots. :thumbsup:

Thanks guys, glad you guys don't mind sepia look. I like it.

You asked for it. Here are 3 more from today, the sun was out.

Maybe we can come here for our next shoot.

DSC_5127-1800.jpg

DSC_5122-1800.jpg

DSC_5094-1800.jpg

Nice. Actually I also like sepia toned IR. No need to PP so much :bsmilie: Lazy leh. I see you are at Kallang right.

teerex said:
Thanks guys, glad you guys don't mind sepia look. I like it.

You asked for it. Here are 3 more from today, the sun was out.

Maybe we can came here for our next shoot.

DSC_5127-1800.jpg

DSC_5122-1800.jpg

DSC_5094-1800.jpg

Dennis said:
Nice. Actually I also like sepia toned IR. No need to PP so much :bsmilie: Lazy leh. I see you are at Kallang right.

Yes it's Kallang. Walked all the way from Police Coast Guard to Crawford Street. :sweat:

ark19 said:

I envy you guys more...Have to serve my ICT now :cry:

Will only be available from the 21/01/04.

teerex said:
Yes it's Kallang. Walked all the way from Police Coast Guard to Crawford Street. :sweat:

Nice photos Teerex :thumbsup: x3

Hmm PCG to Crawford? Not far enuff :sticktong (jokingly hor)
Try this:
Suntec Carefour to lone tree via Benjamin Sheares Bridge, then walk back to ECP Fort Rd, continue to Mountbatten and all the way back to Marine Terrace.

Phew, I must be nuts :bsmilie:

Incredible! Thanks for the invite, but frankly, I don't live in the same country as you guys! Lol, I am from the USA, I was drawn here by google. I hope I can share some of my knowledge with you on infrared, and photography in general. As well as get tips from you. ;)

I use the Canon A80, so when I think about it, I just have to press a button, pop the filter off, autofocus, lock it, put the filter back on and shoot. I was not sure whether infrared focusing was the same as visible light... I figured it would be, but the fact that none of my pictures were coming out... I just wanted to double check. In the future I will probably be using a higher F-stop... and "Focus twice, take one picture." :D.

I use Paint Shop for editing my pictures, and highly recommend it, it has a feature called Black and white points, in which you select what color should be white in the picture, what color should be black, and it figures out grey (or you can). It works really well... plus Paint Shop is cheaper then Photoshop.

I hope it's okay that I am not from where most of you are. I did not see anything in the rules about it.